Thursday Things

1. Today’s post is in the form of a list in honor of the long list of things I need to accomplish today. I keep a master list written in my computer of all the things I need to do. Sometimes I assign certain items to certain days. Sometimes I write down things I’ve already completed just so I can have the satisfaction of crossing them off my list. I keep the list in an attempt to avoid waking myself from a dead sleep in the middle of the night because my brain (which apparently doesn’t stop) remembered something I’d forgotten. Usually having the list helps me keep all my deadlines in check, but for some reason, at 1 a.m. this morning I sat straight up in bed, heart racing, because of something my brain remembered that I hadn’t. I finally was able to get back to sleep (plus two hours later), but because I’m over 40, when I woke up (again) this morning to actually start my day, I could not for the life of me remember what it was I was that had cranked up my adrenaline in the hours between late and early.   Which is also why today’s post is in the form of a list. I’m too tired to write proper paragraphs.

2. One of the items on today’s list is to figure out what I’m going to wear to the Cub Scout Halloween party tonight. Last year I went as The Carpool Queen. I didn’t actually dress like my friend Sus, The Carpool Queen. Instead, I wore sleep pants, a t-shirt, and my fuzzy pink bathrobe. I stuck a few Velcro curlers in my hear, smeared my mascara (even more than it already was) under my eyes, and carried a coffee mug and my keys. My kids made me a construction paper crown that said “Carpool Queen.” I went to the party excited to see what all the other parents were wearing. Boy, was I surprised to see that they weren’t wearing costumes. Good times.

But this time, many of the parents have assured me that they will indeed play along this year. So I’m looking for a costume. Here are the contenders:

One of these “Last-Minute  Costume Ideas” from Real Simple (I kind of like Fork in the Road and Pumpkin Pi)

A Bag of Jelly Beans

I wanted to be a Cereal Killer, but my mom thought that might be a little too much for a kids’ party

Or in honor of the showing of  It’s a Great Pumpkin, Charlie Brown tonight, I could go as a Charlie Brown Ghost

What do you think? Any other brilliant ideas that I could throw together with stuff I already have around the house? I guess I could go as  a pirate or Encyclopedia Brown or Jack from Magic Treehouse since we have the “costumes” for that.

3. Unrelated to anything we’ve been talking about but just something I wanted to share, I’ve been trying to mix up my reading selections with some of the books I probably should have read by now but just never have. I decided to read some of the quintessential Southern writers. I decided to start with William Faulkner so I’ve been reading The Sound and the Fury. This book played a role in gaining William Faulkner the Nobel Prize in Literature. It is ranked sixth on Modern Library’s 100 Best English-Language Novels of the 20th Century.

I don’t get it. A few chapters in I Wikipedia-ed it just to figure out what in the world I was reading. I’m still not convinced that’s what this book is about. It’s kind of like in ninth grade when were reading The Great Gatsby. I loved the book and thought it was a great story, but when our teacher kept trying to get us to explain the significance of the green light and The Eye, I felt like such a dummy for not noticing in the first place.

Or take Bon Iver, for instance. No, seriously, you can have him. I’ve seen a lot of the hipsters reference him in their Tweets: “Contemplating the universe while listening to Bon Iver. Peace.” I’ve seen him show up in people’s Spotify notifications on Facebook. He’s supposed to be one of the hot new artists. But to me, and this is just one girl’s opinion, all of his sounds sing like he’s singing them in a key that’s one too high for him. I think I would like him better if he wasn’t trying to be more tenor-like than he is.

Sigh. I guess when you count Charlie Brown as one of your great life love’s you can’t expect to be one of the hipsters.

Am I alone here? Anything the kids are loving these days that you just don’t get?

Okay. I’m off to conquer my list. Hope you conquer yours today…and that it doesn’t fight back.

Don’t forget to check your local listings for tonight’s showing of It’s a Great Pumpkin, Charlie Brown on ABC!

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Thursday Things

  1. Jen

    I have no idea who Bon Iver is? None. That makes you more hip than me.

  2. Your Brother

    I know Bon Iver and I really love his stuff. In doses. Musically he’s great. Check out his version of Bonnie raitt’s “I can’t make you love me” on YouTube. It’s really good. I just cant listen to him ALL day.
    On other notes, I laughed outloud when you were the only one who dressed up. Livin’ that sweet sit-com life!!
    Go as the Charlie Brown ghost.

  3. I like the jelly beans costume. It reminds me of high school when a friend of mine came dressed as a cluster of grapes. She just stuck purple balloons all over herself. The problem: most people spent most of the day trying to pop her costume. 🙂

  4. Well first, I don’t get hipsters. I first heard about this new group of people about two weeks ago and now they are EVERYWHERE! I mean really, I just got used to the new “Emo” group, which is, of course, old…. if you are a Hipster, you knew that already. 😉

    Can’t wait to see what you decide to be for Halloween… and you KNOW I will be on my couch, popcorn in hand watching the first in the fall series of Charlie Brown Specials. We actually own them, but I make my kids watch them on TV, WITH commercials, for nostalgia sake.

    xo

  5. Linda

    I went to a great Halloween Party the other night. The theme was Which Witch are You? Are you a good witch or a bad witch? Every one dressed as a witch. The amazing thing was there were around 50 women there in costume and no two costumes were the same. The “best witch” winner was one of the few without a hat. She came as Andora from Bewitched. I posted a few pics on my FB page. There were a lot of basic black dresses with darling witch accessories.

  6. Melanie

    One year in high school I dressed up as “generic Halloween costume.”. Black pants, plain white T with the words “Halloween costume” written with black magic marker. Of course, that was before, when generic products didn’t come with all the fancy labels.

Leave a Reply

