Five Minute Friday: Home

5-minute-friday-1

The Facebook requests usually start trickling in from my most organized friends at the end of October:

“Message me your new address so I can send you a Christmas card.”

I dutifully reply with the numbers and street of the house where we’ll be putting up our Christmas tree that year, but always remind my friends to “write it in pencil, because it’s likely to change.”

And it does. Sometimes before the next batch of Christmas cards is addressed.

Because of my husband’s job–his calling–this is the way my family does life. For us, home is not a physical place, it is a feeling we create.

On a fairly regular basis, we find new rooms to inhabit where we unpack our familiar pieces and hang them on unfamiliar walls.

Every move I try to pinpoint the exact time that a new place feels like home. Is it after all the boxes are unpacked? When we can make it to the grocery store and back without using the GPS? I don’t know for sure. I’m beginning to think that maybe it’s when we decide we are home, because home is a place we carry around with us in our hearts wherever we go.

Home is where you others give you parts of themselves and you return the favor.

That’s why South Africa was home even though I only spent a few weeks there.

It’s why my kids look confused and don’t have a good answer when people ask them “where they’re from.”

It’s why we feel so conflicted about the decisions we need to make about where to start the next chapter of our family’s story.

We make new friends and keep the old, leaving pieces of our hearts every place we’ve ever been.

Everywhere we live, I pull the “Bloom Where You’re Planted” sign out of a box. I find the “Bloom Where You’re Planted” magnet that Tanya gave me and I put it on my refrigerator. It used to be a reminder that I had to put down roots in order for my life to have beautiful flowers in a place. Now it serves as more of a declaration of who I am, of what my family has become.

IMG_5399

No matter how much I love where I am, part of me is always restless for wherever I will be next. For awhile I thought it was because I missed the family and friends I’d left behind. Then I thought it was because I’d become use to a nomad existence. Now I think God made all of us that way because as wonderful as life can be in community with people we love, this Earth is not our forever home. All of us, no matter how long we’ve had the same address, are transients passing through on the way our real home.

Until then, we play house here and make our homes in our heart and wherever God takes us on this journey.

*************************************************************************************************

Aw, man! I didn’t want to stop! I loved this theme and wanted to write chapters and chapters!! So many ideas!! But having a timer allows me to write guilt-free on a day that I need to be doing so many other things, so I’ll stop with my unfinished ending. But as I was writing, I couldn’t help but think about this passage and so I pulled down my copy of Mere Christianity and found the passage that I couldn’t get out of my head:

“If I find in myself a desire which no experience in this world can satisfy, the most probable explanation is that I was made for another world. If none of my earthly pleasures satisfy it, that does not prove that the universe is a fraud. Probably earthly pleasures were never meant to satisfy it, but only to arouse it, to suggest the real thing. If that is so, I must take care, on the one hand, never to despise, or be unthankful for these earthly blessings, and on the other, never to mistake them for the something else of which they are only kind of a copy, or echo, or mirage. I must keep alive in myself the desire for my true country, which I shall not find until after death; I must never let it get snowed under or turned aside; I must make it the main object of life to press on to that other country and to help others do the same.”   C.S. Lewis

4 Comments

Filed under Five Minute Friday

4 responses to “Five Minute Friday: Home

  1. nwhannas

    I could read your writing all.day.long. xxxooo

  2. I love the you have embraced the life you are living and continue to bloom where you are planted. Thank you for posting the C S Lewis quote. It really spoke to me today. I was made for another world and sometimes my heart longs for those true treasures and pleasures that await me there.

  3. Amen! We’re in that place right now, too, and preparing for yet another move in a few months. Thank you for sharing the quote from CS Lewis!

  4. Love the photograph you inserted – and the sentiment behind it that encourages us to be who we are wherever we are.

Leave a Reply

