Ecclesiastes 3:4

Today…

Today’s a special day for my family. Friends and loved ones will gather together to celebrate my husband’s success.  We’ve been planning this day for quite some time, checking our lists to make sure that every detail is just right.  Loved ones have traveled great distances to be here to support us and to celebrate with us. We’ll eat good food and enjoy being together.  Today, people will stand and say nice things about my husband and we’ll all do everything we can to make sure he knows how much we love him.

Six hours away, my friend is gathering with her friends and loved ones to mourn her father’s death. They’re making lists to plan a goodbye event, checking to be sure that every detail is just right. In a few days, people will stand and say nice things about her dad.  Loved ones will travel great distances to be there to support her family and to grieve with them.  Friends are  already bringing in food that her family may eat but probably won’t taste.  We, her friends, will do everything we can to make sure she knows how much we love her and support her during this difficult time.

And even though it seems like the world should stop to rejoice with my family and mourn with hers, today people will go to work, to the grocery store, and to baseball games as if nothing out of the ordinary is happening. Neither of our days will  make even the local news tonight.

Prayers of thanksgiving and gratitude.

Prayers for peace and strength to endure difficult days.

Prayers will be offered to a Father Who loves both of us and will be with both of us today.

Today…

14 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

14 responses to “Ecclesiastes 3:4

  1. Deena

    Wow! Amy this is beautiful!

    How nice for your family! Congratulations to your husband!

    We’re also praying for Meredith. My heart feels so sad for her today.

  2. Renae

    Well said…God bless you both!

  3. Perfectly written. Congratulations to you and your family as you celebrate your husband’s achievement! And, like you, Mer is heavy on my mind today. (Do you have her address? I would love to send her a card in the mail…)

  4. I always wondered how people could go to work and drive cars when my mom died. Didn’t compute for for me.

    I can’t add anything to what you’ve written because it would sound platitudy, and I can’t abide that. Not when I see your words so beautifully written. And they are right.

    God bless you, Whimz.

  5. What a kind thoughtful way to write today…I am both rejoicing and mourning with both of you, my friends today.

    Can’t wait to hear how K’s special day goes (ha, he gets to be “Special K”!)…

  6. beautifully, wonderfully, tremendously well said. can only add an amen.

  7. This is beautiful! I didn’t know about Mer’s dad. Thanks for this!!!!

  8. What a poignant post. You described it perfectly.

  9. You have such a lovely way with words.

  10. Beautifully said, my friend.

  11. carpoolqueen

    Thank you for capturing what was in my heart.

  12. this is beautiful! congrats to your husband and I am praying for her family.

  13. Everyone else has already told you how beautiful your words are. But I can’t think of another word to do it justice.

    Beautiful. Just beautiful.

    My heart is grieving with Mer. And rejoicing with you.

  14. Ditto to what everyone else said…

    Burdened, yet rejoicing.

Leave a Reply

