Red Velvet (MGO)

I’ll eat red velvet today and think of you.

I will light a candle and remember….

….your sweet tooth.

….your mischievous grin and one-of-a-kind laugh when something or someone got you tickled.

….the complete and utter delight you took in those you loved.

….your hands.

….the feeling that I was the best daughter I father I could have. At least that’s how you made me feel.

When I blow out the candle I will remember the lessons I’ve learned over the past two years….

…..That life is short and uncertain and hard.

…..That if it’s worth saying or doing, it’s worth saying and doing today.

…..That the best is still yet to come.

…..That God is faithful.

…..That just shy of 63 years wasn’t close to long enough but eternity sounds just right.

Today I’ll eat red velvet and think of you.

Happy Birthday, Daddy.


14 Comments

Filed under My Grief Observed

14 responses to “Red Velvet (MGO)

  1. Deena

    Beautiful! I’m thinking of you today. I know you miss him.

  2. Praying for you and your family today.

  3. Meredith

    Hugs, Amy.

    I’ve had lots of melancholy days this month. Praying for us both.

  4. Praying for you today…and every day.

  5. Chris

    Beautiful …praying for y’all today….

  6. Barbara Smith

    Amy, what a blessing you continue to be in your writing. I too miss your daddy so much. Thursdays still make me think of all the good times we had. He must have had a wonderful celebration for his birthday with Jesus…. Love you all.

  7. Bdot

    Amy,
    May you feel the love of your father today & remember all the funny & special times that you shared. You’re in my thoughts!! Love, Bdot

  8. linda

    Such a sweet post! Love you Amy!

  9. bebow

    Sharing your memory of your Dad…..I, too, remember that grin when he got tickled and his voice…..that deep voice. Memories are something that will never leave you, so special.

  10. Hey Amy, thanks for sharing. Love you.

  11. Dawn Coker

    Amy-
    Have I told ya lately that I love ya? I do! And I miss ya!!! And I’m praying for ya!! And that I think you are AWESOME!!! Love you and your family!!! Miss ya bunches!!!

  12. My mom just celebrated her 12th b’day in heaven (would be 66). I think it’s great that you had cake. Red velvet, no less. xxxooo

  13. I am reminded today of your first post after your Daddy passed and I’m here to remind YOU that you are allowing God to receive SO much glory in your pain and healing. Well done, my friend. 🙂

Leave a Reply

