Lessons I’m Learning in the Pothole

1. Even though sometimes I’m afraid that if I start crying I’ll never stop, so far, I’ve always stopped.

2. It is possible to go from crying so hard that I feel I may never stop to snort laughing in the span of a second.

3. Emotions are weird and sadness has many more layers than I ever realized (See #1 & #2).

4. Every time I’ve felt like I couldn’t live through one more minute of this, the next minute has come to find me still breathing.

5. Hearts can be broken and still work.

6. I’m stronger than I thought I was (See #4).

7. My family is stronger than I even knew.

8. Never underestimate the power of a good friend.

9. I have the best friends in the world.

10. I am greatly loved by my family, my friends, and my God (even when I don’t understand what He’s doing).

11. I don’t want to go through this anymore, but I know that somehow, some way, somewhere we’ll be okay eventually because….

12. God is in the pothole.

13. Potholes have a way of refocusing priorities. Stuff that seemed important really isn’t.

14. I can’t get 2 Corinthians 4:7-18 out of my head. Even though we aren’t being tortured because of our faith, I think I can still the truth of those verses to our present circumstances.

15. This list isn’t finished. I have a feeling I have more lessons to learn here.

We’re hoping that my dad will get to go home today. I’ve made a few new friends here over the last few weeks who may not know what’s going on with my dad. I’ve written about it here more times that I’ve wanted to. This post and this post are just two that tell about my dad’s cancer and will at least give you a little bit of background information. Thanks for your prayers. I appreciate them more than you know (See #9.).

22 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

22 responses to “Lessons I’m Learning in the Pothole

  1. Love you.

    I’m praying as often as God brings you and your family to mind. And you’ve been on my heart and mind so much, Amy.

  2. Focusing on the unseen, until our faith is sight. Yep. That’s the ticket for sure. And right and true. But it’s still hard. Way hard to do. So we’re all praying. Praying for Grace from the pothole. Love you.

  3. Sami

    There is a Caedmon’s Call song that has a line that says “it’s down in the valley that I’m surrounded by You.” I’ve always thought that was an amazing thought. Same thing with the potholes… He’s on all sides. Praying for you, Amy!

  4. Your list of lessons learned made me teary. I pray that your Daddy gets to go home today!

  5. I love #12!! So glad that God is with you in the midst of all this and that you can feel Him there. Praying for you, the snoodles, the hubby, and the parentals!!

    Praying Isaiah 33:2 for you
    “O LORD, be gracious to [A];
    [she] longs for you.
    Be [her] strength every morning,
    [her] salvation in time of distress.”
    Love ya, girl!

  6. carpoolqueen

    I love you.

  7. Rebecca Marchbanks

    Praying, my friend

  8. Prayers and big hugs…

  9. Deb

    Missing you.

    Prayed for your family.

    I’m in a bit of a pothole too.

    Climbing out.

    Slowly.

    Sweet dreams.

  10. Praying for you, pretty girl. And your Daddy too.

  11. Your on my heart and in my prayers.

    Love you much.

  12. Wow. I can’t believe Lemonade Gal was right on with what has been on my heart. I guess that’s how He works, though. He’s speaking it everywhere. May He continue to be your strength. Every. Single. Morning.

    Love, love.

  13. please know that if I don’t get around to commenting, emailing, whatever…that I’m thinking of you often, praying for you and for your family often and wishing I could just love on you in person, my friend.

    SnoodleBelle is alive and well. 😉

  14. Girl, everytime I come to your site God speaks to me! You are a vessel for Him and I thank God for that! Hang in there and know I am praying too.

  15. Praying for you and your Daddy.

  16. Shelly Ravenscraft Mullins

    Amy,
    Carolyn shared your blog with me. I am praying for your family as a whole. Thank you for sharing and showing me that those around me are reeling and questioning in the same ways that I am since my diagnosis. We’ve chosen to jump in the puddles that the potholes hold and laugh in the rain. My God is a great, big God and He holds me in in His hands….
    Take care,
    Shelly

  17. Sandy M.

    Just dropping by to tell you that I am praying for you & your family!!!

  18. Marie

    I am praying for you guys.

  19. thelumberjackswife

    This is my first time here, but I will keep your family in my prayers.

  20. Miss your pretty face and your words in Twitterdom and Blogland….but I understand.

    Still praying every time you come to mind.

  21. Still praying and thinking of you everyday.

Leave a Reply

