WHAT’S IN THE BIBLE? Week: Mom Gets the Last Word…Except for When She Doesn’t

I still hope to post the kids’ review of What’s in the Bible? (www.whatsinthebible.com) but I don’t have the necessary equipment to do that here and now. So in an example of blog imitating life, I only thought I’d have the last say on this series.

I had high hopes for What’s in the Bible? and had been looking forward to its release ever since I heard that Phil Vischer planned to make a video series for kids that covered the entire Bible, Genesis to Revelation. I was not disappointed.

The series has just enough silly to keep my kids entertained and repeating favorite lines over dinner. But it has just enough pop culture references and “just over their head” lines to keep my husband and I laughing…and repeating favorite lines over dinner.

I think what impresses me most about this series is the depth of subject matter each disc covers. This isn’t a retelling of favorite Bible stories using puppets. This series ambitiously, but in my opinion successfully attempts  to help children go beyond the surface to truly understand that the Bible is not just a fun storybook. Each disc emphasizes the relation of each book to the others in the telling of “God’s story and what He’s done for us.”

Do your kids know who Jerome was? What the Septuagint is? What the word “testament” means? My kids do. And so do I, know that we’ve watched the first two episodes of What’s in the Bible? Now would my kindergarteners be able to answer all of those questions accurately today? Maybe not. But ask them again later this summer after they’ve watched those episodes eleventy hundred more times. If your kids are like mine, they’ll watch the same DVD over and over and over again. And it does my heart (and theirs) good to know that every time my kids watch one of the What’s in the Bible? DVDs a little more knowledge of God’s Word is taking root in their brains and, more importantly, in their hearts. But they’re having so much fun that they don’t even know they’re learning!

I wasn’t kidding about the stuff K and I are learning. I’m especially loving the discussions about church history (from Jesus to Billy Graham). It just doesn’t seem as dry and tedious when a pirate and a parrot tell me! My mom has a friend who is a fairly new Christian. She didn’t grow up in church. The stories that we don’t remember hearing for the first time? She hasn’t heard most of them. No one has ever explained to her how the Bible is arranged or why the Protestant Bible and the Catholic Bible don’t have the same number of books. I gave her my advance copy of the DVDs to watch. She was thrilled and finally feels like she’s beginning to understand why the Bible is so vital to her growth as a new Christian. It is breaking down a difficult book into bite-sized pieces that she can manage.

I’m not sure who the target audience is for What’s in the Bible? but I firmly believe that it would be a useful addition to every family’s library, whether you have children living in your home or not. Stick the first two DVDs in your loved ones’ Easter baskets. Prop them up with a couple of Cadbury eggs. They’ll certainly last longer and provide better nourishment than a hollow chocolate bunny. Plus you won’t get “real sick in your head  from the What’s in the Bible?DVDs like you might from the bunny. (Good luck getting the “New and Improved Bunny Song” out of your head. You’re welcome.)

And guess what I heard on Twitter yesterday? What’s in the Bible? is in talks to develop a curriculum that would supplement the series. I know!! I’m seeing homeschool moms and dads, Sunday School teachers, parents looking for good family devotionals…so many amazing ways this could be used!

In case you can’t tell by now, I’m very, very excited about this series and I think once you see it, you’ll be excited too. I’m thankful that Tyndale House (www.tyndale.com) gave me an opportunity to preview the series before it was released and I’m very grateful that they gave me two certificates so that I can give away a copy of each of the first two DVDs! To win, leave a comment on this blog post. One comment per person, please. I will keep the contest open until Tuesday, let’s say 7:00 p.m. CST, and I’ll announce the winner some time on Wednesday, March 24th. Sound like a plan? Even if you’ve already purchased a copy of the first two DVDs, you’re eligible to win, as long as you promise to give them away to someone who would enjoy them.

In today’s comment, I’d love for you to tell me what question about the Bible you would like for What’s in the Bible? to tackle. Or, if you have no questions about the Bible, tell me why you would like to win one of these DVDs.

I hope you win!

20 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

20 responses to “WHAT’S IN THE BIBLE? Week: Mom Gets the Last Word…Except for When She Doesn’t

  1. I’d like to win because I have three and one year olds I’m responsible for training.

    That is all. 🙂

  2. Hmmm… not sure how I’d narrow it down to one question or even fifty, so I’ll just go with saying that I would LOVE to win a copy to go in an Easter basket around here. 🙂 I know some little people (and big people) who would be thrilled.

  3. Nica

    You were snoodling (Ha! I made it a verb!) at 5:00 Saturday morning? Blarg. . . makes my head hurt to think about it. So do some of the questions that my 6 year old comes up with that I can’t really answer sometimes. I just had to look up the definition of “Hallelujah!” because all I could tell them was it was a praise word. I can’t find it in my Biblical Index, so I’m not sure it’s even used in the Bible. Webster came through with: Hebrew–“Praise ye the Lord.” Turns out I wasn’t that far off. . . but no sooner to I get back to them with that, then the next question is, “What does praise mean?” Well. . .

  4. Lydia Stevenson

    I can imagine 9 American MK’s going totally crazy over this. We actually have been looking for something to use to teach/do with our MK’s during team meetings, something with substance, something that can build upon itself. Since our kids don’t get Sunday school and church is not in English, what they get in Biblical teaching comes from home. It is a huge responsibility. I think that this would be awesome for that. The kids range in age from 3-13, so I like that it reaches all those ages. Thanks for informing of of such a worthy product/ministry.

  5. This looks like so much fun! Miles really wants to win!

  6. I think these would be VERY useful in our new ministry. . . . don’t you that is a good reason. I mean think of all those poor kids who don’t know anything about the bible. It would be solely for them and not for me at all. I would hate to have to sit around and watch those with my kids and their friends. 🙂

  7. One question i’ve noodled over is when did “they” know the Bible was finished?

    I love the idea of this DVD, Whimz., and would love to win it and share it with our children’s ministry after we’ve watched it, of course. 😉

  8. I want to win! I want to win!! Why? My daughter LOVES learning about the Bible. She’ll sit forever reading books with me and studying and asking questions. My son, on the other hand, couldn’t care less. But he loves movies and he loves puppets. That’s my “in” to his spiritual training.

  9. These videos just sound really fun! I’m looking forward to getting some of them! Thanks for letting me know about them.

  10. Amy Clutter

    This is my first time to comment on a blog – just had to on this one. First, I cannot WAIT to get Chase this entire series – I am a huge Veggie Tales fan (since college). Second, I cannot wait to see how they cover everything in an easy to understand way – I will be interested to see if they answer questions like what it means to be sovereign, holy, all the omnis, the trinity, I could go on and on…….

    Sure would make a good Easter basket finale for my precious almost 4 year old. 🙂
    Just sayin’.

  11. One question? impossible to narrow it down — but I know that I really want to win this because I know a whole SLEW of kids that could benefit greatly from it!! 🙂 including Jayci. And myself.

  12. My girls would love this!

  13. hey there… I’d love to win 🙂

    I just came by to tell you that you should read my latest post where I mentioned your name 😉

    amy in peru

  14. rmarch979

    We got to have a sneak peak at a friends DVD and my kids (and their parents) were completely in love! I can’t wait to see the rest of the DVD!

  15. Sounds like a really great series to help teach Bible skills. I’d love to use it with our Royal Ambassadors and God’s Girls. Pleease, Mr. Random Integer thingy-ma-bob …

  16. We are always looking for things for our kids and the church that helps them learn more about the Bible. Thanks for the great review. I am going to tell our pastor to buy these for the church. 😉

  17. CRaP!

    enter me..am I too late??

  18. I am so sorry that I didn’t expound b/c there’s so much to say about this set!! I’m dying to get my hands on it..I just am watching my d’s and q’s right now (that’s dimes and quarters) and so it’s just now quite in the budget…I was SOOOOOOO excited about the curriculum!!!

  19. Whoosh… just in by the hair on my chinny chin chin.

    It would have been a travesty if I hadn’t been entered. Because you know I need this.

    C’mon….you know you want to pick me!!! 🙂

  20. I want to win because I LOVE to learn about the Bible, and I want my girls to LOVE it too!!

Leave a Reply

