Life’s What Happens When You’re Making Other Plans

I had a great weekend in Arkansas. I had planned to spend  a few posts this weeks telling some stories about the weekend, just liked I’d planned to leave Arkansas bright and early Sunday morning, pick up the kids and my mom at her house in Louisiana, and drive back home. But didn’t someone somewhere once say that life’s what happens when you’re making other plans? I did leave Arkansas bright and early Sunday morning and drove to Louisiana, but instead of driving to my mom’s house, I drove to the hospital, where my mom had been admitted.

She’s been having some health problems for awhile now, and Saturday she started having some symptoms that looked a lot like a stroke. She went to the emergency room where the doctors admitted her to the hospital and proceeded to administer every test they had to administer. I even think they were making some up on the spot. She was discharged Tuesday and although we don’t know a whole lot more than we did before she was there, we were able to rule out a lot of bad and scary things, including stroke.

Remember when I told you a few weeks ago that as you get older every body part gets its own doctor? Well, I left my mom with strict orders and new boundaries and waiting for lab results and appointments with more new doctors. As soon as we can get a few appointments taken care of in Louisiana, we’re hoping to have her come stay with us for a little while.

In the meantime, I got home yesterday evening and hit the ground running with Cub Scouts, permission slips, party RSVPs and laundry. I am so thankful for a husband who can fill in the gaps and understood and supported my need to be with my mom until things leveled out a little. I am grateful for kids who have become experts at “going with the flow.” I am still touched by Louisiana friends who act like family and have mastered the act of “showing up.”

We’ll talk about Arkansas later, but today I have some catching up to do around the house. I hope your week is going even better than you planned, because that’s sometimes when the best of life happens!

Happy Thursday!

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Life’s What Happens When You’re Making Other Plans

  1. Amy

    I pray that she will get some clear answers and be able to enjoy a sweet visit with your family soon. Hugs!

  2. Jen

    Praying with ya! Hang in there!

  3. So sorry to hear about your Mom but so thankful that stroke was ruled out….We have got to the point where a doctor has to give us every reason for any additonal tests…We no longer just automatically say yes…

  4. I hate to hear that about your mom! Praying-

  5. Linda

    Thanks for sharing the news about your mom. I hope they find what is wrong with her soon. I think the doctor’s should always prescribe a stay with your daughter for anything that ails you!

  6. Pingback: This is long and may not make sense but it’s more for me than you, so that’s okay. | Carpool Queen's Blog

Leave a Reply

