Five Minute Friday: Belong

I haven’t participated in Five Minute Friday in awhile. That’s when I join Lisa-Jo and her friends and write for five minutes without stopping or editing on whatever word she assigns. This week the word is “Belong.”  Read more FMF posts here.

IMG_6995

I’ve spent a lot of my life feeling like I didn’t fit exactly. I was too this or not enough that. I haven’t had many times in my life where I felt like many people knew who I really was. Many times I felt like an outsider looking in on other people’s lives while mine seemed suspended in time somewhere.

I know we weren’t meant to be eternally happy here. This isn’t the “true Narnia.”  But still it’s nice to have pieces of time when I feel like I’m where I’m supposed to be at exactly the right time.

I feel that here. This feels like the place where I fit.

Sure, I live in a beautiful place, but it’s more than just the scenery.

I have friends here, but it’s not even that people know me any better here than anywhere else I’ve lived. Maybe it’s my age. Maybe I’m more comfortable in my own skin now that I don’t feel like I have to be the most loved person in the room.

I know it’s not because I don’t have any problems here, because even in this tropical paradise, bad things happen and I find myself fighting some of the same battles I’ve had to fight over and over again.  Even now, my heart is broken over sad things I can’t fix.

But even in the midst of the ugly, it is well with my soul here. I can breathe here. I feel most like whomever I’m supposed to be here.

I don’t know how long this place will be my home. But I’m thankful for this moment. I’m thankful for the minutes in my day when I can stop and look around and know I’m exactly where I belong.

For this place, for this now, I am grateful.

12 Comments

Filed under Five Minute Friday

12 responses to “Five Minute Friday: Belong

  1. Loved the sense of peace here. Pleased to ‘meet’ you.

  2. nwhannas

    It is well with my (your) soul….

    Love it, & have known this, intrinsically, since we first spoke about your move. Speaking of speaking, I will call you soon because, though we’ve never met in person, we HAVE met “IRL”. We’ve walked thru life in moments as we’ve texted, phoned, or prayed for one another. So blessed to feel like I belong when I’m w/you. Xxxooo

    • whimzie

      I think that was one of the sweetest, most precious-to-me comments I’ve ever received. Thank you, friend. Look forward to talking to you soon!!

  3. Lovely. I think we all feel like this at some point in life eh? Great job expressing it with words. Rock on!

  4. me

    I haven’t always given you the best advice but because of hearing your peace and joy through this post, I say:
    Stay! Stay as long as you can!
    Love you more!!!

  5. shortybear

    appreciate your thoughts.

  6. I understand. In that place and our new “here.” I’m glad you participated today. It’s nice to know I’m not alone.

Leave a Reply

