Why Can’t We All Just Live in the Sunroom?!

Ladies and gentlemen (yes, plural gentlemen….I have two guy friends from high school who read my blog. Hey, Chris and Richard!), we have another finished room! By finished, I don’t mean that I actually have anything hanging on the walls in that room just yet, but it’s the closest thing to finished we’ve seen since the kids rooms were established over a week ago.

We set the kids’ rooms up first in the hopes that this would discourage them from pilfering through the boxes I was trying to unpack. I’m trying to get rid of some of the excess stuff we keep dragging from move to move. I have a few boxes of items that I would like to unload to some unsuspecting sucker offer to someone who would find a better use for them. Apparently, my children think that holding on to every Happy Meal toy they’ve ever received is vital to their survival. Whenever I step on one of those plastic pieces of trash I’m reminded of the chemicals in a box my kids have ingested over the last few years, so the newest sporting event around our home has been the Fast Food Junk Sneak. They sneak toys out of the Give Away boxes, I sneak them back to the boxes. Why don’t you just take the Give Away boxes to Goodwill, Whimz? Why, that would take the fun out of our days, Reader!

Anyway, I was trying to tell you that the sunroom is almost completely finished.  For some reason, the first time I saw that room, I knew that I wanted painter’s dropcloth curtains. I had seen them on several blogs like A Familiar Path and The Lettered Cottage.  I’ve since seen them several other places and for some reason I just knew that’s what I needed in our sunroom. It seemed like a perfect project for me because all you have to do is put up some rods and clip those babies to it. Right?

Not really. Those babies have to be hemmed…and ironed. Both of which require works that do not fall under any of my spiritual gifts.

This might be a good time to tell you I’m not gifted in the arts of the needle. Really, I’m not all that crafty. Not only am I not “skilled in or marked by underhandedness, deviousness, or deception,” but I have no inner Martha Stewart. When I took home ec in high school one of the football players in my class had to finish my shark pillow so that I wouldn’t fail. I love to cook and bake, but I’m not good at anything that requires any sewing. Remind me to tell you about the time I took the quilting class when I was pregnant. It’s a sad story.

Luckily, my mother-in-law is here this week.  Now that’s  a sentence you don’t hear women say everyday, but my mother-in-law has kept me from the crazy farm this week! This is the same Kentucky mother-in-law who gave us the 10 Similes a couple of months ago. In the spirit of truth, I need to tell you that she does not actually say #4 or #6. My husband was sure he’d heard her say those, but she informed us this week that in fact, she has not. The other night she did say that supper was so good she could push little chickens in the river so we’ll replace Cooter Brown with that one. I’ll have to listen closely to find a replacement for Julius Caesar.

Anyway, my mother-in-law is an excellent seamstress, so besides hemming the Princess Diva’s ballet skirt and school uniform and repairing the pants that one of the boys split during Sunday school (I’ve been asked not to say which boy did that), she also hemmed and ironed the dropcloths.  K hung the rods and the dropcloths and I must say, they are a thing of beauty. K and I put the rug down yesterday and finally another room looks like a place people would actually like to be.  I love it when a picture in my head matches the reality. Sometimes I get an idea and it just doesn’t turn out like I’d planned. This time everything came together like I’d hoped it would.

I would take a picture so that you could see for yourself, but I can’t find the camera. It must be with the still missing spoons.

As you can see, we still have work to do, so I’ll check back with you later.

13 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

13 responses to “Why Can’t We All Just Live in the Sunroom?!

  1. carpoolqueen

    I envy your craftiness and your ironing mother-in-law. I think my next hobby will be sewing.

    You know.

    Because I have all those girls for whom to sew cute pinafores and pajamas.

    Eesh.

  2. seriously? you say such a thing and then have no photographic evidence?? hmph.

    glad you’re making progress…there’s nothing like a completed room!

    Now go find that camera…your phone has one, does it not??!!

  3. Nice work! I’d love to see them…when you find the camera. No worries, though. We still haven’t found half our stuff.

  4. So I have Drop Cloth Drapes too! 🙂 but I did NOT sew or hem anything. Thank goodness for high ceilings!

  5. OH the memories of moving!
    sandy toe

  6. Renae

    My mom does say “drunk as cooter brown” and it always makes my husband laugh….she also likes to say, “poor as ‘ole joe’s turkey”…whatever that means! 🙂

  7. I won’t believe it until I see it! You cannot have one room complete! Glad you are making progress. My goal is 2 cars in the garage by the weekend. I don’t think I’ll make it, but one must have goals — right?!?

    On, and I cannot wait to hear of the quilt class. I took one when I was preggers with sister.

  8. Amy

    The drop cloths are on my radar, too!! Can’t wait to see how they look. Glad to have the heads up that they require hemming.

  9. Amy

    Ok, I had to return to leave my contributions to your simile list.

    1. Stronger than goat’s breath. (Dad frequently uses this one.)
    2. Hot as balls. (College roomie who may be embarrassed that I quoted her on this one, but after CPQ’s grandma, I thought it was ok to use.)
    3. Slow as Christmas. (Same roomie who I’m certain must still be using this expression.)

  10. Ahem…. pictures?!

    So glad things are beginning to settle =)

  11. Glad things are moving along…

    Thanks for the sweet comment you left the other day. Next time my sister and I watch “Anne” or play beauty shop, you are invited!!! 🙂

  12. I’m happy for you! One more room down. I think it’s perfectly charming to have all meals and activities in the sunroom. Makes a house feel more homey.

    I snort giggled about the underhandedness part.

  13. We share the same un-Spiritual Gifts.

    I don’t iron. Unless it is 15 minutes before church on Sunday and the elephant sized crease down the front of the husband’s shirt won’t come out in the dryer.

    And I don’t sew.

    Because. Well. It’s just better for humanity in general that way.

    Pictures, please. Thanky very mucho.

Leave a Reply

