Ten Reasons I Haven’t Had Much Time to Spend on the Computer This Month

Every month my friend Meredith hosts 10 on the 10th. On the 10th of each month she invites us to make a list of ten of anything. This month I’ve made of list of Ten Reasons I Haven’t Had Much Time to Spend on the Computer This Month.

1. I’ve been cleaning. K’s sister is coming for a visit. I don’t want her to mistake our dust bunnies for carpet.

2.I’ve been de-cluttering. My office looks like my life exploded in there.  We’re probably less than six months out from another move and I’m ready to get rid of accumulated stuff that serves no purpose except to take up valuable living space. I can’t believe I’m posting a picture of part of my mess on the internet, but maybe it will embarrass me enough to do something about it. Or scare people from ever entering my office.

3. I’ve been decorating. Mom and I made a trip to Hobby Lobby today and I’ve pulled some decor from the attic and we’ve been adding a little bit of this and a little bit of that here and there. It was time. I don’t feel like I’ve really had the chance to enjoy this house as much as I’ve wanted. It may not be my house forever but I’ll enjoy it while it’s mine.

4.I’ve been watching that dog. Don’t let the sweet face fool you. This dog is high maintenance. He had a very expensive stomach bug this weekend and has had to be closely monitored. Next week he’s having surgery to have his “special purpose” altered. We’re making progress on teaching him that the living room is not his bathroom, but it hasn’t been easy. I’m beginning to think it would have been less effort just to have another baby.  Speaking of which….

5.I’ve  been on the phone. I’ve had to make calls to get..ahem…prescriptions refilled, make appointments for children’s checkups, and cancel appointments that were no longer needed. Somehow in the midst of the calls I accidentally ended up talking to a Scientologist for 45 minutes. I don’t think either of us are the better for that conversation. I’ve had some fun phone calls, too, with friends who don’t live close enough and friends who live close but that I don’t get to see enough.

6.I’ve been cooking. We were eating out too much for awhile. Mostly it was due to poor planning on my part. I really enjoy cooking but you can’t wander into the kitchen at 5:15 and expect magical dinners to happen. I’ve been gathering recipes, making better grocery lists, and trying to make home-cooked meals the norm rather than the rare occurrence. Yes, this is the jambalaya from Super Bowl Sunday that you’ve already seen. It may seem unconventional, but I don’t usually photograph our meals.

7. I’ve been reading. That top book Love & War is for a book blog tour this week. I’ll be telling you more about it in the next couple of days. The bottom book is a fiction book that is keeping up me awake later than I’d planned to be reading.

8.I’ve been hanging out with this sweet face. His mom is one of my best friends. His regular sitter was sick today and I always have dibs when he needs a backup plan. Look at that smile. Would you be sitting at the computer if you had that waiting in your living room?

9.I’ve been loving on these people. We’ve been reading books, doing homework, playing games, doing projects together, watching TV. Sometimes I forget when I push them off for “one more minute” so I can finish something on the computer that I’m not guaranteed any more minutes with any of those beautiful faces. My mom’s not in that picture but we’ve enjoyed each other’s company whenever we’ve had the chance. I am so blessed to be a part of this family.

10.Although my Google Reader “to be read” list and my email inboxes are a mess, it’s hard to justify catching up here when I’m not caught up with my Bible reading plan or the Bible studies I’ve committed to do.

So that’s why I haven’t visited as much here this week. I’ve missed you and I certainly hope you’re not having fun with Alice!

As always, thanks, Meredith for being our hostess!

19 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

19 responses to “Ten Reasons I Haven’t Had Much Time to Spend on the Computer This Month

  1. Aw, so glad you linked up Whimz!

    I’d like to read Love and War. I like most things the Eldredges write. Remind me to tell you my John/Stasi story sometime.

    Your family is beautiful. And so is your home!

    Love you, and loved chatting with you last week.

  2. this just makes me want to list 10 reasons I can’t wait til march.

    seeing you is SO at the top of the list 🙂

  3. Fun post, Whimz. That is a great picture of your fam, btw!

    My sister-in-law (26 and getting married this summer) tells me a lot how she gets bored sometimes. I’ve TOTALLY forgotten what that’s even like. Can’t imagine it.

    Glad to hear from you again! 🙂

  4. carpoolqueen

    Love the pic of the fam, but what is that thing in the first picture? It seems vaguely familiar to me, but I can’t quite place it….

  5. tanya

    Loved the pictures! You forgot one of the 10 you have been doing…making more spiced tea for your friend who is too lazy to do it herself! Thanks again!

  6. I like this very much. You have a beautiful family.

  7. Just finished THE HELP last night.

    In.Cred.Eh.Bull.

  8. We moved 4 months ago and we have a room that looks exactly like your office…there’s literally a path to get to the closet where my wrapping paper is. You’re awfully brave to post the pic!

  9. Amy

    Great reminder to spend time on what’s really important!!

  10. I am reading “Love and War” also! I just found it while shopping and thought that I could always use a little reminder to be a better wifey, plus it actually has really helped my hubby and I understand each other. There were a couple of things I didn’t completely agree with, or maybe I just didn’t understand, but for the most part I love this book!

  11. your children look older.

    I THOUGHT WE HAD A DEAL.

  12. I have been wanting to get/read this book…Should I? Our marriage needs something……
    I follow both of their blogs too.
    That pot of yummness, just made me hungry.

  13. Loved this post simply because you made me realize I might be normal after all…

    My office is total chaos…
    My “older” dog thinks the dining room rug is her toilet, for she is too special to have to go outside anymore…
    I don’t cook as much as I should…
    and…
    thanks for keeping it real, my friend!

  14. 1) Your office doesn’t look near as bad as my craft room. I’ve been trying to clean up, too. I got a good chunk taken care of then lost my steam. How do I get it back?

    2) I have “The Help” on my kindle, but haven’t started it yet. Everyone talks about how addictive it is! I’m afraid my entire life would stop so I could read it all in one sitting. I’m just like that.

  15. Lurve you more’n Reese’s, and so thankful for your shopping help of late. Glad that my sweet NC friends won’t have to see a naked me. At least on our first night.

    xxxooo BTW, your mantle is darling.

  16. All your reasons are my reasons too!! (give or take a few details but really for the most part the same)

    I love that someone else took a picture of their “corner” and posted it for all the world to see.

    #11 on our list should be eating some those cookies….together. 🙂

  17. I am coming to see the house! It looks just the way it should – full of kids, books, stuff, dog . . . piles of living!

  18. Are you moving again? Or, did you mean 6months from your recent move…I can’t think straight 🙂

    You’ve been busy with all the right stuff!

  19. Aw, yes, we sure would have been friends in the 80’s! 🙂 I would love to have known then what I know now…

    Your list reminds me of soaked-up-life-the-way-it’s-meant-to-be-lived, dear Whimzie!

    If you are ever in Mer’s neck of the woods, it’s my neck of the woods, too–I’d love to meet you in person.

Leave a Reply

