Fasten Your Seatbelts

I’m glad I made a Gladi/GratiTuesday list this week. I needed to start off my week on a thankful theme because it’s been a rough road ever since. I feel like I’ve run into, over, and through a lot of these characters:

I laugh to keep from screaming and pulling every single highlighted and lowlighted hair out of my head. My dad’s in the hospital. We spent the entire day, which stretched into the evening, waiting for answers and a doctor’s visit that never came.  We’re supposed to have a meeting this morning with the doctor and will hopefully get some answers. But last night, I went to bed exhausted, frustrated, anxious, scared, sad, and mad as fire.

Yet everything on my list from Tuesday is still true even on this cloudy, 100%-chance-of-rain Thursday. So as I get ready for a new day with new challenges, I’m holding fast to the truths that do not change. I’m resting in the assurance that God’s already been through this day so nothing about it will catch Him the least bit off guard.

Maybe you’re facing a rocky road (without the marshmallows) today, too. What do you say, we cowgirl/cowboy up, get ready for the fight of our lives, and then hide behind our Daddy and let him lead us into the battle? I’m saying a prayer for you and the potholes on your path today as click “publish” on this post. Feel free to offer one on my behalf as you read it.

14 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

14 responses to “Fasten Your Seatbelts

  1. Done! Praying that in this day The Lord is:

    1. Your light and salvation (Ps 27:1)

    2. Close to the broken hearted and crushed in spirit (Ps 34:18)

    And that throughout your day you will be supernaturally reminded that:

    1. The Lord is good–faithful forever (Ps 100:5)

    2. He is compassionate, gracious, and rich in love (ps 145:8)

    love you,

    kellie

  2. Jessie

    I just said a prayer for your Dad, you & your Mom. I also said a prayer that y’all will see the doctor very soon & get some answers. We’ve got that chance of rain today, too. I’m glad it doesn’t look like it’s going to hang around long. I’ve enjoyed the sunny days lately! I hope today turns out to be a better day than yesterday for y’all.

  3. Praying for you sweet friend. I have walked this path and it is NO fun. But, cling to the hope that you have in Christ. Sometimes that is all you can hold faith in. It won’t make your situation any easier, but it gives you the big picture of what is going on.

    I hope that made sense…

    And the geico commercial? Oh too funny.

  4. Definitely praying here too. I’m breaking my lurking fast to let you know that you and your family are on our hearts…

    And by the way, you inspired my entry yesterday, so your life and contributions – they’re personally encouraging to many more than you know or realize.

  5. Absolutely praying. You guys were so much on my heart and mind yesterday. I will pray all morning. Hold on to what is true today, A.

    Love you,
    Mer

  6. carpoolqueen

    Dear Thursday,

    Meet my Daddy.

    He’s bigger than you.

    Love,
    Me

  7. I will be praying for you, especially because I know/share the feeling . . . thanks for the reminder not to doubt in the dark what we know to be true in the light . . .

  8. It was no mistake that in God’s Word surrounding the verse that says “the peace of God, which surpasses all comprehension, will guard your hearts and minds” it talks about “REJOICE in the Lord always; again I will say, REJOICE!” and “in everything by prayer and supplication with THANKSGIVING let your requests be made known” Without those things is impossible to be at peace.

    As usual, you are so wise to recognize that and try to focus on the gladdies and on the One who is faithful…yesterday, today (in the potholes), and forever (in our unknown).

    Praying for you and your earthly daddy, Whimz!

  9. So sorry to hear that you are going through some struggles. You are a very good example of being grateful, despite opposition. It is sometimes so difficult to see beyond our sorrows and worries, but you seem to be able to do that at all times. You will be in my prayers today as well. I hope everything works out for you and your family.

  10. Know we’re all lifting you and your daddy and your family up before our great High Priest- the One who lives to intercede for us at the right hand of the Father.

    Love.

  11. Amy,

    My heart hurts for you…..Hoping you get some answers today…..Teresa

  12. I am, as always, with you in thought and prayer. Hugs, dear friend.

  13. Praying for you and your family … hope there has been some news today.

  14. Praying…

    Although different situations, we are having very similar feelings these days. I finally decided today, that I would just let God worry for me today…He is so much better at handling the stress than I am.

    Hang in there! You are loved.

Leave a Reply

