In Love

I’m driving to school in my clunky-but-paid-for minivan, wondering if anyone else can see the tiny, pink hearts floating above my head cartoon-style.

Running through my mental Valentine’s Day To Do List:

Valentines and teachers’ gifts in backpacks? Check!

Valentine’s Day-themed food and chocolate for dinner? Check!

Heart so full of gratitude it’s squishing out of my eyes in heart-shaped tears? Check!

It’s hard to believe I’m the same girl who used to dread February 14th.

I’m the girl who really was Sweet Sixteen and Never Been Kissed, which people try to make sound cute, but feels more like pathetic when you’re the one who’s “Never Been.”

I knew my name wasn’t going to be called over the school intercom system to “come pick up my delivery in the main office” on Valentine’s Day, but every year I’d strain my ears to listen, just in case my secret admirer had come through for me just once.

That was then.

Now I’m living the dream.

I won’t be dressing up in high heels for an expensive night on the town with dinner at a fancy restaurant. I don’t need a blue Tiffany’s box or a dozen red roses or a trip to some exotic locale that requires a passport. Those are all fun and nice and have their place…..

But tonight my place is sitting with my Valentines around our dining room table eating heart-shaped pasta from World Market. I’ll have my favorite fuzzy slippers on which are much more comfortable than heels. Maybe we’ll watch America’s Funniest Home Videos or Wipeout together and then we’ll read another chapter of The Dawn Treader and the Jesus Storybook Bible. I love our nighttime traditions. Later I’ll go to sleep in my own bed with my own pillow snuggled up to the man who I still can’t believe chose me to be his Valentine every year for the rest of our years.

It’s not always hearts and happiness and light. In fact, just this morning, in the middle of my blissful thoughts of “Ain’t life good?” I remembered how very “not good” life can be. I’ve lost people I loved before. There’s no guarantee it won’t happen again. What if?  What would I do?

But just then the Valentine Who has always been mine and Who never leaves whispered, “There is no love in fear. Perfect love drives out fear…..And My love for you is absolutely perfect.”

I take a deep breath and let that love wash over me again and realize I really am living the dream.

Yep. I’m the princess in my own happy ever-after fairy tale….

….Where every day is Valentine’s Day.

14 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

14 responses to “In Love

  1. Jen

    You put it so lovely, so nicely, could not have done that myself. You have enlarged this valentine Scrooge’s heart 2 sizes 🙂

  2. Seriously awesome and true. Love it and love you! Happy Day!!!

  3. bebow

    I felt like you and no my earthly dreams haven’t come true……BUT
    I have a lover……the lover of my soul and he is forever mine. He is hearts and flowers for he made both. He is all I need!!!
    Happy Valentine’s Day!

  4. I know EXACTLY how you feel! I don’t know why I’m so blessed, but I’m thankful. Isn’t it great to have someone to fix Valentine-themed food FOR? 🙂

  5. That was beautiful, Amy. Simply beautiful.

  6. linda

    TOO PRECIOUS!!!!

  7. Kay

    I’ll have to have my teenage daughter read this post. She came home from school yesterday saying it was the worst day of her life. (Of course, I don’t really know how it ranks with all the other “worst days of her life” that we’ve had since she’s been in those lovely teen years!) I knew she was setting herself up for a fall when she left for school yesterday, but I hated it when my daughter came in the door so down and dejected, feeling like she was truly the only “17 and never been kissed” (except in her role as Lucy in Dracula this past fall, and that was yet another drama scene…she didn’t want to kiss that boy!).

    Your post sets Valentine’s Day in the right perspective. Ahh, if only my teen girl can see it that way!

  8. This is the best Valentine’s post I’ve ever read. You would make St. Valentine proud (afterall, though he was never married, he was killed for performing weddings for Christians…heroes….you are one.)

  9. Heart you muchly, my friend. Happy Belated Valentine’s Day. As Amber would say, triple puffy heart this post.

  10. I love this post so much! And thanks so much for your comment on my blog too – I’ve missed you!!!! 🙂

  11. I was so happy that you came to my giveaway b/c I lost my blog “list” and I loss you! I am so glad I am back:) Yeah!

    sandy toe

Leave a Reply

