He’s Back

IMG_0480He came back. That’s his head peeking out the side of the bus door. See the orange between him and the boy with the cap and the red shirt? That’s his little brother who couldn’t wait until Big B was completely off the bus before he gave him the hug he’d been saving all weekend.

Yes, he’s back safe and sound. He was wearing the same shirt that he had on when he left…and the same socks….and the same underwear, Only the pants had changed. His towel and washcloth were bone dry and neatly folded and packed in his suitcase just as I’d placed them there, along with the empty garbage bag that I’d sent for his dirty clothes. His neck was covered with black streaks, leftover “war paint” from a game they’d played the night before.

He was dirty, but happy and full of memories of a “super fun” weekend. We haven’t heard many of his stories yet. He fell asleep the minute his leaf-covered backside hit the seat of the car. Over the course of the evening he gave us bits and  pieces of the adventures he had this weekend, but for the first time in the almost nine years that he’s been on this earth, he was actually looking forward to bedtime.

Last night he was back in the nest with the other baby birds. When I went in his room for one last look before I went to bed, I watched my sleeping boy and breathed a prayer of thanks to his Protector. And another deep heartfelt prayer of gratitude for the opportunity to love and even miss this sweet gift from God.

9 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

9 responses to “He’s Back

  1. In tears over here!! I love sweet boys and the special love between them and mama. And the baby brother witht he big hug — SWOON!! You are blessed, my friend! Dearly blessed!

  2. Hello! I don’t know how I found your blog, and I hope you don’t mind that I commented, but I love your writing (feel free to wander around my blog also)! You have a beautiful family, and you are a wonderful writer. I am always amazed that God allows us to take care of His precious children. It’s a scary responsibility at times, but then I realize that God is watching out for them. Thank you for writing about that.

  3. Deena

    So sweet! This brought tears to my eyes. I’m glad he had a great time, and I’m glad all the birdies are back in the nest.

  4. Ding-dangit, Whimzie. There you have me all crying again. And using my best English skilz.

    Lurved this.

    How cool, too, that not only was the Big B missed by you (naturally), but by Little B, too.

  5. It feels so strange when 1 of the birds is away, doesn’t it? I’m so glad that he had fun and is home….now I’m going to read your post that explains where he went 🙂

  6. When the babies go away for even a day, it makes us appreciate our time with them even more.

    This was so sweet. Glad the baby bird made it back to the nest safely and that Mommy bird survived letting him spread his wings just a little.

  7. Marie

    Glad he had a fun adventure…and you survived it as well!!! (Sky-diving?! Bungee jumping?! Makes my toes curl just thinking about it!)

  8. carpoolqueen

    And didn’t he look three years older and two inches taller when he came back? I’m always amazed at how much they grow right under my nose and I don’t even see it….

Leave a Reply

