Read This Book: Sparkly Green Earrings

My relationship with books borders on obsessive. I am rarely without one. I feel slightly panicky if I get to the end of one and don’t know what I’m immediately going to start reading next.

When I was a kid, my mom used to have to make me go outside to play. And sometimes she wouldn’t let me take a book. Let’s just say I embraced my inner nerd at a very early age.

When I am in bookstores, I take pictures of books that I want to read.

IMG_5423

“You can never get a cup of tea large enough or a book long enough to suit me.” (or too many books by or about C.S. Lewis)  That’s what I’m told C.S. Lewis said. Well, the first part. I said the part in parentheses. That quote is just one of the many reasons I would want him on the guest list for my imaginary dinner party from the ice breaker question. You know the one. “If you could have dinner with any five people, dead or living, who would you choose?” I only answer one or two people at the most because I want to leave all my options open. Just in case this really happens and at the last minute I think of someone I REALLY want at the party. Actually, my first question is, do I have to be the one hosting the party? Because, the pressure! I don’t think I could take it.

Anyway, books.

When I read a particularly good book, I like to tell my friends about it so they can also read it and we can discuss it amongst ourselves. I’ve read a couple of books recently that I absolutely loved and I wanted to tell you about one of them today.

41-eVZu7vwL._BO2,204,203,200_PIsitb-sticker-arrow-click,TopRight,35,-76_AA300_SH20_OU01_

Melanie Shankle is known in the blog world as Big Mama. Although she isn’t. Big, that is. She is a mama. And Sparkly Green Earrings is her first book. It’s about her journey as a mom. And the whole time I was reading it, I kept thinking of all the mom friends I wanted to read this.

The first two blogs I started reading (that weren’t written by people I already knew) were Big Mama and BooMama. When my Google Reader is filled to overflowing with posts I haven’t read, I start with theirs first (After I read yours, of course. If you have a blog. And I know you.) I don’t know either one of them, but I know people who know them, so that’s practically the same. And I feel like I know them because they both write their blogs in a way that makes you feel like one of their girl friends.

That’s why I was thrilled to find out that both BooMama and Big Mama had written books. BooMama’s comes out this summer (available for pre-order now). In fact, it sounds funny, but I was actually proud of them. As if one of my friends had written a book and had it published. I’m familiar with that emotion because I have real-life friends who have had books published, and I couldn’t have been happier. It’s just strange to feel so proud of people you’ve never met.

I’ve always loved Big Mama’s sense of humor. I am not an LOLer. I don’t text it and I’m not one who laughs loudly and wildly at everything I find amusing. Mostly I SALTS (Smile A Little, Then Stop). It’s not that I don’t love to laugh out loud or that I’m anti-laughter. Occasionally I get the giggles like a 4th grade girl at a slumber party. But I am more of an inside laugher most of the time. But several times during my reading of this book, I LOLed. Since I usually read every night before I turn out the lights, most of my LOLing was in bed while my husband was trying to sleep. He’d roll over and ask what was funny and then I’d have to read to him the passage responsible for my mirth. This book is funny. Although my husband may not agree, simply because he likes to sleep without being interrupted by someone who wants to read him funny stories.

But besides being funny, this book is also sweet. And real. And my favorite thing about this book is that it reminded me of how precious this time in my life is. I’ve loved every single stage of each one of my children’s lives so far, but they’ve all gone by so much faster than I ever knew they would. I was grateful for the reminder of the sweet places we’ve been and even more thankful for the alarm clock warning that all too soon this season will be just another sweet place in my memory. Being a mom is what I’ve wanted to be for as long as I can remember. It has definitely been the best career move I’ve ever made. It’s messy and it’s hard and some days I’d like to call in sick, but I love books like this that remind me of the things I love most about my life.

Part of me wants to give this book and a copy of The Jesus Storybook Bible at every baby shower I’m invited to from now on. But then a part of me wonders if you can really get this book until you’ve already lived most of it. I need to think about it. If you’ve already read it, what do you think?

Anyway, I know my mom friends should read it so we can talk about it and trade favorite parts. Actually, even though it may not be the same experience,  I think you’d like this book even if you aren’t a mom but want to be. Or don’t want to be a mom, but know a mom. Or even if you just have a mom.

By the way, this isn’t a post I did in return for a copy of the book. I just read this book, loved it, and wanted to share it with my friends. I’m a giver like that.

Tune in next week, for things you should buy next time you’re at the grocery store. Like these crackers that we discovered last night and think are very tasty:

2a9bbe54c9799d3bde266cb0db9d01a3I was actually looking for the New Lay’s flavors. Has anyone tried those yet?

Or have anything else that I simply must read? Or eat?

5 Comments

Filed under Books

5 responses to “Read This Book: Sparkly Green Earrings

  1. meganroberts

    Oh my gracious! Other than the fact that I so love The Big Mama Blog–Sparkly Green Earrings was, I agree, fabulous. And while not a mother to my own babies yet, I have sisters 12/14 years younger than me and OH MY was I able to LOL at many various points. I feel like it has wonderful stories mingled with Godly advice and really, what more can we ask for!? So fun to share opinions on great “literature”. Grin.

  2. teresa

    Cant wait to read the book…..Must get it on my list….Still juicing

  3. I went to camp with a guy named Alistair McGrath. Hmm… I wonder if he’s writing books now. 😉

    Oh, and I was super proud of these strangers when I learn about their books, too. True: I’ve never met them face to face, but social interaction, even if only one-sided, is still a connection. Have you read Kyle Idleman’s book, “not a Fan?” It distinguishes between being fans and followers. Blogging and social media have muddied those definitions for spiritual application. As a fan I root for my teams … Like strangers who write books.

    • whimzie

      This author is Alister McGrath and he’s an Irishman who lives in England. I’ve never read any of his other stuff, I don’t think. “Not a Fan” is on my wish list, but I haven’t read it yet. On your recommendation, I’m going to move it up closer to the top of my list! 🙂

      Amy A. Lawson (aka whimzie)Twitter: whimzie Blog: http://www.snoodlings.com

      > Date: Thu, 14 Mar 2013 10:43:40 +0000 > To: snoodlings@live.com >

  4. I so loved Sparkly Green Earrings! And I love Big Mama, too.

Leave a Reply

