Little Curly-Haired Boy

3fireman2-13-03

Where did you go in such a hurry, Little Curly-Haired Boy?

Couldn’t you slow down and stay little just a little while longer?

More than anything else, I wanted to be a mom and twelve years ago you gave that gift to me. Because you were my first baby, sometimes you got the very best of me, but at other times, unfortunately  you got my worst.

I guess I’m still practicing on you as we go through each new stage together. Now you’re almost a teenager. Not only are you growing out of your clothes and shoes, you’re pushing against the boundaries that confined you as a little boy and trying to find the man you’ll one day be. Sometimes, because I love you and, though you may not believe it, know more than you, I have to push back when you want to travel down roads that wouldn’t be good paths for you to travel. But mostly I marvel at the great person you are. I’m so very proud of you even though I know I can’t take the credit for the Goodness that is in you.

I used to be in charge of all the minutes of your day because I was with you almost every minute of every day. I chose your clothes, your friends, even what you’d eat. Now I’m not with you all the time and you’re making more and more of those choices for yourself. I’m trusting that you will rely on the Goodness that is in you, the Keeper of your heart. I pray that you are allowing Him to order your steps and that as you become more independent of me, you’ll become more dependent on Him. As much as I love you, He loves you more.

I do love you. So very much. As we walk through this next season together, I pray that you will grow in wisdom and stature and in favor with God and man.

He has big plans for you, Little Curly-Haired Boy.

IMG_0523

3 Comments

Filed under Family

3 responses to “Little Curly-Haired Boy

  1. Just wanted you to know that it makes me happy to pop over here and be reading new posts from you 🙂 yay!

  2. Ramona B

    And that Little Curly-Haired Boy really reminds me of your precious Daddy, Amy!

Leave a Reply

