Sweet! I’m Home from Alabama! (With Apologies to Lynyrd Skynyrd)

Remember when I thought I’d be broadcasting live from Alabama last week? Well, obviously that didn’t happen. Last week didn’t turn out exactly like I’d expected. I knew I’d be busy with conference stuff during the day, but I truly thought I’d have plenty of free time as evidenced by the pile of stuff I packed to take with me:

The sad truth is that I packed all of my reading material before I even opened a drawer to pack the first article of clothing. Priorities, people.  Needless to say, the only thing I accomplished by bringing the above stack on my trip was the upper arm weightlifting opportunities my overpacked bags afforded me. Even though it wasn’t really an opportunity to rest or recharge, it was a good week. That said, I’m very glad to be home. I was reminded last week of something I already knew: I’m a homebody. I like my little everyday world of trips to and from school and ballet lessons and grocery lists and recipes and laundry. It may not seem glamorous to most, but I think this life is a good fit for me.  (Someone may need to remind me about that on Thursday when I’m complaining that I don’t know what to fix for supper!)

Speaking of laundry, I have a suitcase full of clothes that need to be washed so I can’t stay as long as I’d like. I hope to be back later today with a quick book review that I was supposed to post last week. (I have a book to give away, if you’re interested!) I did want to pop in quickly to let you know I’ve missed our little chats. Since I was missing my everyday life last week, I’d like to know what your favorite part of your everyday routine is.  What’s your favorite part of your day?

20 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

20 responses to “Sweet! I’m Home from Alabama! (With Apologies to Lynyrd Skynyrd)

  1. carpoolqueen

    I’m first. My favorite part of the day is at approximately 8:07 when I’m back from carpool and sitting down in front of my computer with a cup of coffee and IMing you.

    I am so glad you’re back.

  2. Isn’t it weird how we miss each other?

    I’m glad you’re back, too.

    My favorite part of my routine is that first cuppa coffee in the morning. I also like my little siesta each afternoon.

    Apparently, I like being alone. ;O) I think it’s probably because there are no demands.

  3. Hands down, for us girls it’s when Daddy gets home from work. Our days are good, but we are READY to see him by 6pm! Glad you are back. 🙂

  4. rmarch979

    Glad you’re back! My favorite part of the day is probably the first cup of coffee before breakfast…the house is so quiet, then.

  5. Kay

    Welcome back to the routine and the humdrum. Isn’t it nice? My favorite part of the day is in the morning AFTER I’ve let my dogs out and fed them and brewed the coffee and toasted my bagel and seen my daughter out the door. Then I look around my house and the sun is shining in the windows (on a good morning) and all is as it should be. I wish it could be 7:00 am all day long! Then again, I guess that would get a little old…

  6. Teresa

    I am laughing, as that is SO me. I take every book and every magazine I see in the house, just in case I have time to read….and bring them everyone back home in opened….I always think what if we got stranded and I had nothing to read…Now that thought is PANIC to me…

  7. I echo Gretchen. It’s so funny (and wonderful) how we all miss each other!

    Glad you’re back!!!

  8. I love the after dinner time when Jack and I watch the news and the kids wrestle and run and tumble together on the floor. Until someone starts to cry like they inevitably do. Every. Single. Time. Then, it turns from sweet to miserable in the blink of a teary eye. So I guess you could say it’s the best of times and the worst of times. 🙂

  9. First, I have FOUR of those books sitting next to my bed, too!! 🙂 Funny, funny.

    I have two favorite parts of the day. One is the moment my kids wake up in the morning. Sure, they wake up far too early for my taste, but I love the moment they come down the stairs with a sleepy “Mommy!!” They’re always so excited to see me and hug on me and it’s just the best.

    Well, it’s the best until about 8:07pm when I crawl into bed next to my husband, he with his laptop and me with my book. The kids are in bed, not sleeping, but quiet, and we get to have some time just to ourselves. I love it.

  10. Welcome back! I missed you, too. I had to laugh at the stack of unopened books that weighted your suitcase for you. My stack of books does the same every time. You’d think I’d learn.

    My three favorite parts of the day are
    1. In the morning when I walk into my girls’ room and they chirp “Good morning!” to me in toddler and baby speak. Every morning they fool me into thinking they will be that sweet all day long, and I begin to look forward to the day.
    2. When Daddy comes home!!!! Because by then I desperately need an adult to speak to, even if that adult turns out to have a different opinion than I do on how things should go.
    3. Late in the evening when all business is done for the day, and the kids are playing relatively quietly together, and Jeremy and I are hanging out, relaxing.

    Ah, what a wonderful life!

  11. hmm my favorite part of my day? Maybe when Jayci goes down for her nap? Or maybe when she first wakes up and just wants to cuddle for a few minutes . . . or when I climb into my fresh clean sheets (which I did not put on the bed – yay for sweet friends!) 🙂

  12. My favorite part of every day is when my sweet Caroline asks me to hold her and snuggle “just 5 more minutes in your warm spot” before she gets dressed for the day! Don’t tell anyone, but it is usually waaaay more than 5 minutes!

  13. I can’t even comment appropriately because
    a) one of my most favorite books of all time in on that stack (me, myself, and Bob) and
    b) I GET TO SEE YOU IN THREE DAYS

    (my current favorite routine thing is stalker-texting you… who knows what it will be when the visit is over??? )

  14. The older two are at school and my 2 year old “baby” wakes up from his nap all sleepy, warm, and yummy and snuggles with me on the couch.

    ONE of the favorite times of the day.

  15. Lydia Stevenson

    This my dear is why I got a Kindle. Though ,not all of the books are avaliable. Also, I have immediate access to books in English. The only English books in our city avaliable are classics and ESL books. Now that I have seen your list, I am checking them to see if they are on the Kindle. I never know what the new, good books are out there to read. I appreciate when people have a reading list. PS. My favorite time of the day is after dinner when we are doing our family devotion together.

  16. linda

    Glad you are back. I missed you.

  17. tanya

    My favorite part of the day is about 10 pm when I take the two little ones to the bathroom before I go to bed. They are warm and snuggly and let me hold them and kiss them and they don’t run from me! I also like tucking them back in and they roll over and cuddle with their blankets…so sweet!
    My favorite part of the week is Tuesdays during ballet because I get to have some nice grown up conversation!!!

  18. Glad you’re back!
    My favorite part of the day is around 6:PM. When we’re making supper, the kids are doing homework around the kitchen table or playing outside and we exchange stories from each other’s days.

  19. Ooooo….I read that Pink Carnation book and some sequels..very good. I love historical fiction 😉 Thank you for you kind comment on The Nester page today.
    your friend,
    Janet

    PS…I am meeting so many wonderful ladies via this Giveaway!

Leave a Reply

