Daily Archives: August 7, 2009

That’s a Major Appliance! That’s Not a Name!

John Hughes died? Why didn’t any of you call to tell me? The only reason I even know about it now is that this morning I read posts about his passing from a few of my favorite bloggers. I used to read the newspaper and watch the nightly news. Then I started reading the headlines on my internet home page. Now I find out about current events from my blogs. It’s too early in the morning to spend much time mulling what that says about me so let’s keep moving, shall we?

Melanie from This Ain’t New York asked us to tell her our favorite John Hughes movie. Even though I’m not usually good at committing to a favorite, this question was easy. I LOVE Pretty in Pink. Like I said on Melanie’s blog, if I had a quarter for every time I’ve watched that movie…I’d have a lot of quarters. My friend Jennifer and I used to quote scenes from that movie incessantly, to the chagrin of our other friends. In fact, I still say “I’m off like a dirty shirt” from time to time.

What don’t I love about that movie? I love Andie’s clothes and her car.  I love the soundtrack. I love Iona. I want to hang out at the record store with the gang and discuss albums. I especially love Blane McDonnagh. I had a serious Andrew McCarthy crush that has lasted for many years now.  Goodness, I thought he was mighty pretty.

But something interesting has recently come to light. In the 80s when I was watching Pretty in Pink with my girlfriends and dreaming of Mr. Right, I just knew that Blane was the one for Andie. Sure, I felt sorry for the Duck, but Blane was the obvious best choice. Now, many years and life experiences later, I think maybe she should have chosen Duckie. His lines are the ones that immediately come to mind when I’m reminiscing about this movie. He makes me laugh and that will carry you a lot further in life and love than cute lips.

I’ve had a similar heart change about Gone with the Wind. The first time I saw it, I wanted to be Ms. Melanie, because I thought Scarlett was just plain mean. And I actually may have had a bigger crush on Ashley Wilkes than I did on Rhett Butler. When I watch that movie now, I really want Ashley and Melanie to grow up and be somebody, I admire Scarlett O’Hara”s spunk, and Rhett gives me goosebumps every time he looks at Scarlett.

Time has a funny way of changing your mind about things, doesn’t it? Do you have any movies that you see differently now than you did the first time you saw them? If that requires too much deep contemplation, you could always share your favorite line from Pretty in Pink. Twenty-three years later, my love for quoting that movie is one thing that hasn’t changed!

Happy Friday! I’m off like a dirty shirt!

12 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized