It Just Doesn’t Seem As Much Like Noise When Bobby McFerrin’s Doing It

Remember that one little nerve I told you about that was the sole survivor of 2009? Well, it lost a lot of its friends due to the number of hours our family spent in a car last year. We traveled from Boston to Louisiana back to Boston and then back to Louisiana and then we made another trip to Kentucky and back for good measure in 2009. Many of those miles I logged as the only person in the vehicle who had two digits in my age. That’s a lot of time in a confined space with little people. Now, I love those little people and enjoy spending time with them…but they know where my buttons are and how to push them. (I almost said “how to ‘mash’ them.” That’s how we’d say it in South Carolina.) My youngest son knows that if he makes random sounds repetitively for a long enough period of time, my skin will eventually melt off my face, my eyeballs will implode, and I will beg him to stop. He takes great pleasure in this knowledge. On the other hand, it makes me want to jerk up my skirt and scream.

So a couple of nights ago I finally got around to watching the finale of “The Sing-Off” that we TiVo’d last year. Bobby McFerrin was a special guest. I LOVE Bobby McFerrin! He’s more than just “Don’t Worry, Be Happy,” you know. He’s truly an amazingly talented musician. Watch this:

As I watched I was grooving along at first, “oohing and ahhing” at Bobby’s talent, when all of a sudden I was overwhelmed with a great sense of empathy and compassion for Bobby McFerrin’s mom.  I wonder if she ever turned around in the car on a road trip and told Bobby that if he didn’t stop making that noise she was going to lose her ever-loving mind. Suddenly I had an overwhelming urge to tell Bobby McFerrin to hush for a minute so his mama could make just one complete thought in her tired head. And I may have felt a little guilty for not encouraging my son in what could very well turn into a talent that may serve him well one day. Nah, I’m just kidding about that last part. I’m still going to tell him that Mama’s nerve said to sit still and be quiet while she’s trying to get through town during rush hour. He’ll just have to practice his talent in his room.

15 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

15 responses to “It Just Doesn’t Seem As Much Like Noise When Bobby McFerrin’s Doing It

  1. carpoolqueen

    Yes and Amen.

  2. Haha. I never thought of it that way. 🙂

  3. I love Bobby McFerrin…talented doesn’t do him justice. You should see him in a workshop…un.be.lieve.able. He does classical fugues by Bach with perfect pitch.

    I didn’t watch all of Sing-Off so I’m glad for the link!

  4. I thought the same thing about Tim Hawkins – I sat there, laughing my head off thinking . . . could you imagine having to parent him?

  5. I know the random sound that screeches its jaggedy fingernails down the chalkboard of my spinal cord oh so well.

    And it is possible that I have jerked a knot in that random sound’s chain a time or two.

    So…Amen, Sister. Preach it.

  6. la la la la la la la boom la boom la boom la boom la boom la boom …

    They call it a song. I call it the-reason-mama’s-eye-twitches.

  7. AMEN.

    …I DID love Bobby on that show, though. His poor mama….

  8. This post made me smile…repetitive sounds and all.

  9. I like it. But, then again, I don’t have any boys.

  10. “Mashing buttons” makes me smile (among much other Southern lingo).

  11. Kay

    Ahh, the value of a little perspective! But you’re right, I think it’s best to have that perspective from a position where you’re looking back instead of head on into it. I mean Bobby’s mother is probably sitting pretty and proud right now, but that doesn’t mean you have to be proud of little monsters making ungodly noises in the back of your car while you’re trying to get them to grandmother’s as fast as possible.

    And I’ll over that mashing of buttons. I had a journalism professor at the University of Georgia who said he knew he wasn’t in California anymore when he got on an elevator and the little sorority girl asked him kindly to “mash 6, please.” Up until that moment I had no idea that mashing wasn’t a universal term.

  12. Oh, the constant drumming! But one day…one day maybe he’ll slap the bass for someone famous.

  13. That Bobby is amazing. I would love to hear how he was as a little boy. I have a couple of beat boxers in my house….not the B-boy level, but it makes for some interesting car drives. I’m actually usually the one that is told to “stop singing” while driving.

  14. Pingback: Is It Repeating Myself Or Showing Off My Superior Remembery Skills When I Re-Tell a Story? « Snoodlings

Leave a Reply

