I Didn’t Want You to Miss This

My friend Kellie (the one who wrote one of the posts I sent you to read) left this comment on the “Who Were You Born to Be?” post and I knew a lot of you probably wouldn’t see it. I told her that I wanted to copy and paste it here because I loved what she had to say and wanted you to see it in case you missed it.

Honestly, I read this post earlier and it has taken me all afternoon to think on it…
Mostly, because my dream was to be a dancer/performer…and I had to let go of that dream.
And I know that’s not what this post is really about, but sometimes (specifically, some certain-times-of-the-month times) I still ache from the loss of that dream.
But the cool thing is that that wasn’t God’s dream for me.
I dreamed of stardom, beauty, and grace. My dream was to be center-stage.
God’s dream for my life? One that is robust, and full, multi-faceted. It certainly wouldn’t have fit into my tiny, limited, romantic notion of what I thought I wanted my life to look like and be.
The life I live is His dream for me. And, now I wouldn’t have it any other way. Being a wife, mom, friend, and teacher is far more fitting than the slim picture I had envisioned for my life. Sometimes I still dream that pink, tulle-y, self-focused dream and I forget that God has called me to a deep and filling life. A humble life that isn’t supposed to hold ME at center-stage.
His dream for me is worth earthly dreams set aside.
The Lord reminded me of His call to this humble service this morning when I flipped to 1 Cor 1:26-31.

(This is the passage she’s talking about: 26Brothers, think of what you were when you were called. Not many of you were wise by human standards; not many were influential; not many were of noble birth. 27But God chose the foolish things of the world to shame the wise; God chose the weak things of the world to shame the strong. 28He chose the lowly things of this world and the despised things—and the things that are not—to nullify the things that are, 29so that no one may boast before him. 30It is because of him that you are in Christ Jesus, who has become for us wisdom from God—that is, our righteousness, holiness and redemption. 31Therefore, as it is written: “Let him who boasts boast in the Lord.”)

Yes, I agree. There are times in life when God calls us to stop “doing,” especially when the “doing” isn’t the “best” for us. But often the “do/be” is one and the same: to sit with our faces lifted to Him, watching, waiting, listening for Him to tell us who we are, and who He purposes us to become.
And the good news? As long as we keep our eyes focused on the Lord, there are no worries about what we want to be when we grow up, cuz we’ll always be growing in Him.
Until one day…we will be right where we want to be, doing exactly what we were made to do, gazing face-to-face with the Person we want to see…
Dream fulfilled.
Love you.

Love you, too, Kellie!  Thanks for sharing your heart.

By the way, I have a friend who is the mother of a tweenaged girl. She asked me how to find a blog written by a mother with a tweenaged girl to maybe gain some insight and ideas. I asked the Tweeps and they suggested Vicki Courtney’s blog and http://www.RaisingFive.com. I also know that at least three of my Tweeps, Gretchen (www.jewelsinmycrownsomeday.blogspot.com) Lisa (www.lisaslittlesliceoflife.blogspot.com), and HisGirlAmber (www.hisgirlamber.com) have tweenagers. Do any of you know of any other good blogs my friend should read? Do any of you have tweenagers that I didn’t mention?

One more thing before I go….Marla Taviano is giving away a book about marriage that sounds like a good read. All you have to do is swing by and tell her your husband’s favorite food/restaurant and movie. She’s not stalking your husband. I think she’s just making conversation and trying not to get a hundred comments that say, “I would like to win this book.”

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “I Didn’t Want You to Miss This

  1. I love that comment. Kellie is a wise woman!

  2. Beautiful words of wisdom…

  3. Hello! I followed you over here from New Every Morning’s blog. I love this post. What an encouragement!

  4. You know…I just hijacked so long that I am making this a post. Love you. She’s exactly right. Aren’t we blessed?

  5. Isn’t Kellie so wise? I just love her!

  6. LOVE what Kellie wrote. What God has done in my life is WAY better than what I dreamed. And thankfully involves a different husband than the boy I begged God to let me marry in high school. 🙂

    Speaking of husbands–ha! Stalking your husbands! I never thought of it like that. No, I actually just wanted to get us wives thinking about what our husbands like. I mostly just think about what I (me, me, me!) like.

  7. I know I’m late to the party but still here nonetheless….

    I think this is a post I will come back and read several times to get it to soak to my bones….

  8. NewEveryAM has tweenagers…. my sweet granddaughters!

Leave a Reply

