Fiesta of Fabulous Forty-ness Day Two: Starbucks Gift Card

How soon we forget. This time last year I was braving the frozen tundra of Massachusetts where I actually had snow on my birthday for the first time in my life. Here in the South today, the high is only supposed to be 47 degrees Fahrenheit. That’s not even below freezing. We haven’t had our first frost of the year. And yet, I’m shivering. I’m sure it’s because we have a wet cold. I don’t even know what that means, but all my life that’s how I’ve heard Southerners justify why our cold is colder and our hot is hotter.

“Sure it gets to be the temperature of the sun in Las Vegas, but it’s a dry heat. When it’s 82 here, that’s the equivalent of a million degrees anywhere else because of the humidity.”

“They may have a foot of snow in Minnesota, but our forty-five degrees is wetter and just cuts right through you.”

My point is, whether I should be or not, I’m cold. But you know, I don’t necessarily mind the cold because I love soft, cuddly, blankets, fresh from the dryer. I love fuzzy socks (except when I’m sleeping). I love having an excuse to stay home by a fireplace. And I love hot beverages. I have the ingredients for spice tea and homemade hot chocolate on my grocery list and I think I’m even going to try to make homemade marshmallows this year.

I especially like sitting with a friend and enjoying each other’s company whilst sipping a steaming hot mug of goodness.ย If we were together for my birthday and I could plan an ideal day, I’d schedule some time for us to sit and have a long talk over chai latte from Starbucks. Or you could order whatever you wanted. Since I’m probably not going to be with most of you on my birthday for my ideal day, I thought I’d give you the opportunity to enjoy a visit with a friend at Starbucks on me. Today’s gift is a $10 Starbucks gift card. If you win, you have to promise that you’ll share your prize with a friend and enjoy a fun conversation in my honor. I can even give you topics to discuss if you’d like. Knowing most of you, you don’t need my help. ๐Ÿ˜‰

I was glad to see all of your sweet names in the comments yesterday. I know it sometimes feels funny to ย leave a comment to win a prize, but I really hope that if you’re reading you’ll jump in and say something. Sometimes I don’t know what to say in posts like this. “I hope I win” doesn’t sound gracious. “Prizes are fun” is a little lame. Why don’t I ask you a question so this conversation won’t be so one-sided? In the comments, I’d like to know what your favorite thing is to order at Starbucks. Again, the winner will be chosen randomly and announced on Monday, December 7.

I’m going to go make myself a chai!

36 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

36 responses to “Fiesta of Fabulous Forty-ness Day Two: Starbucks Gift Card

  1. Rebecca Marchbanks

    I wish we could sit and visit on your birthday!! I would order a venti peppermint mocha w/nonfat milk and no whip cream.

  2. Rebecca Marchbanks

    Oh wow! I was the 1st comment! I’m never the first comment!!! Woohoo for getting up at the crack of dawn today…

  3. If I just read the word “Starbucks”…i want to jump in my car..I am addicted!

    Sandy Toe

  4. I hardly ever go to St. Arbucks b/c it’s such a spendy place for my lattes. I tend to do the lesser known drive-throughs and tell myself that they’re just as amazing as Starbucks. But…it just isn’t so. If I were going to Starbucks and being good, I’d order a dbl tall, nonfat, 2 raw sugar latte. If I were being decadent, I’d order a cinnamon dolce latte or a peppermint white chocolate mocha. I’d either meet a friend that I haven’t seen this school year (I have my mind set on one) or I’d bring a latte to my friend Jean and enjoy it as my kids take guitar lessons at her house from her son.

    You don’t mind me writing a bunch in your comments, do you. ๐Ÿ™‚ xxxooo

  5. I love seasonal drinks at Starbucks like the Gingerbread latte or Pumpkin Spice latte, but when the red holiday cups disappear, I revert back to ordering chai lattes.

    I really, really, REALLY need to catch up with my friend Debbie over coffee so if I win your FFF giveaway, then I’m taking her with me!

    By the way, our high temp today is supposed to be 18degrees. But your 47 (wet) degrees probably feels just as cold.

  6. Homemade marshmallows? Really? You’re amazing!

    Hmmm…anything cinnamon makes me happy.

    Love you!

  7. Mmm….home-made marshmallows: something I’d love to try but I’m too chicken to try to make!

    Well, when I go to starbucks, I usually order whatever the dark roast is that day. Unless it’s fall, and then I order a PSL. Skim, but with whipped cream.

    I wish I was there for your b-day. That would be fun!

  8. Girl I just love you – I know we could be friends ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m cuddled up under my warm blanket with hot chocolate – I swear there’s nothing worse than cold rain. . .

    I LOVE the caramel apple cider at Starbucks – but if I need caffeine than I’ll get a peppermint mocha for sure ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. Deena

    I would love to sit and drink coffee and visit with you! I would order a white chocolate mocha with whipped cream.

  10. My favorite is the peppermint hot cocoa. Nothing tops drinking it with my sisters or hubby!

  11. I JUST bought a Bux gift card this morning as a gift for someone else and was thinking “I want one too” ๐Ÿ˜ฆ heehee…

    After I pulled out of the driveway I remembered I wanted to try the Vanilla Chai Latte you speak so highly of…but I LOVE Caramel Fraps with tons of whipped cream in the summer and White Choc. Mocha or Caramel Macchiato on cold days!

  12. 40? Really? You don’t look it….
    (and that’s not just a shameless way of kissing booty in hopes of winning. Seriously.)

    I behind a couple posts on your blog. I’ll get caught up real soon, but know that I’ve been thinking of you, praying for you, and enjoying seeing your face on Twitter again.

    A White Chocolate Mocha, for here, please. But I must try the Vanilla Chai Latte soon….

  13. it snowed here this morning….little flurries, but it still counts.

    and i heart some chai lattes (and mochas, and anything with that cinnamonny holiday flavor) …but i have a serious confession…

    i’ve never had anything from starbucks.

    i don’t really have a reason for that.

  14. Glad to see your words and face back around these parts, Whimz. I’ve missed you.

    Caramel Macchiato for me, please. Or a White Chocolate Mocha, if I’m feeling fiesty.

  15. mmmm. . . since I’m a straight up strong coffee kind of gal normally. . . when I do stray, I order the hot cinnamon apple cider. With Whip, of course

    I’ve never heard of homemade marshmellows.

  16. Mmmm… Caramel Apple Spice please (that is, since they stopped making the Salted Caramel Hot Chocolate… wahh…)

  17. I hope I know you well enough to not have to feel funny about commenting on a giveaway post since I comment on most of them anyway. There, that makes me feel better:)

    I am a caramel macchiato girl, but this time of year I love peppermint mochas. I had a frappuccino one the other day that cheered me up so muchI’ve been craving another one ever since. And to share one with a friend sounds perfect.

    And I think you’re right about the weather. OK’s cold feels so much colder than Colorado’s. It’s why I need to move to Colorado.

  18. It sounds as though you’d be a fun friend to take to Starbucks with me – I love the warm fuzzy blankets straight out of the dryer.

    When I go to Starbucks, I have to get a tall decaf caramel latte (only ONE pump caramel – any more makes it WAY too sweet for me!) with whip and a sprinkle of nutmeg. That is easier to type than it is to communicate. And it’s only decaf b/c I’m pregnant. But only two more weeks. Or less ๐Ÿ˜‰

    And I never win these things, so don’t worry about me. I’m really appreciating your blog the last couple of days. Thanks for letting me visit!

  19. Homemade marshmallows!?!?!?!?

    I love their ‘Signature’ hot chocolate. It’s like a smooth, hot melted Dove’s chocolate. Ugh, my mouth is watering!!!

  20. Sami

    caramel vanilla latte. yum. but if i’m at the tiny joe buck’s in marshall then it’s a non fat vanilla chai latte. it’s worth the drive over there, amy, promise. becca will back me up!!!

  21. I might have to drive over to go to Starbucks with you, if I win! I have never had a drink from there. Can you believe that? I’d have to go over to Monroe to go to one and wouldn’t drive over just for a coffee. When I’m in Monroe for another reason I don’t think to stop at Starbucks.

  22. Can I post for the second day in a row to try and shamelessly win a prize????

  23. I love having excuse to stay home and sit by the fire too!!

    Starbucks….I’d probably order a mocha…or a machiatto. It drives my husband when we go because I can never make up my mind!

  24. Cindy Moses

    Wisconsin…no snow, chilly (30), and dry. I think it’s time to start watching the snow fly. You know why it hasn’t started snowing yet? It’s because I bought my little Rugby’s snow boots at the beginning of November when there were plenty of sizes to choose from… I usually wait until there are none.

    I used to think that I didn’t like Starbucks and Caribou coffee…until one time when I went darker. ๐Ÿ™‚ Yum! I love the coffee straight up black and headed to the dark side. I also love dark chocolate. Now that it’s Christmastime, we bring back the homemade hot chocolate, fresh whipped cream, and a candy cane stuck in it. The candy cane melts into cocoa…the kids love it! I got a great recipe for soft molasses cookies this summer…the ingredients are on my shopping list.
    Celebrate the moments!

  25. If I am on a diet a skinny vanilla latte. If I am living it up a caramel macchiatto with whip. Yum.

  26. It’s cold and rainy here, too, so a warm cup of java sounds perfect… especially with a friend.
    Grande non-fat, no whip peppermint mocha is my favorite guilty pleasure.

  27. Sandy M.

    I would definitely order the Gingerbread latte… then the Peppermint Mocha latte… then the Eggnog latte. I guess you can tell I love the holiday season specialty drinks. And all would have to be decaf… to keep the hot flashes at bay. And I’d take Suz or NewEveryAm with me!

  28. Jilisa G

    My favorite drink from Starbucks is a Grande Peppermint Java Chip and when it is cold a Grande Peppermint Mocha (but with only 2 pumps mocha, I like to taste the peppermint a little more than the mocha).

    I follow Marla’s blog and am her friend on Facebook. I now have a new blog to follow. Thank you for your words!

  29. So here’s one my local Philly baristas made up: Hot Apple Pie….it’s apple cider with shots of vanilla, topped with whip cream…..SUPER yummy; and yes, it tastes like apple pie.

    I’m freezing my bunny cakes off in Philly…and they tell me it’s a “mild” winter. Well not for this S. California blood, No m’am. Just bring on the hot beverages and wool socks for me.

  30. Robin M.

    Mmmm… peppermint mocha latte ๐Ÿ™‚

  31. Joy

    Just had a Peppermint Mocha yesterday. I was out and about doing some Christmas shopping on a rainy NASTY afternoon and it really hit the spot! MMmmmm! Enjoy your last days in the 30’s!! ๐Ÿ™‚

  32. I would love to sit and chat with you any day!

    Blessings and prayers, my friend!

  33. Nica

    Nothing beats a pan of chai brewed by simmering it on the stove for a full 7 minutes to a robust, sweet, milky decadence.

    However, when in Rome. . . a white chocolate mocha with or without mint added (depending on the mood) and with whipped cream on top will do just fine! =)

  34. My favorite order varies with my mood. Can I give my top three?

    * White Chocolate Mocha — if I’m want something hot
    * Caramel Frappuccino — if I want something cold
    * Peppermint Mocha Frappuccino — If I want something completely decadent.

  35. For the sake of commenting, if not for winning, I love me a hot soy chai. Only I’m stupid dieting so I only get a shaken passion iced tea with two splendas.

  36. Erin King

    I love the hot apple cider- I used to get that in college when studying for an exam! I also love a hot Chai Tea with skim milk!

Leave a Reply

