Welcome to Our World

Like you, I am heartbroken over what happened in Newtown, Connecticut on Friday.

My hugs have lasted a little longer this weekend. I’ve been more intentional about the words I’ve spoken to my children, knowing I have no guarantee they won’t be my last message to them.

I’ve relished the ordinary minutes that were routine on Thursday, but for parents who will never have them again, seem almost holy.

I’ve wondered if I’ve taught my kids enough about how to handle loneliness and anger and disappointment and how to be a friend. Do they know enough to keep them safe? I’ve worried about what danger might be just around the next corner. And then I’ve tried to remember to let go of the things I can’t control.

Like you, I have questions. My Facebook newsfeed and email inbox are full of people sharing videos and sermons and pictures and poems trying to make sense of something that’s senseless. I have seen many things that make me think, but nothing that answers my questions.

I don’t really know why this happened. I do know enough about grief to know everyone handles loss differently. And sometimes grief makes us feel angry and instead of bringing us together it causes us to argue with each other about anything and everything.

I am hesitant to add my voice when so many  have already said so much, but I heard this song on the way to church yesterday. This song has always been very special to me, but yesterday, it was as if I heard it for the first time. It didn’t answer my questions, but it brought some comfort to me. I thought I would share it in the hopes it might do the same for you.

“WELCOME TO OUR WORLD”

Tears are falling.

Hearts are breaking.

How we need to hear from God!

You’ve been promised,

We’ve been waiting.

Welcome, Holy Child.

Welcome, Holy Child.

Hope that you don’t mind our manger.

How I wish we would have known,

But long-awaited Holy Stranger,

Make Yourself at home.

Please, make Yourself at home.

Bring Your peace into our violence.

Bid our hungry souls be filled.

Word now breaking Heaven’s silence,

Welcome to our world.

Welcome to our world.

Fragile finger sent to heal us,

Tender brow prepared for thorn,

Tiny heart Whose blood will save us,

Unto us is born,

Unto us is born.

So wrap our injured flesh around You.

Breathe our air and walk our sod.

Rob our sin and make us holy,

Perfect Son of God.

Perfect Son of God,

Welcome to our world.

(Lyrics by Chris Rice. Sung by Michael W. Smith)

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

