To a Rising Star

Twinkle, twinkle, Little Star…

From the very front row, she is watching you. All of us are, but from the corner of my eye, the way she’s looking at you catches my attention. She’s on the edge of her seat, sitting perfectly still, all of her attention focused on you standing there in the center of the stage.

You have a way of making people watch you, Little Star. Certainly, you are talented, but something about who you are when you are on the stage commands people to pay attention to you. It’s a gift and you use it well. As I watch my little girl watch you, I wonder if you even know the power  you have been given.

I realize it a few days after the musical when I overhear her telling a friend about your performance.

“She is soooo talented. She can sing and she can dance and she just makes you want to watch her. She wants to be a star on Broadway one day and I think she can do it. She’s really, really, pretty. But she’s not just pretty on the outside, she’s pretty on the inside, too because she loves Jesus with all her heart!”

Suddenly, I realized the impact you have on her. When I was watching the musical, I was being entertained, but when my daughter was watching, she was learning about the woman she wants to be one day. She sees you and understands a little more about dreaming big dreams and working hard to make those dreams come true. She looks at you and realizes beauty on the outside doesn’t mean anything if it doesn’t match what’s inside your heart. Most importantly, she recognizes the Jesus in you.

It’s a heavy responsibility when little people look up to you and I’m sure you’ve been told once or twice “to whom much is given, much is expected.” But I tell you this, not to frighten you or even burden you. I want to thank you and encourage you. It’s a hard time and this world is a hard place for a little girl to figure out how to be a woman. Finding role models isn’t easy. Thank you for living your life as an example of your faith. Thank you for showing my girl how to dream big dreams and how to use the gifts God gives her.  As you walk through every open door God has for you, I hope you’ll be encouraged to know this mom and her little girl will be praying for you.  I pray, Little Star, that when people see you, your light will point them to its Source.

So, like a diamond in the sky, keep twinkling, Little Star.

We’ll be watching.

IMG_4349

“Let your light shine before others, that they may see your good deeds and glorify your Father in Heaven.”  Matthew 5:16

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “To a Rising Star

  1. Gretchen

    Simply lovely.

  2. Linda

    Wow! What a wonderful Charge!!!

  3. In a world full of Miley Cyrus/Selena Gomez/Demi Lovato/Vanessa Hudgens-esque role models, your Little Star is a real find. Congratulations!

Leave a Reply

