WHAT’S IN THE BIBLE? Week: Meet the Characters

I love Veggie Tales. There. I said it. I am a fan of cartoon produce and I’m not ashamed to admit it.  It was nice when K and I finally had kids so we could justify our extensive Veggie Tale video collection.

I also love Phil Vischer. No, there’s no need to call his wife or warn my husband. Maybe I should have said that I’m a big fan of Phil Vischer’s. Some time ago I emailed him to tell him how much the Veggie Tales episode “A Snoodle’s Tale” meant to me and he wrote me back. That’s certainly not the only reason I’m a fan of his, but it certainly made my day. I love that he uses his amazing talents and creative genius in ways that give God glory. I also love that he sounds a lot like Bob the Tomato (I wonder why?!).

Phil Vischer’s latest project is called What’s in the Bible? Here. I’ll let him tell you what it’s all about.

You were visualizing Bob, weren’t you?

I have been anxiously awaiting the arrival of the first installation of this series. I was thrilled to have the opportunity to receive a pre-release of the first two episodes. I was dance-around-the-room excited when Tyndale House also sent me a gift certificate for one free copy of each episode that I can give away to two of my friends!! However, I was greatly bummed that they wanted me to wait until the week of March 15th to post my review. But guess what? Today is March 15! And I’ve decided that one day to tell you about What’s in the Bible? is not nearly enough time. So, ladies and three gentlemen (insert announcing trumpet sound here), I declare this week What’s in the Bible? Week at Snoodlings! The week will crescendo to a grand finale where you will have the chance to win your own What’s in the Bible? DVD!

But everyone will walk away with something today because to introduce you to the characters, Tyndale House sent me five coloring pages and said that I could share them with you! (Click on the link below and you should be directed to the pages.)

WITB_ColoringPages

The first picture is Buck Denver. He’s the newscaster host of What’s in the Bible? (I’m not asking you. I know for a fact that he’s the newscaster host but since the title of this series ends with a question mark, it makes punctuating this review with clarity of meaning a challenge of sorts.) The second page features Clive and Ian, two brothers who are always in search of adventure. The next picture is of Agnes and Winnifred.  Remember the two grumpy critics on The Muppet Show? Agnes and Winnifred remind me of them. The fourth coloring page is a picture of Michael. I think he may be my favorite character so far. You’ll just have to watch What’s in the Bible? to see if you agree with me. The last picture is of Sunday School Lady. She has a magic flannelgraph. Need I say more?

The characters are a perfect example of another reason that I’m such a big fan of Phil Vischer’s. Now, let me let you in on a little secret before I explain to you why I think Phil Vischer is a character-making genius. Lean in closer. Here’s my secret: I am NOT a fan of puppets. Chalk it up to thirty-plus years of Vacation Bible School and children’s church, but I’ve just never loved puppets. (And don’t get me started on ventriloquists and their dummies.) Their faces never change. They can’t change expressions. As much as I love am a fan of Phil Vischer’s, I wasn’t sure I was going to love the puppet aspect of What’s in the Bible? But these characters are so well-defined and voiced so adeptly, that within minutes I completely forgot they were puppets! Honest!

I just can’t say enough good things about this series. Today I didn’t even scratch the surface. Tomorrow, I plan to post a video of my kids telling you what they think about What’s in the Bible? Wednesday will be my final post for the week and I’ll do my best to sum up my feelings about this amazing series. That post will also be your opportunity to leave a comment for an opportunity to win a copy of one of the DVDs.

Speaking of winners,  I have three that I need to announce from last week.  (I only said I had one book to give away, but spring break with beautiful weather and What’s in the Bible? Week find me in a very giving mood I guess. Betty Boop is a real-life friend. Boop is not her real last name but how cool would that be if it were? Betty Boop, you won the book Mother-Daughter Duet by Cheri Fuller and Ali Plum. I’ll give it to you at church, okay? Kay (from Off the Beaten Path) is a relatively new blog friend. Her blog is like a daily devotional thought. I always leave her posts with a little spiritual snack to munch. And on a much shallower note, I love her haircut!! Mimi is a precious blog friend who grew into an email and IM friend. Kay and Mimi, I’d like to email both of you a $5 iTunes gift. Will you please shoot me an email to snoodlings@live.com so I can be certain that I send it to the correct email address? (If you don’t have an iTunes library, we can still be friends somehow, but you’ll need to let me know so I can adjust your gift accordingly.)

I’ll leave you with a few pictures of three of my all-time favorite characters. Not even Phil Vischer could create characters as amazing and funny and captivating and precious as these three. Last week our school had Character Night at Barnes and Noble so we had an opportunity to play dress-up.

Here’s the Invisible Man from the classic book by H.G. Wells:

This is Runny Babbit from a billy sook by Shel Silverstein:

Let me give you a little background information about this next costume. I don’t sew. As in, if a button comes off in this house it stays off until my husband can sew it on. Yes, my husband. I believe I already told you that a football player in my home ec class finished my pillow so that I would be able to get a passing grade on my sewing project. I’m not proud of this, but it’s just a fact of my life. So the rule I declared for the selection of costumes this year was that it needed to involve materials we already have. We just so happen to have a shark costume that I bought on sale at a consignment shop several years ago. So our next task was finding a book that included a shark. Blessedly for us (for many reasons), we used to live in Hawaii.  I’d like to introduce you to a lesser-known literary character, Vanna the Magic Shark from The Three Little Hawaiian Pigs and the Magic Shark. Thank you, obscure Hawaiian author!

It was a fun night and The Invisible Man won first place in his grade division. I was bummed for the Magic Shark and Runny Babbit, but they had some stiff competition in kindergarten. The winner came dressed as the wardrobe from The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe.  When you opened the doors of the wardrobe, you could see Narnia inside. Way to go, Wardrobe’s mom! Thanks for making the rest of us look bad inspiring us to be more creative next year!

I hope you’ll come back tomorrow and the next day to celebrate What’s in the Bible? Week at Snoodlings. In the meantime, you can find out more at http://www.whatsintheible.com and http://www.tyndale.com. If you Tweet, be sure to follow @whatsinthebible on Twitter.

You an also win some neat prizes at a couple of my friends’ blogs this week. Kellie from La Vida Dulce and Meredith from Life at 7000 Feet are celebrating their 1000th posts this week and to celebrate, they’re giving away some really fun stuff. They’d love for you to stop by and say hi! I’ll leave you with these assignments and hopefully I’ll see you back here tomorrow!

21 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

21 responses to “WHAT’S IN THE BIBLE? Week: Meet the Characters

  1. I am loving What’s in the Bible? week! (And am also an adult lover of Veggie Tales. Sometimes when I’m praying I find myself singing “The Thankfulness Song” out of the blue…and then remember that I’m 23.) I just about fell out of my chair when I read the phrase “magic flannelgraph” – SO looking forward to the rest of this week!

  2. I have always loved Veggie Tales and anxioulsy awaited the next one for the boys….Looking forward to the rest of the week…..We have got to set a time after Spring Break to have coffee. I have met several other local bloggers that have become friends….

    Teresa

  3. I swear we must be twins-who-look-nothing-alike-separated-at-birth. You need proof you say?
    Proof #1: my husband and I loved Veggie Tales way before we had kids too!
    Proof #2: I’m not a big fan of puppets. I find puppets bor-ing, inside and out.
    Proof #3: My husband also does all the hand-sewing in our home. I can sew, I just choose to save it for important things like curtains and … well, curtains.
    Okay, so maybe we’re not twins, but we certainly have good taste in men and puppets!

  4. Sounds like a great series. Love Veggie Tales.

    The costumes are GREAT!

  5. I adore VeggieTales. And am SO bummed that my kiddos are starting to grow out of it. Makes me weepy.

    But at the same time totally stoked, because now I can have them all to myself! 🙂

    • whimzie

      But that’s another thing I absolutely LOVE about What’s in the Bible? I think it attracts a larger range of ages than Veggie Tales does. It’s definitely much meatier than Veggie Tales. Ha! Did you see what I did there? MEATIER than VEGGIE Tales. I’m sorry. Anyway, for Wednesday’s post I’m planning to give more examples of why I think this series would be appropriate for any home, regardless of the kids’ ages or even if there are even kids in the home.

      So, weep no more! But you might have to share again.

  6. Sami

    We couldn’t wait for my sister to get pregnant so we could buy Veggie Tales! We are trying to wait until she is born to watch them though. Although we may have to preview before to make sure that it is appropriate 🙂 Not that I already know about them since I did pick out my favorites…and I do randomly burst into a chorus of “we work real hard in the chocolate factory…” It gets stuck in my head.

  7. I kid you not…when Big first saw a Veggie Tales video (prolly a greatest hits?)…he said, if church were like this, I would’ve liked going.

    Phil’s on to something.

  8. Back to say…I think I commented on Twitter, but it bears repeating: your characters are characteristically incredible! Glad they had a fun night! A pox on narnia woman. Just kidding.

    Really.

  9. I cannot even begin to tell you how I adore Veggie Tales and how I have waited anxiously for WITB!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Seriously, “we’ve got some news good King Darius..we feel your position is precarious” in the Daniel video just slays me with its genius (along w/ all the other phenomenal lyrics). And yes! I think Connor will LOVE this new series!!!

  10. I could take or leave Veggie Tales (please still love me!!), but I really, really want to see this DVD series!

  11. Alex

    Dear Barnes and Noble Children’s Section,
    The Three Little Hawaiian Pigs and the Magic Shark AND Shel Silverstein, one of my favorite authors and Bubbles and Jesus didn’t win? I am seriously considering going a full 2 weeks without a purchase from your store. Don’t say I didn’t warn you. Oh. And good call on The Invisible Man. Maybe just 1 week.
    Alex…
    who spends quite a bit at your lovely establishment

    Whimzie Sidebar:
    Why is there an outlet above your mantle?

  12. Thanks for the introduction . . . and the coloring pages!
    We are giving Disc 1 & 2 to our daughter’s for Easter. We can’t wait to watch them!

  13. I am totally looking forward to Vischer’s new series! http://www.whatsinthebible.com/

  14. We love all these characters already from JellyTelly, so we are anxiously awaiting the arrival of the Easter Bunny at our house since he (she? since I _AM_ the Easter Bunny?) will be leaving copies for us to watch! http://www.whatsinthebible.com

  15. I am looking forward to these and also think they will make great Easter gifts.

  16. My family absoultely loves these DVDs. What a great investment in my children’s future. They are learning what the Bible is all about and they love it! The characters are so much fun, yet educational. My husband and I are learning a lot too!

  17. rmarch979

    I love anything Phil Vischer (like you). 🙂 I’m so excited about this series!

  18. Do you think that some of the characters voices are hard to understand at times?

  19. Pingback: Oh, They’re Characters All Right | Snoodlings

Leave a Reply

