10 on the 10th: Survival Playlist

one

Music is one of my love languages. As much as I love to read, a good book rarely has as great an effect on me as a powerful song. For this month’s 10 on the 10th (sponsored by the wonderful Meredith at Life at 7000 Feet), I decided to share with you ten songs that are currently bringing solace to my soul. They are in no particular order, because as you know, I don’t like to show favoritism. I’ve included links to videos or sound clips of the songs in case you’re unfamiliar with any of them. Unfortunately music videos aren’t what they were back in the day, so you might want to just close your eyes and listen to the song.

1. “You Are Still Holy” by Kim Hill

(To listen, scroll down just a little way in the right hand column to the little rectangle with the bee in it.)

A while back, Meredith and I had a phone conversation about music and I shared with her how much I love it when a friend recommends a song because he or she knows I will enjoy it. (Yes, I listened to Casey Kasem’s long distance dedications every weekend of my adolescence and usually cried and/or was certain that I could have found a song that fit the situation much more accurately. In college, I reunited with a boyfriend after he dedicated Gloria Estefan’s “Anything for You” to me on B 98.5. We broke up again a couple of weeks later. He should have dedicated another song.)

I’ve lost my place. Kim Hill. Okay. Anyway, Meredith tweeted me this song. I was very touched not only because the song fits my life so perfectly but because she thought of me. This song fits really well with the post I wrote last week about “Agnus Dei.” I am continuing to learn that my willingness to give God glory and declare Him holy do not make Him so, any more than my refusal to praise Him makes Him less holy. God is holy and sovereign and righteous no matter what my response to Him is. I have more to say on this subject, but I’ll stop because this is only the first song on a list of ten. So moving along….

2. “He Is” by Mark Schultz

If you click on the title, you’ll hear Mark talking about how he wrote the song. To hear the song in its entirety, click here and then click on the triangle arrow beside the song title “He Is.”  This song is practically cousins with “You Are Still Holy.”  He is….He was….He always will be.

3. “You’re Not Shaken” by Phil Stacey

Even when I am shaken, He is not.

4. “I Am God” by Kirk Franklin & Toby Mac

Most of the songs on this list are quiet and subdued. This one is not. It speaks to my inner rocker chick and it makes me happy. I’m pretty sure Kirk was eavesdropping on a conversation God and I have had a few times. I don’t mind. He turned it into a great song. Yet another reminder that God is God (Anyone else seeing a theme develop here?)…and I am not, which reminds me of a Steven Curtis Chapman song that would fit on this list.

5. “I Will Rise” by Chris Tomlin

I have two links for this song. One is the actual song and one is Chris talking about the song. This song reminds me that my dad is in a win-win situation. He will either be healed completely on this earth or he will go to be with Jesus in heaven. It also reminds me that this world is not my home. This is just a foretaste of glory divine. The true Narnia is waiting and it is going to blow our minds.

6. “Lord, I Run to You” by Tommy Walker

(Click on the song title “Lord, I Run to You.” You do not have to create an account to listen.)

My church in Hawaii sang Tommy Walker songs almost every week. I think one of the reasons I’m such a fan of Tommy’s music is that it takes me back to New Hope Christian Fellowship. I left part of my heart there.

This song in particular is special to me, even though I don’t remember singing it at New Hope. When he gets to this part? “I lift my eyes up to the mountains. Where does my help come from? It comes from You, Lord. You are the Maker of earth and heaven. And there is nothing that’s too hard for You”………Yes, ma’am. That will preach.

7. “Help Me Believe” by Kirk Franklin

Last week Marla Taviano wrote a blog post about believing bigger.  I struggled a little with that post. I believe God can, I just don’t always believe God will. I emailed Marla and she graciously took the time to write back and share some thoughts that encouraged me. Later that same day, I heard this song and was encouraged to know that others, including Kirk Franklin, struggle in this area, too.

I never really understood that verse, “I believe; help my unbelief!” when I was younger. I do now.

8. “How He Loves” by David Crowder Band

This song wrecks me. The word imagery is beautiful. The message shakes me to my core. I honestly believe that if we ever truly understood how much He really does love us, our lives would be completely and radically different.

9. “On the Road to Beautiful” by Charlie Hall

My friend Shelby sent me this song shortly after my dad was diagnosed with cancer in December. It helps to remind me that God is purposeful and not random. He will bring beauty from the ashes.

10. “BrokenHallelujah” by Mandisa

My sweet college friend “Mich” shared this song with me. It’s beautiful. Sometimes a broken hallelujah is all we have to offer, but I believe it is still a sweet sound to our Father.

I’m already at 10? How in the world did that happen? I didn’t get to list “Held” by Natalie Grant, “Yours” by Steven Curtis Chapman, “Never Let Go” by David Crowder Band…..I could keep listing songs. I’m so thankful for music and its ability to soothe and even heal.

Do you have a “go to” song that speaks deeply to you? One that makes you happy no matter what’s going on in your life? One that brings you into the throne room of God? One that became special during a happy or sad time in your life? I’d love to hear your list!

16 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

16 responses to “10 on the 10th: Survival Playlist

  1. Girl, you know I could fill up this entire box with songs!!!

    I don’t know some of these you mentioned so I can’t wait to go listen…

    You know I can’t live w/o my BFF Trav’s music!!

  2. Great list. I don’t know many of these songs. I’ll be checking them out, though!

  3. Music speaks to me in ways that nothing else can, books included (I can’t believe I just wrote that, but it’s true). I think iTunes is the best invention of my lifetime simply because I have access to all this great music from today and from the past. It’s awesome. Anytime someone recommends a song or I hear a good one on the radio I can find it almost immediately, I love it!

    Now I’m kind of surprised that you’re a closet rocker, but I am really glad because I am too. TobiMac is one of my favorites to work out or drive fast to (and he gives an incredible live performance), and Kirk Franklin is my hubby’s hero. We saw him in concert 10 years ago and it was awesome.

    “How He Loves” is a new favorite of mine. I need the reminder so often.

    I adore Marla and that post was good for me, esp. considering my blog title. Again, I need the reminder every. single. day.

  4. Revelation Song by Kari Jobe….gets me every.single.time. Chills, goosebumps, tears, joy….I run through every possible emotion during that song.

    All That I Can Say by David Crowder Band – Just.WOW. It’s the first song that plays on Angie Smith’s (Todd Smith of Selah’s wife) blog Bring The Rain. http://audreycaroline.blogspot.com/ Through some of your really tough times (AND mine) I’ve thought of this song. A lot.

    Music ALWAYS speaks to my soul. God meant it to be so, I think. That’s why the Psalms are full of David’s songs. They can speak emotions when we don’t have the words to say….

    Good stuff, friend. Good stuff.

  5. I love “He Will Rise.” I cry every time I hear it.

  6. Kim

    Oh…what a great…great…list! What a cool idea to do for 10 on the tenth.

  7. Love your list…

    My family lives and breathes music. Sometimes when you don’t know how to pray, singing a song of praise is the next best thing.

  8. Killer list. I love love love “I Will Rise.” Oh, I have some songs that would fit my own list …. good thoughts to ponder.

  9. GREAT list…I’ve gotta look some of those songs up, Amy!

    I listened to I Will Rise all summer long. The first time I listened to it after my dad died, I couldn’t stop crying. It’s powerful.

    I have one more suggestion for you. It’s another one I listened to all summer. It’s by Jill Phillips–I Am. You’ll like it.

  10. I can’t pick just one…..it would be like picking a favorite candy or pizza topping or chinese take out dish(I know there were way too many or’s in that sentence”)…it depends on my mood, or what my love language is at that moment.

    I do love Kirk Franklin, David Crowder Band….a little Neil Diamond. I love oldies!

  11. One more for you.

    I Know by Darrell Evans.

  12. Funny! I just opened up your blog to read this and your comment came through on my blog! We’re trackin’ today, sistah!

    I’ll be listening to all of these tomorrow… when my husband isn’t sitting next to me mocking me for getting all weepy at the sweet songs.

    he does that, you know.

    one of his few flaws. 😉

  13. I just love, love, love this post. Music really moves me and speaks to my soul as well. I wish it sounded pretty coming out of mouth (ha!ha!) I can’t wait to go and listen to all of these songs. Thank you so very much for sharing.

  14. Love this list.

    Kari Jobe’s entire album has me running the gammet with Jesus these days.

  15. I only know half of this list or so, so thank you for sharing! Our youth’s “anthem” this year is “How He Loves”. Wrecks me, too. Especially to see those young, earnest faces tipped toward heaven and giving praise.

    Good stuff.

  16. You introduced me to some new music! Thanks!! My go to song for the last few months has been “You are Good” Nicole Nordeman. Love it! 🙂
    Praying for you guys this weekend & especially on Monday!
    R

Leave a Reply

