Taste and See…

I love to watch my little girl eat dessert. If there really is such a thing as a sweet tooth and if it can be passed on like eye color, then she inherited hers from me. I inherited mine from my dad. I’m not sure who gave him his.

My girl doesn’t just eat her dessert. She relishes every single bite slowly and with great enthusiasm, especially if chocolate is involved. Many times I’ve looked across the table to see her little face turned toward the sky with her eyes closed and the spoon in her mouth. She’ll sigh with complete satisfaction and then dip her spoon in for another bite. A particularly good treat can take at least half an hour to consume. And you can be certain that she will leave nary a crumb or the slightest trace of any sweet stuff in her dish. If her mom would let her get away with licking her plate clean at a restaurant, she most assuredly would. Invariably when we’re watching her relish an after-dinner sweet, either my husband or I will remind the other of this scene from “What About Bob?”:

I would only be exaggerating slightly if I told you that watching that scene is a lot like watching my girl eat her dessert.

The last time we had dessert, this verse popped into my head:

“Oh, taste and see that the Lord is good. Blessed is the man who takes refuge in Him.” (Psalm 34:8)

The Message says it this way:

“Open your mouth and taste, open your eyes and see how good God is. Blessed are you who run to him.”

When I was looking for that verse, I ran across these verses several chapters over in Psalm 63:

“1 God—you’re my God! I can’t get enough of you!
I’ve worked up such hunger and thirst for God,
traveling across dry and weary deserts.

2-4 So here I am in the place of worship, eyes open,
drinking in your strength and glory.
In your generous love I am really living at last!
My lips brim praises like fountains.
I bless you every time I take a breath;
My arms wave like banners of praise to you.

5-8 I eat my fill of prime rib and gravy;
I smack my lips. It’s time to shout praises!
If I’m sleepless at midnight,
I spend the hours in grateful reflection.
Because you’ve always stood up for me,
I’m free to run and play.
I hold on to you for dear life,
and you hold me steady as a post.”

Have you ever noticed how many Bible verses compare our relationship to God with eating, especially in the Psalms?  Psalm 19:9-10 tells us that the rules of the Lord are sweeter than honey. Psalm 81:10 says that to open our mouths wide so the Lord can fill them. Look at Psalm 119:103:

“How sweet are your words to my taste, sweeter than honey to my mouth!”

I’ve been thinking this morning: What if I relished God’s Word like my daughter savors dessert? What if I craved time with Him as much as I crave an ice cold Coke or candy corn mixed with peanuts? Wouldn’t it be great if I consumed so much of Him that I became spiritually fat? The food from His lips are the only treats I can enjoy without worrying about overindulging. You just can’t get enough of the dessert that he offers. So bring it on. I’d like seconds, please. And instead of gobbling it down so that I can check off my “Spent Time with God” box before I rush on to the next activity, I want to take my time and enjoy every single morsel. What about you? Want some dessert?

11 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

11 responses to “Taste and See…

  1. carpoolqueen

    I remember a time when I could not wait to sit down with my Bible to see what the Lord had for me. I want to get back to that place.

  2. wow! perfect timing. i’m sharing tonight at church about praising God and some of this will fit right in. i’m gonna steal it. 🙂

    you’re a very gifted writer and it’s encouraging to read your blog and be challenged.

  3. A beautiful reminder to crave his word. Thank you!

  4. Mmmm… MMMM…. MMMMM!!!!!

    Thanks for that reminder. I was kind of on the same wave last night, setting my sights on remembering that the Lord is not mostly mad or disappointed, but is MOVED at my one glance His way. It motivates me to go to Him- even if I just have a minute- just like knowing how sweet His words are, how the inner workings of His heart are revealed in ways that satisfy a deep and hungry place in our heart.

    Thanks again, friend. When I dig into my Bela Fresca banana pudding cheesecake on Tuesday night (wanna come?), I’ll think of your words.

  5. Yes and Amen!

    Oh see, I told you I belonged to your family…my sweet tooth is insanely large and relentless!!

    Such truth in what you said…I want so desperately to break of out having a “quiet time” and by that, I mean, like you said, some formal/half-hearted attempt at spending time w/ God so I can mark it off…I want to eat Him up!!! I don’t want to toss Him around on the plate like peas so that it LOOKS as if I’ve eaten something…

    Thank you for sharing this, my friend!

  6. I love that! “Spiritually fat.” Now that’s a fat I can get behind. A fat I downright want in my life!

  7. beautiful, beautiful, BEAUTIFUL word picture.

    another reason to love ya.

  8. Chris

    Love that movie….”Baby steps….doing the work” (Quite a few “spiritual” metaphors in this one).
    My daughter Caroline has gotten my sweet tooth, it seems. And there’s nothing better than an ICE cold coke just before freezing temperature (short cokes from Herby K’s). Jolt Cola probably doesn’t compare much to that! (what a lame excuse for a Red Bull that would be today)

Leave a Reply

