Young Love

He’s a cool smooth-talker with a smile that can melt ice cubes.

And he wants to marry my daughter.

He popped the question a couple of weeks ago and she still hasn’t given him an answer.

His mom told him to be patient and give her time to think about it.

After all, she’s only six.

His mom was curious about what was going on in that six-year-old little head of his so she asked him why he chose my daughter. She thought he would tell her it was because my girl is sweet and beautiful. Or maybe because she drew a special picture just for him that recalled specific details like his precious brown curls and his #8 jersey. But he didn’t mention any of those reasons. Instead, he said something that made my heart skip a beat.

Why does this little boy love my daughter?

“Because she trusts my word.”

Grown-up little boys aren’t very different, are they? Doesn’t every man want to find a woman who will trust his word? I couldn’t help but wonder if my man always feels trusted by me.

His mom and I aren’t pushing a love connection between these two. We don’t want them to worry about boyfriends and girlfriends and marrying for a long, long time. They’ll only have a few years to be kids. We want them to enjoy every minute of it.

I don’t think we have to be too concerned. On the way home from school, my daughter told me that sometimes he taps her on the shoulder and won’t stop until she looks at him.

“And then he just smiles. As soon as I turn away from him, he starts tapping me again!”

“Maybe he’s just trying to get your attention.”

“For what?! So I can see him smile? I know he’s happy. He doesn’t have to keep smiling at me!”

Ah, young love. It truly is a many splendored thing.

16 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

16 responses to “Young Love

  1. Gretchen

    Precious, precious, precious. And I’d venture to say that we grown up princesses kinda like the tapping–even though we would never say it.

  2. Oh, my. That is so profound at such a young age. “She trusts my word.” Wow.

    Wow.

  3. I have enjoyed every second of this. These are the moments I hope to always remember! I’m so happy we got to share it with each other. πŸ™‚

  4. Whimzie , it’s been a while since I’ve written to you on here, but don’t worry, I still read and love your posts (whew, I knew you were worried ;). This is the most adorable story- and you’re so right about the little grown up boys needing to feel trusted also.

  5. So sweet…..Love this story….and yes Tammy is my longtime friend…You might have seen me Mon at Best Buy….I dropped off one of my laptops…but yesterday I NEVER left the hospital all day….waiting on Terri’s granddaughter…funny thing was it was the baby of the head of the Geek Squad at BB….Next time….just say hi……I would love to see you

  6. I love 6-year-olds. When Livi was 6, I asked her why she didn’t want to play with a classmate of hers as much anymore. “Sophie’s always caring about me!” she said. “I’m just getting so tired of it!” πŸ˜‰

  7. Sami

    Um, I still do that to Frank. I like to smile at him. And I like him to see me smile at him πŸ™‚ The shoulder tap is necessary. And a lot of fun!

  8. I love love love this story. It reminds me of my oldest when she was about 4 and my b.f. had a 6 yr. old boy and they were inseperable. One day she comes marching in the house and says “Oh he makes me so mad!”
    And we turned to eachother and said,
    “they are so getting married some day!”

  9. Out of the mouths of babes. Love it!

  10. Susan Chaney

    Hi! I’m Jack and Candace’s aunt. I read your soccer joke and had to tell you how much I laughed! That’s a really, really good one! Young love is absolutely precious.

  11. sheesh. I can’t even know how to comment since I’m so touched at how profoundly wise that kid is.
    hm.

  12. What a beautiful story. What a bright kid! Ahhh, young love.

  13. 6 year olds can come up with some of the sweetest, most profound, & downright funny things! Gotta love ’em! (My grandson is 6, so I’m keenly aware of their ways…)

  14. This is one of the sweetest posts! My six-year-old has a little love connection going on too. I’m trying not to get too excited, but if she ended up with an adorable guy like this one, whose family loves the Lord, whose mom I love to be around … well, I’d be thrilled! Oh, and they’d have the cutest little babies!!! Listen to me. I’m arranging marriages for children who are missing all their front teeth. It the stuff country songs are written about – right? πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

