The “Is That Contestant on American Idol a Christian?” Scorecard: AKA The Biggest Blog Post Ever On StuffChristiansLike.net

I’m participating in a massive guest post by Jon Acuff from Stuff Christians Like.  Over 100 other bloggers agreed to post part of today’s post on how to evaluate whether or not a contestant on American Idol is a Christian or not.  I’ll post my snippet and then try to explain to those of you who are wondering what in the world this is.

The “Is That Contestant on American Idol a Christian? Scorecard”:

143. They throw up a gang sign for AWANA after one of their performances = +2 points

144. Under “Musical Influences” on their Fox profile page they list “David.” = +2 points

145. They somehow find a way to sing the theme song from the movie “Chariots of Fire” during the season.  = +2 points

To add up your score with 130 other ideas on this scorecard, visit stuffchristianslike.net.

____________________________________________________________________________

Let me ‘splain. No. There is too much. Let me sum up.

People are quirky. Christians are people. Ergo, Christians are quirky. (Thank you, Dr. Wight, for insisting that I take symbolic logic as an elective. You were right. I was finally able to use it in real life.  Rock on.)

A lot of Christians don’t like to think of themselves as quirky, but Jon Acuff  is the master at pointing out the funny little things we do that we usually don’t even realize. Like always rooting for the Christians on American Idol. Or using God’s favorite word when we pray and clapping our hands. I rarely leave the Stuff Christians Like site without experiencing at least one out-loud laugh, but every once in awhile, I read a post there that makes me laugh and then really makes me think. Like this one about the comma of grace.

I don’t know Jon Acuff personally. But I like his blog. And I like that he doesn’t take himself too seriously. I like that he appreciates his readers and even lets them write his blog posts from time to time (Shameless Shoutout to my blog post contribution here.)

Jon’s first book, Stuff Christians Like is out this month. To celebrate, he agreed to let his readers participate in this revised Christians on American Idol Scorecard. Tomorrow he’ll post the key to what the scores really mean.  Thanks, Jon, for letting us play along, too! And congratulations on your book!!

Can you think of anything Jon missed? Any other ways you can tell that a contestant on American Idol is a Christian? Tell me in the comments. But what I really wish you’d do is take a picture of you or your kids flashing your very best AWANA gang sign and send it to me. I promise I’d post it. I double dog dare you.

10 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

10 responses to “The “Is That Contestant on American Idol a Christian?” Scorecard: AKA The Biggest Blog Post Ever On StuffChristiansLike.net

  1. Gretchen

    Oh, honey. If only I had known about AWANA in time, I’d gladly send my photo. For you, anything. LOVE this! Love #144.

  2. That’s funny stuff, Whimz!

    Would you believe that neither I nor my children have ever been to AWANA? Scandalous, I know!

  3. I’m trying to think of AWANA gang symbols. Maybe the T&T-ers could flash some double T’s?

    Sparks? a flash of lights with their fingers…sort of like “spirit fingers”?

    Cubbies. Hmmm. have to think on that one.

  4. How about they look up to the heavens, smile, and mouth “thank you”. Because I see that a lot in “Christian” performers. Since it’s no longer cool to sport those “W.W.J.D.” bracelets, we’ve got to find other ways to “out” them!

  5. I love that dude.
    Cracks.Me.Up.

    I’m reading his book right now, and I think I have permanently injured my side from laughing so hard.

  6. I adore SCL. I just downloaded the book, matter o’ fact.

    The AWANA gang sign has cracked me up for days since I first read this post. (Don’t even ask why it’s taken me so long to reply.)

  7. I’m visiting all the other hosts of Jon’s blog tour. Beautiful Easter photos. And was that a Princess Bride quote I saw tucked in this post? Can’t quite place it. 🙂 Tonja (#122 on Jon’s list)

  8. Pingback: 10 on the 10th: Random Stories With Pictorial Accompaniment Addition « Snoodlings

  9. (Can you tell I’m catching up on my blog reading?)

    LOVE your post! Too funny! Now I’m clicking over to the SCL website, cuz I’ve never heard of it before. I’m anticipating some belly laughs.

Leave a Reply

