10 on the 10th: Random Stories With Pictorial Accompaniment Edition

I always want to participate in Mer’s monthly 10 on the 10th Carnival, but every month the 10th day sneaks up on me. Not today!  Well, actually it did sneak up on me again because I wasn’t planning on writing a blog post today, but I really hate to miss a good party. My lack of preparedness will be evident when you read this post of Random Stories with Pictorial Accompaniment.

1. So guess who I saw in the mall parking lot yesterday?

That’s the question and picture I asked my friends on Twitter and the responses were funnier than the event itself. Mer said:

Nope, Mer. That isn’t Trace Adkins, but thanks for playing!

Gretchen tweeted that she didn’t know who he was either but that she liked my necklace. Thanks, Gretchen! My mom made it for me!

So who is he? Why, he’s Billy the Exterminator! He’s been featured on the TV show Dirty Jobs and now his own show on A&E!  I’ve never seen it, but apparently lots of people like it. My uncle does, which is why I posed for a picture with Billy. He was extremely gracious. So much so that I’ve TiVo’d an episode of his show. Who knows? I may become one of his newest fans!

2. We gave the kids Bibles with their names on them for Easter. Someone may be vying for Vanna’s job when she decides to quit turning letters. Or perhaps she’s auditioning to be an Old Navy mannequin.

3. This kid’s art teacher submitted a piece of his work to an area-wide wildlife art competition:

This was his first time to enter anything into a contest.

And he won 2nd place in his age division! His work was on display at a museum and then at Bass Pro Shop. We’re so proud!!

Yep. Some of us crossed right over from proud into something I’m not quite sure how to describe!

4. While we were at the Bass Pro Shop, we had to look out for snakes….:

5.  …..and for alligators.

6. Uh, oh. Looks like we waited too late to call Billy the Exterminator to help these two:

7. This kid is keeping the tooth fairy in business:

8. Speaking of that kid, I’m so glad we have other boys close to his age in our little neighborhood circle. For some reason, everywhere else we’ve lived he’s been the odd man out. The kids his age are always girls (which worked well for his sister) and the boys are always younger or older (which worked well for his brother).  Here, we have kids just his size.  On second thought, I hope he’s not running with a motley crew. This group looks dangerous.

9.  When he’s not flashing AWANA gang signs with his friends or pulling out his teeth, that kid can be found helping his dad build stuff on the weekends. Today they put together a coat rack:

Here they are with the finished product:

10. The kid I was telling you about who won a prize in the art competition? Well, he’s on another weekend retreat with a group from church. I’m not as freaked out this time as I was in the fall, but I’d be lying if I said I hadn’t been thinking about him every minute since he left yesterday.  Several of my friends went to be chaperones this time and one of my friends just texted me a couple of pictures.

He’s fearless, that one! Can’t wait to hear all of his fun stories tomorrow evening.

Speaking of tomorrow evening, it has taken me so long to download the pictures for this post that I’m surprised we aren’t there yet. Thanks for stopping by. I still have one more thing I want to write about Me, Myself, and Bob. I want to see how many posts I can write that include Phil Vischer’s name before he issues an actual restraining order. Nah, I’m kidding. Truly, I want to write out the truths I learned so that I can come back and read them when I start living like I’ve forgotten. So it’s really a post for my own benefit, but you’re welcome to come back and read it if you want. You’re welcome at my fire anytime. (Friends for life if you can identify the source of that quote!)

Thanks, Mer, for hosting another 10 on the 10th!!

22 Comments

Filed under 10 on the 10th

22 responses to “10 on the 10th: Random Stories With Pictorial Accompaniment Edition

  1. This was fun, Amy!

    I am so behind on the rest of your blog. I’ll have to come back to catch up, but I loved the pictures!

    Tell Vanna she’s beautiful, and tell your artist congratulations! And tell your camper that he needs to bring his family to Colorado and climb some real mountains!

    Love you!

  2. Okay, wait, I think I doubled up on the same kid. Tell the one who assembled the coat rack with his dad that I have some home improvement projects he can help me with when his brother brings you guys to Colorado. And I’ll throw in some ice cream as a reward for all that hard work!

  3. Lurve the photo lurve! From Vanna, to Mr. Proud-Fix-it, to Mr. Bell-Ringer. Awesome! I’m so glad that the weekend is 1/2 over, so that Big Kid will be home soon. xxxooo (Because it’s not about him). 🙂

  4. Great photo fun! Your kiddos are adorable!

    Love the artwork!

  5. Sami

    I like coat racks. Mine is currently in a storage room because I don’t have a place for it. But it’s cute and from Ikea. I think. Or maybe it’s Target. I think it’s Ikea. Either way I like it 🙂

  6. I just watched Billy this week when the kids and I were in Virginia. He’s entertaining, though I don’t know if I’d recommend watching a show about bugs and varmints at midnight when you are alone with children in a strange hotel room…they kids said they wished there Dad was there to calm me down.

    Your kids are adorable…

  7. Love the Bible modeling and the snaggle tooth and the alligator drama. So fun!

  8. I have to confess that I guessed Billy the Exterminator was Toby Keith. I still say I was closer than Mer. Trace Adkins has beautiful, long, golden locks and is a gorgeous hunk o’man. Billy/Toby are just so-so. 🙂

    Precious kiddos! And congrats on the art prize and the impending visit from the Tooth Fairy.

  9. that Vanna picture is priceless! Love it!

  10. Loved! “Me, Myself, and Bob.” Every management major should read that book. Great lessons..Humble, too!

    And your boy’s art picture is wonderful!! My mom in Marshall is an artist. I’m glad that your boy is probably home now–I pray he had a wonderful weekend and grew in the Lord.

    Our friend Tim went to school with Trace Adkins… random, I know.

    I answered your Q’s here: http://crownlaiddown.com/2010/04/11/10-things-you-may-not-know-about-me/ 🙂

    And when are you coming to visit me and Mer? Soon? I hope!

  11. I don’t know if I have ever seen your kids…but they sure are cuties!! Love the Easter picture.
    sandy toe

  12. amytuttle

    love it. i feel like you’re practically famous!
    and i think she’s better than Vanna 😉

    amy in peru

  13. rmarch979

    I loved the pictures!!! Beautiful kiddos…

  14. Fun (and funny) post!

    I totally thought Billy was Brett Michaels…oops…

    Your kids are adorable! She’s definitely got a future as an Old Navy Mannequin.

  15. linda

    I am pretty impressed with the whole Billy thing! He actually was our exterminator many years ago. We haven’t needed one since. He apparently is very good at his job, setting the fame aside.

    I love the 10 on the 10th idea. Your stories are precious. Thanks again for sharing.

  16. carpoolqueen

    Okay, I wasn’t worried about B until I saw the climbing picture. Some things we just don’t need to know about .

  17. So I googled the quote to find out what movie it was from. I’ve been wanting to see Man From Snowy River my entire life, but I still never have. I think I’ll rent it this weekend. Thanks for the inspiration!

  18. I thought the exterminator was Brett Michaels too. Who can tell under the taco hat?
    Loved Miss Thing’s pose. She is soo ready for that Old Navy casting call. My girls love playing with the ‘big Barbies.’ I’m so afraid I’m gonna have to buy one someday.- it’s just possible that mannequins don’t bend like Barbies …

  19. Heidi

    Well, I wasn’t the first to post the answer but I had to comment to say I knew that quote was from MFSR without Google! I have that movie memorized.
    I enjoy your blog!

  20. Your children are adorable!!

    Thanks for sharing so many great pics! (Do they take as long in WordPress to download as they do in Blogger? cause if so, THAT is dedication and big props to you.)

  21. Great pictures and stories! Your life looks fun. 🙂 We’ve watched that exterminator dude before–he lives fairly close…

  22. There is much I could say, but I’ll leave it at this: Your kids are SO ADORABLE!!

Leave a Reply

