Discuss Amongst Yourselves

I’m trying to get back in the habit of checking in regularly, so I was going for a “Post On Mondays, Wednesdays, and Friday”  kind of thing, but I didn’t post yesterday. Remember how I told you I’d learned that I can break the blog rules? I’m such a rebel.

Actually, our friends are moving, so their kids have been hanging out at our house while the movers pack all their worldly possessions into boxes. We are having a blast, but I have figured out why Olivia Walton and Carol Brady didn’t have blogs. They didn’t sit down long enough to write! I’m sure the fact that Al Gore hadn’t even invented the internet yet had something to do with the lack of a Wacky Waltons WordPress blog, but she wouldn’t have had time to write one nonetheless.

I need to wash pots from a supper we had two nights ago (just keeping it real), so I can’t stay long, but I thought I’d share a couple of links to some interesting items of note I’ve read recently. You may have seen them already. Or you may have seen even more interesting material that you would like to share with the class. Feel free!

I just read this post: Lysa TerKeurst: Reactor or Responder?.  I am so guilty of being a reactor. I am also guilty of using Google to find out who sued over the spaghetti spill. I never found anything. Anyway, the point of the post is still something I need to remember and those questions would be good for me to memorize and think about when I want to explode all over the people in my path.

I could watch the videos on the Welcome Home blog all the livelong day. The blog is nothing but pictures and videos of military men and women returning home to their families and friends. If you can watch without at least getting a little misty, seek medical attention immediately. You might be dead inside.

My family all caps LOVES P.F. Changs. Did you know that if you “like” their Facebook page this month, you can click on a link to print a coupon for FREE lettuce wraps? Which is why most of us go to P.F. Changs in the first place, right? Besides lettuce wraps, what’s your favorite thing to order there? We’re always looking for new favorites.

I need a new bathing suit. I have eaten a lot of rich and delicious food this summer that is now making its home in various lumpy locations in my middle and thighs. I am now seeing the irony in posting this link after the previous one. Also, since I’m embracing my inner pale since my skin cancer surgery, I should carry a warning label that sunglasses may be needed if staring directly at my legs. My extra strength moisturizer isn’t erasing my “concerned” lines on between my eyes and on my forehead. Which is why I desperately needed to re-read this post: a letter another blogger wrote to her body.  Summer is the worst time for me to obsess about things my body is or isn’t that I wish it were or weren’t. Am I alone here?

Okay. That’s enough for now. Anything strike a nerve? Anything you’ve read recently that the rest of us should see?

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Discuss Amongst Yourselves

  1. Jen

    I’ve got that same summer glow 🙂

  2. “I have figured out why Olivia Walton and Carol Brady didn’t have blogs. They didn’t sit down long enough to write! I’m sure the fact that Al Gore hadn’t even invented the internet yet had something to do with the lack of a Wacky Waltons WordPress blog, but she wouldn’t have had time to write one nonetheless.” Snicker.

    Lurve the lettuce wraps, and the green iced tea. Also…I think there’s a cashew chicken dish w/brown rice that I lurve.

    Swimsuits. Ugh. Black and super supportive. I can be cheap on clothes, but I pay for swimsuits made of gold/lycra. Next topic.

    And lastly? Hello, my name is Gretchen, and I’m a respond-actor. Sooo trying to give up on the “quick to speak/anger” bit, since, let’s face it. It’s not a pretty color on me. work.in.progress.

    xxxooo

Leave a Reply

