Fiesta of Fabulous Forty-ness Day Six: St. Jude Snowman Bag

I love St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital. I used to dream that one day I would work there. We drive to Memphis to get to K’s hometown and I always get excited when we drive by St. Jude. It became an even more special place to me when my friend’s four-year-old son Will was diagnosed with a malignant embryonal rhabdomyosarcoma last fall. I have seen firsthand how St. Jude Hospital makes a difference in the lives of children with cancer. God’s Will, as we affectionately call him, and my dad were cancer-fighting buddies. They loved each other and had a special bond that was greater than the differences in their ages. Through Dad’s and Will’s cancer fight this year, our families have become forever bonded.

Will went back to St. Jude’s for a checkup a couple of months ago. His scans were clear and he is cancer-free! I am so thankful for the incredible team in Memphis and the amazing work they are doing to fight cancer.

So for the final birthday gift of the Fiesta of Fabulous Forty-ness, I want to give away this Liz Claiborne Snowman bag:

I ordered it from the St. Jude Hope Gift Book and the proceeds from its purchase go to St. Jude Hospital where all children are treated without regard to the family’s ability to pay.

To win this bag, all you have to do is leave a comment telling me two things: First, I want to know your “Have-to-Hear-It-or-It’s-Just-Not-Christmas Song.” Second, I want to know your “Have-to-Eat-It-or-It’s-Just-Not-Christmas Food.”

By the way, this isn’t a formal contest with very strict rules. I just wanted to give stuff away for my birthday. If you want to comment on any of the other Fiesta posts that you missed, feel free. I’ll randomly pick a winner for each birthday present some time after midnight tonight and I’ll tell you who won some ย time tomorrow. So let the conversation continue!

27 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

27 responses to “Fiesta of Fabulous Forty-ness Day Six: St. Jude Snowman Bag

  1. Cindy Moses

    Amy Grant…the first 2 Christmas Albums!

  2. Cindy Moses

    What time zone is your blog in? I’m really not up at 3:45 am… well, not yet. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Silent Night and Christmas Bread. The best, most calorie packed cream cheese filled deliciousness ever. I could never imagine Christmas without it.

  4. But I really like Hark the Herald Angels Sing, too.

  5. And one of my favorite people in the world works at St. Jude. And my grandparents have always been big supporters since my uncle died at age 12 of leukemia.
    Great cause.

  6. Pumpkin pie and Oh Holy Night.

    You have such a big heart. I might have to steal your idea next year when I turn the big 40.

    Prayers and blessings friend.

  7. What a cute bag. My song would have to be “White Christmas” by Bing. No other version will do. (As far as a hymn, I love “O Come All Ye Faithful” … my favorite!) And for food … I don’t know that I can pick one thing, but I love peanut brittle, and this is the time of the year to buy GOOD peanut brittle. My teeth don’t love me for it, but I can’t help it. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Happy almost 40. ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. Tender Tennessee Christmas (no matter where I am, though it makes me cry) AND I must have mama’s breakfast casserole on Cmas morn which involves importing some sausage!

  9. Erin King

    I have the hear the whole “To Wish You a Merry Christmas” CD by Harry Belafonte- and I HAVE to eat my mother’s homemade coffee cake!
    I hope we get to see you guys this year at Christmas!

  10. “Shine On Us” and white/dark chocolate peppermint bark.

    I’m so excited for Will’s family. Thank you for sharing him with us.

  11. Chris

    Cajun fried turkey … Holly’s dad makes the best every year.
    Little Drummer Boy by David Phelps…although wait until you hear the version we’re doing in the Christmas musical this year…I guarantee no one will ever forget it!
    (btw…don’t worry about sending me the bag …) ๐Ÿ™‚

  12. Deena

    I love homemade Christmas Candy – all kinds!

    For music – ever since our college days I’ve had to listen to the now worn out Truth Christmas cassette. I loved all the songs on the “Your Heart is Where Christmas is Found” album.

    Now one of my favorite Christmas songs is “Let There Be Light” by Point of Grace.

  13. Sandy M.

    What a wonderful outcome for Will & his family! I too thought at 1 time I would like to work there, but after touring a children’s hospital in Indy during 1 of my 1st job interviews, I realized it took very special nurses for it (& I wasn’t 1 of them.) I so admire those who do!
    My favorite song @ Christmas has always been O Come All Ye Faithful, & we sang it this AM! (Good to finally get out!)
    We change out our menu each year, so I don’t really have a favorite food other than sipping some flavored coffee with flavored holiday creamer while the kids open their gifts. Kind of hard to balance it with the camera though…
    Sure have enjoyed YOUR birthday!!! Happy # 40!!

  14. God’s Will. I love it!

    Sandi Patti’s The Gift Goes On. And ham.

  15. Christmas Food: Brad’s sister’s christmas cookies – they are so good I have been known to hide them so I don’t have to share ๐Ÿ™‚

  16. Rebecca Marchbanks

    Food- fudge and my SIL’s Christmas cookies
    Song- It’s Beginning to look a lot like Christmas

  17. My absolute favorite Christmas song is “Away in a Manger” and I love every version of it – a like it instrumental, country, etc. I love all Christmas music and keep Christmas CDs in my car throughout the year!

    My favorite Christmas food is also my favorite Thanksgiving food which is miniature pecan pies made with chocolate chips!

    I hope you have a very happy birthday! As a fellow 40er, I am celebrating with you and hoping you find some time to enjoy yourself. I am coming your way in a couple of weeks and maybe we can plan to get together and catch up!

    Love,
    Melody

    **Remember I do come out of the woodwork when there is a prize involved!

  18. I’m praying for Will and his family!

    My favorite Christmas song is Mary, Did You Know? My favorite food is my father in law’s German Chocolate Cake. I just had it at Thanksgiving, but will not have it again. We lost him unexpectedly this morning. This Christmas will absolutely not be the same. We will be grieving with you and your family.

  19. What fun giveaways my friend – I love how they were all so meaningful to you – great idea! ๐Ÿ™‚

  20. Joy Hanley

    I Love Trisha Yearwood Christmas album. I love the song It Wasn’t His Child…written by Skip Ewing! (Check it out if you’ve never listened to it. Reindeer Boogie is a favorite for Lauren and Andrew.)

    As far as the food goes…wouldn’t it be great to have some of Nanny’s Chicken Salad! I can almost taste it now! I would also LOVE to have some of her Peanut Butter balls and some sausage balls too! We try our hand at all the goodies each year, but,…well they just never seem to turn out just right. Happy Birthday btw…my cards are in the mail! ๐Ÿ™‚ Love you!

  21. I know I’m too late for the giveaway- I just wanted to share!
    My favorite carol is ‘Go Tell It On The Mountain’- must be my Southern Baptist raising. And my favorite Christmas food is all of it. I just love potlucks and party food.

  22. You’ve been so nice to give all of US presents this year for your birthday. ๐Ÿ™‚ I’ve really enjoyed reading your thoughts, memories, and other peoples’ comments. For me, it’s not Christmas until I hear “Carol of the Bells.” And it has to be snowing (I’m from Idaho, so it’s almost always snowing around Christmas). And my favorite christmas food… my family’s special hot chocolate recipe. I’m a big fan of any hot chocolate; flavored or plain, thick and creamy or thin, you name it, I love it!

  23. Hmmm, I think “One Small Child” really makes it feel magical and worshipful and ready for Christmas.

    As for food, my mama’s chicken and dressing, the recipe my grandma and great grandma used to make. We only eat it at Christmas because it’s so time consuming to make. But so worth it!

  24. “Emmanuel” performed by Michael W. Smith while I’m eating something peppermint/chocolate

  25. Oh Holy Night

    and my mom’s Golf Balls…basically chocolate peanut buttery candy goodness. ๐Ÿ™‚

  26. Feliz Navidad…. a must!

    Italian Meatball cookies….a must!

  27. Betty

    The Christmas Song by Nat King Cole and O Holy Night.
    Making Christmas cookies with my grandsons, we make quite a mess but they absolutely love it!!!
    Flour from one end of the kitchen to the other!

Leave a Reply

