End of the Week Leftovers

1. Is anyone else bothered by the name of the show “America’s Got Talent”? Why couldn’t they name it “America HAS Talent”? I had the same problem back in my AOL days when that little guy announced “You’ve got mail.” No, I HAVE mail. If we can’t change the name, can we add to it? I suggest, “America’s Got Talent, Not Good Grammar.”

2. If I were the child in this family instead of one of the grown-ups, I would wait until the grown-ups were right on the edge of falling asleep. You know the feeling I’m talking about, right? That magical place between awake and asleep where you’re very sensitive to sound and light? Yeah, right at that moment, I’d run full speed down the hall, throw open the door like the house is on fire, slam on the overhead light and announce in my outside voice that my leg hurts and I can’t sleep and I heard something in the hall that sounded like people whispering and laughing and like this, “Chert, chert, chert.”  Seriously, Firstborn? First of all, for a boy with a hurting leg, you sure were making good time streaking through the hall just now. Second of all, I can’t make counting lists while I’m in cardiac arrest and my eyes are trying to adjust to the light of a thousand suns.  To summarize, we’re having sleep issues around here lately.

3. I just tried a new cobbler recipe. It’s cooling on the stove right now so I’m not going to share the recipe with you in case it tastes like mud. It smells good. I bought some Homemade Vanilla Bluebell ice cream to go with it, so if the cobbler’s not good, the dessert won’t be a total waste. Oh, Bluebell, how I’ve missed you. Unfortunately, I STILL haven’t made it to Sonic. I hope to rectify that situation this weekend.

4. Speaking of being back in the South in the land of Bluebell, Sonic, and Chick-fil-A, yesterday I went to the local health food store to buy ear candles….yeah, that’s probably another item for the list, possibly another blog post. Anyway, I also bought some Blue Sky root beer because Meredith said it was very tasty. I ended up having a conversation with the lady who was ringing up my purchases. This lady had recently moved here from Idaho and I told her that we had recently moved back here from Massachusetts. Somehow we ended up talking about how we wished that this area had a Trader Joe’s or a Whole Foods Market or even a decent grocery store. She let me in on the secret of why none of those wonderful things are available here. Lean in closer and I’ll tell you if you promise not to tell. She told me that the reason we can’t get good stuff like that here….is because….shhh…of the Baptists. I did not know that. ”

“Wow,” I said. “My dad’s been a Baptist minister for my entire life and I had no idea that we were against Trader Joe’s. It’s never come up in a business meeting.”

“Oh, that’s because here they have SOUTHERN Baptists. They’re very different from the Northern Baptists,” she informed me. Two things struck me about this conversation. First, the obvious. Baptists? Really? Second, she didn’t think I was from here. That’s weird. I sound more like here than where we lived. Whatever.

5. Our stuff gets here next Wednesday, thus beginning the end of the longest move in recorded history. I’m really thinking about seeing if we can get into the Guiness Book.

6. I have pictures and stories to share from the last few weeks but my computer is in a box and I’m hoping that by the time we’re all reconnected and wired in the new house that I won’t have forgotten the stories or the significance of the pictures. If so, I’ll just make something up that sounds like it would fit the pictures.

7. I hope you have a great weekend. Next week will be more craziness, but I hope to check in more regularly than I did when we were on the road. Until then, good night and Big Balls. (I hope you watch Wipeout.)

13 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

13 responses to “End of the Week Leftovers

  1. I dont know how anyone can live anywhere where there isn’t a chick-fil-a 🙂

    hope the settling goes well! and thanks so much for your sweet comment on my blog 🙂 I really appreciated it!

  2. It’s a good thing I knew where “Big Balls” came from, or might have had to stop reading your blog…

    At least you didn’t say “You’ve got” in front of it. 😉 Was that inappropriate? You “got” to keep an eye on us girls who grew up “Pacific Northwest” baptist.

  3. carpoolqueen

    You spoke my love language. I have exactly one half-gallon of Bluebell left in my freezer. It’s time for a trip home.

  4. Had I known that baptists were against healthy living, I would have thought twice before getting dunked. 🙂 That is so stinkin funny. It’s AMAZING what people come up with.

  5. When you do go to Sonic, try the Cherry Limeaide Chiller (if you like the original that is)!

    When I miss California I try to console myself with Sonic (there are very few there).

  6. hahahaha, northern baptists??? what are those? around here (the south) we have southern baptist and missionary baptist but no northern ones.

  7. I know my way around an ear candle. They are so crazy aren’t they?? And Blue Sky soda…yummy. I’m not sure about those Baptists though. Totally KIDDING…we go to a Baptist church 😉

  8. haha this made me laugh. and I actually did think to yelling off the mountain yesterday for you but then I figured I would get some weird looks, so I didn’t! I’ll go yell off our balcony though! Oh & also, where did you find ear candles? seriously, I bought them once a few years ago and haven’t found them since! We have a whole foods but they are not allowed to sell them due to some lawsuit {I asked :)}

  9. Okay, this post tickled me to no end. (Just linked here from Chatting at the Sky!) I’ve been an uprooted California girl takin’ on Texas for 7 whole years. It’s only been within the last year that we’re starting to get some of the stuff we’ve missed terrible from our Calif. grocery stores, so, BOY can I relate.

    And don’t even get me started on the (southern!) Baptists… 8-l (ha!)

  10. I’m not as good at picking out grammatical errors, but just yesterday, I saw several blatant misspellings. And of course I had to look up misspellings before I could hit “submit” on this comment. For I am not a hypocrite on everything. Just some things.

    Can’t wait for the recipe. I know it was goooood.
    Cuz you done got talent, freind.

  11. I’ve never introduced myself, but I love reading CPQ’s and Kellie’s blogs and found a link to your blog from there. I have lived in LA all of my life and had no idea that the southern Baptist preachers were the reason we do not have a Trader Joe’s or Whole Foods. I wonder if there’s any truth to that or if that was her opinion. We definitely have some very opinionated people down here, as I’m sure you know. 🙂 Of all makes and kinds. It’s definitely not just the southern baptists! 🙂

  12. Amy

    #1: Thank you! Thank you! Thank you! This bugs me so much!! Also, “You’ve got a friend in Pennsylvania” on the old license plates.

  13. LOL Maybe we can tell people that is why we planted two churches with the Christian & Missionary Alliance.

Leave a Reply

