Recipes and other Random Ramblings

Several of you wanted to know more about Aunt Sus’s special egg toast recipe. Instead of waiting to call her at dawn’s early light tomorrow morning, I decided to rely on my old standby Google to get the recipe for you. Although I used the name CPQ referred to in the comments when I searched, let’s not call it that name here. In fact, let’s never speak of the Teletubbies here, okay? Or Boobah, for that matter. Frankly, Boobah freaks me all the way out. Anyway, let’s call it Sunny Side Up Egg-cellent Toast or Sunshine Toast for short. You can find the recipe by clicking here.  My kids love it. It cracks them up (get it? CRACKS and it has EGGS? never mind.) that the egg is actually in the middle of the toast. What can I say? We’re easily amused here.

I had planned on making this granola recipe that I found on New Every Morning, but I forgot the coconut! I even stood and looked at the coconut in the grocery store today and pondered buying it but thought, “No, I don’t need coconut.” I hate it when my subconscious mind doesn’t speak loudly enough for me to hear her! So coconut is at the top of my list for next time.

I have several things I wanted to tell you, but to be honest, this back-to-school routine is exhausting. We’ve been on time for school two days in a row now and the pressure to continue that trend is insane.  I’m trying to do as much as I can before I go to bed so that I don’t have to rush around like crazy in the mornings.

I’m eager to get our new routines established. I’ve never been a very scheduled person, but for some reason I’m really craving order and structure right now. I think I’m just sick of living in a state of utter chaos all the time. I need to figure out the best way to keep track of who is supposed to be doing what and where. I’ve heard talk of something called a “calendar.” Maybe that would be useful. For instance one child has PE on Monday but the other two have PE on Fridays. I need to make sure the children who have PE are wearing tennis shoes that day. One child is the leader of her kindergarten class on Wednesday and the other is the leader on Friday. Being leader apparently is an honor for me as well since I get to be responsible for a snack, a book, and a special family picture to share with the class. I don’t have a very good handle on where all the pictures are right this very minute so I may just draw a picture of  our family. Think the little Snoodles will notice?

While I’m off to look for crayons so I can get to work on a quick family portrait, I’ll leave you with a video of a real artist. You’ve probably already seen this. I’m not exactly hip on what all the cool kids are watching these days. I just saw it for the first time yesterday and I think it’s absolutely amazing. Take a look for yourself and then feel free to go on about your day:

14 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

14 responses to “Recipes and other Random Ramblings

  1. The crayons and pictures are with your spoons.

    It’s a conspiracy. I’m sure of it.

    And I saw that eggcellent wonder of toast enhancement the other day on a cooking show, and I thought…”Wow. Those are some impressive folks who can do that with eggs and bread.”

    There ya go. You and Sus….impressive. You’re welcome.

  2. Calendar? What do you mean? I’ve never heard of such a thing . . . haha

  3. I hope you get into a routine. I could not live without my calendar . . .try it . . . you’ll love it! I have one friend who lays her children’s clothes out on Sunday for the whole week. . . ironed and everything. It helps take the pressure off the morning routine.

  4. Ah. Calendar. Interesting artifact, that calendar thing.

    And I want to make that granola too! But, that would require me to actually plan meals and a grocery list. Maybe someday…

  5. Hey, if you can’t find the crayons, pull a picture off the ol’ blog. See, I’m helpful!

    I’m new to the calendar thing. I got this one: https://www.familyorganizer.com/product.aspx?id=72 Hubby commented, “When did you go back to pen and paper.” Uh, that would be when my computer was stolen and I lost all important info — including photos and addresses!

  6. I have always called that particular dish “eggs in a well”– although I have a friend who puts the round piece back on top and calls it a “top hat.” Funny!

    Also, I’ve never made them in the oven although that does sound somewhat simpler. I make them in a skillet and it only takes a couple of minutes. But alas, I am usually cooking for one so I imagine the oven is a better tool with which to feed multiple little mouths at once.

    Good luck with your routine! I try to make my lunch at night. TRY. I am great at starting routines and terrible at keeping them going (kinda like blogging… or exercising… or relationships…). I hope you find something that works for you!!! Have you ever seen http://lunchinabox.net/?

  7. I’m craving order and structure in a bad way, but having very little success actually implementing anything of the sort. Ugh! Why is it so hard?

  8. carpoolqueen

    What’s ironing? I just throw stuff in the dryer for 10 minutes, and VOILA.

    Remind me to send you my breakfast casserole recipe, too. You can make it on Sunday afternoon and just nuke individual pieces in the microwave in the mornings.

    Breakfast. In. Seconds.

    (And if you’re running late, which I’m sure will never happen, you can wrap up the little squares in a napkin and they can eat it in the car. If you let them do that.)

  9. hi there! you visited my blog SPEAKING FROM THE CRIB from sandy toes and i wanted to thank you for having a look! stop back soon and thanks again!

  10. We call that lurvely concoction “egg in a hole” at our house, since we are infinitely creative linguists. I’ve forgotten to make that lately. Need to add it back into the repetoire. Thanks for the reminder.

    Calendar/schmalendar. It IS nice that they’re honoring parents like that during the first week of school. Because we all know who does the homework in kindergarten. 😉

    Praying smooth sailing for the rest of your week. And for coconut. Remember the coconut, Whimz. You’re welcome.

  11. You don’t have to have coconut… remember, it is a very flexible recipe! 🙂

  12. need to try the toast thing..sho’nuff!! my kids hardly know of non-sweet breakfast foods…I should enlighten them…

    That video blew me away!!! I saw it on FB and didn’t take the time to look at it…but KNEW if my SnoodleFriend linked it, it’d be worth a look-see…WOW.

    Good with that “cal-en-dar” thingy…is that how you say it? 😉

Leave a Reply

