Goodbye, Google Reader

Screen Shot 2013-03-13 at 6.00.27 PM

Do you remember how just yesterday I was talking about Google Reader? Well, right after I published that post, I went to Google Reader and saw a popup message that informed me that Google Reader will “retire” on July 1, 2013. Retire? Like with a pension and gold watch and a fancy sheet cake from Sam’s? Did it actually retire or was it let go due to sequestration? I don’t know. But I do know that this news did not make me happy.

Upon further investigation, I found the official Google Reader blog and found this:

“We know Reader has a devoted following who will be very sad to see it go. We’re sad too.”

I wonder if they’re really sad or if they’re just saying that to make me feel better.

I keep up with all of the blogs I read through Google Reader. I mean “keep up” in the very loosest meaning of the phrase. My Google Reader is rarely empty because I subscribe to way too many blogs and then don’t read most of them. I have the same handful of blogs that I’ve been reading for years and every now and then a new favorite joins the mix, but I rarely have time to read all of the posts I collect.

I’ve read some articles that say blogging is “out of vogue” now and maybe that’s why Google Reader is folding.  On their “official” blog, here is the reason they gave for letting Google Reader go (presumably with a nice severance package):

“There are two simple reasons for this: usage of Google Reader has declined, and as a company we’re pouring all of our energy into fewer products. We think that kind of focus will make for a better user experience.”

When I am sad, I reach out to friends. I tried CPQ first. My messages are in blue.

IMG_5444

Ignore her second remark. We are always carrying on at least two conversations simultaneously. And besides it’s okay to exercise as long as you don’t talk about it. Am I right?

Rottenecards_83376777_rs4722q9hv

Anyway, I quickly realized Sus wasn’t going to commiserate with me. She saw this news as an opportunity to spring clean.

So I consulted with my tech-y author friend Jeff, and was pleasantly surprised to find that I knew about Google Reader’s demise before he did! That never happens. But then I realized that meant he’d had no time to prepare a Plan B either. But within seconds, he had options. He sent me to a CNET article that listed “five worthy alternatives” to Google Reader. Shortly after, he sent me a link to The Old Reader. My first thought is that may be the option I choose. Right now they are too busy to automatically transfer all of your blogs over from Google Reader in one fell swoop, but since I have until July, I think this may be a good time to clean out my Reader and only transfer over blogs that are still active (I subscribe to quite a few blogs that haven’t had new posts in several years.) and that I actually will make the time to read.
I thought I’d share those options with you in case you, too, will be looking for a new plan to replace your Google Reader.  I know some of my other friends that blog get to my blog from a link they’ve created in their sidebar and some of you get posts delivered to your email inbox, but I’m curious (and I really hope you’ll take the time to give me feedback), if you are a regular reader of this silly, little blog, how do you get here? How many of you read Snoodlings from Google Reader?  Do any of you have a good method for reading blogs you follow that you’d like to share with the rest of us? You have the floor….
7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “Goodbye, Google Reader

  1. I used to use Google Reader a lot, but could never keep up. It eventually fell off my radar.

    The blogs I read every day (there may be four), I subscribe via email. New post go direct to my inbox. This, of course, means I never actually visit their blogs, but I never miss a post. These are professional writing blogs or specific things that require action or prayer — like Gretchen’s adoption journey.

    Most blogs, however, I follow on Facebook or twitter. These are blogs of friends — like you, CPQ, Kellie — or fan pages like Jamie VWM, Liz Cutis Higgs or IJM.. That’s how I got here.

  2. Leah Ann

    I get your post directly to my inbox. I don’t know what google reader is!

  3. I read you through Google Reader. I. am. devastated. Not that GR and I are that close, but rather, it’s just another thing I had all figured out and now I have to make the mental effort to find (and learn) an alternative. Because, clearly, I can’t remember the names of all the fun blogs I like. 🙂 Not that I actually read them all, but I hate that feeling of “I used to read this blog, but I have no idea what the name of it is, so I’ve never been back…”
    So, I’m open to suggestions!

  4. Susan Chaney

    I have you delivered to my email acct. I love it!!!

    Sent from my iPhone

  5. huge Google Reader Fan, i have 85 blogs I follow (crazy right?) between student ministry, friends, and baseball stuff. Sucks to see it go, but Michael Hyatt (big fan, blog I follow) suggested Feedly, they automatically switched it over instantly and has worked great so far. Check it out:

    http://michaelhyatt.com/feedly-to-replace-google-reader.html

    • whimzie

      85? I laugh. Try 212. Seriously. That’s ridiculous. I don’t nearly come close to ever reading them all, which is why maybe this Google Reader demise is coming at a good time so I can do some serious cleaning out. Quite a few of those subscriptions are to friends’ blogs that have been inactive for years so I can cull out those and some of the others that I thought I’d read but never do. Maybe then I won’t be so overwhelmed and can actually get to the posts I really WANT to read. I subscribe to Michael Hyatt’s blog, too! But again, am behind on his posts. I put Feedly on my iPad when I got it. I haven’t really used it much, but it seemed to be a better format for a larger screen and wasn’t as easy to use on my phone. I’m going to give it another look though. My friend Jeff sent me a link to a petition to keep Google Reader alive, but like I told him, I’ve always been the kind of girl who says, “If you don’t want to be with me, I’m not going to beg you to stay,” so I’m not signing. Here’s my question: Of all the Google products, is Reader really the lowest performer? Seems to me like they’ve put a lot of eggs in the Google+ basket and they’re still not able to make much headway there. I have a Google+ account, but what fun is it if none of your friends play over there? Anyway… Amy A. Lawson (aka whimzie)Twitter: whimzie Blog: http://www.snoodlings.com

      > Date: Sat, 16 Mar 2013 23:05:07 +0000 > To: snoodlings@live.com >

  6. All this talk about Google reader leaves me so confused. I don’t know how I get updates from other people’s blogs!!!! They just show up on the back page of something connected to my blog? I know how to get a blog to start doing that (I copy and paste the link into that page on my blog), but I have no idea if that is a Google reader or not? I hope not!

Leave a Reply

