And the Winner Is….

ME!

I won something!

A few weeks ago, I found a fun blog, “4 Reluctant Entertainers.” Sandy had me at the title. I would definitely consider myself a reluctant entertainer. I love having people in my home, but I just can’t seem to get it together enough to entertain as much as I would like. And when I do have company, I cause myself so much stress beforehand that I’m a puddle by the time of the event. (I’m a perfectionist but I’m just not very good at it.) “4 Reluctant Entertainers” is helping me to see that entertaining is mostly about sharing your life with the people in it. I can do that, right?

Anyway, a couple of days ago, Sandy offered us an opportunity to win her husband’s (Paul Coughlin) book, No More Jellyfish, Chickens or Wimps: Raising Secure, Assertive Kids in a Tough World.

51e16nqldwL._BO2,204,203,200_PIsitb-sticker-arrow-big,TopRight,35,-76_AA240_SH20_OU01_Apparently, the whole family is good at writing titles!  

As a parent, I find it hard to balance teaching my children to respond the way Jesus would, with teaching them to be confident, strong, and secure. I’m hoping this book will give me greater insight on how to do a better job at that.

Tomorrow, I’ll be linking up with my friend Meredith for 10 on the 10th. I will, that is, if I can think of 10 things to tell you. I might just have to sleep on it.

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “And the Winner Is….

  1. Oooohhh…I need that book. I have a couple of jellyfish and chickens running around here from time to time.

  2. Thanks for the reminder that tomorrow is the 10th! I am so far behind on things like that right now.

    Secure and assertive are hard to teach, I think, but so very important. I have one of my kids in mind when I see that book. It looks helpful for them and for me.

    I bought The Same Kind of Different as Me for our trip next week. I’ll let you know what I think.

  3. YAY, YOU!!

    Sounds like a GREAT book!!

    You won, You won!! 🙂

  4. How cool that you won that! I think I may be adding that book to our bookshelf.

    I’m a reluctant entertainer….but, I love doing it. I’m just not always sure “how” to do it. Of course, your recipes have helped me in that area. I’ll be checking out that blog.

  5. Check out my blog…I’ve got a little somethin’ for ya!

  6. wow, thanks for the generous note here …

    i think you’ll really enjoy the book – it’s excellent.

    i will reply to your email (foot surgery today)

    hugs!

  7. Terrifically kewl!

    But just in case you don’t have room for it with all your packing and what-n0t, you can always send it to me. 🙂

Leave a Reply

