Doin’ My Thang, Dawg

Good grief, Charlie Brown, I am one blessed girl. My friends are amazing. I have more friends than I have time to be the kind of friend I want to be. I hope you understand that I don’t tell you this to brag or to make you think I’ve done anything noteworthy that makes me deserving of all this blessing that’s been heaped upon my pointed head. I say it to tell you that when the going gets rough, your real friends keep you going.

And so I keep going. I’m just doin’ my thang, dawg.

Keepin’ it real.

Taking care of business.

Eating this elephant one bite at a time.

Even with the support of the most incredibly supportive network any one could hope to have, some days are just tough. Just now I was giving myself the Dory peptalk. You know that one, right?

If that doesn’t make you at least grin, I fear you may be dead inside.

Then I thought of a line from a poem that I haven’t thought of in forever. I first read it in the book Holy Sweat by Tim Hansel (another favorite book of mine that you really should read if we’re going to be friends). I looked it up and read it again just now. Yep. Still fits. I thought I’d share it with you today since my thoughts feel  kind of squishy right now, in a Doryesque manner, as a matter of fact.

THE ROAD OF LIFE

At first, I saw God as my observer,
my judge,
keeping track of the things I did wrong,
so as to know whether I merited heaven
or hell when I die.
He was out there sort of like a president.
I recognized His picture when I saw it,
but I really didn’t know Him.

But later on
when I met Christ,
it seemed as though life was rather like a bike ride,
but it was a tandem bike,
and I noticed that Christ
was in the back helping me pedal.

I don’t know just when it was
that He suggested we change places,
but life has not been the same since.

When I had control,
I knew the way.
It was rather boring,
but predictable . . .
It was the shortest distance between two points.

But when He took the lead,
He knew delightful long cuts,
up mountains,
and through rocky places
at breakneck speeds,
it was all I could do to hang on!
Even though it looked like madness,
He said, “Pedal!”

I worried and was anxious
and asked,
“Where are you taking me?”
He laughed and didn’t answer,
and I started to learn to trust.

I forgot my boring life
and entered into the adventure.
And when I’d say, “I’m scared,”
He’d lean back and touch my hand.

He took me to people with gifts that I needed,
gifts of healing,
acceptance
and joy.
They gave me gifts to take on my journey,
my Lord’s and mine.

And we were off again.
He said, “Give the gifts away;
they’re extra baggage, too much weight.”
So I did,
to the people we met,
and I found that in giving I received,
and still our burden was light.

I did not trust Him,
at first,
in control of my life.
I thought He’d wreck it;
but He knows bike secrets,
knows how to make it bend to take sharp corners,
knows how to jump to clear high rocks,
knows how to fly to shorten scary passages.

And I am learning to shut up
and pedal
in the strangest places,
and I’m beginning to enjoy the view
and the cool breeze on my face
with my delightful constant companion, Jesus Christ.

And when I’m sure I just can’t do anymore,
He just smiles and says . . . “Pedal.”

— author unknown

Just keep pedaling. Just keep pedaling. Just keep pedaling, pedaling, pedaling. What do we do? We pedal, pedal.

 

P.S. For some reason I think email from the address I use for this blog isn’t making it to people’s inboxes. If I wrote you an email and you didn’t get it, will you let me know? I’m just kidding. How could you know if I wrote you an email or not? Seriously though, if you find an email from me in your spam folder (and you don’t have some weird settings on your email that would normally cause my email to go into your spam folder), will you let me know? There. That was clear as mud, right?

Oh! So you want to know what was in the envelope?

I’m not telling you yet.

Want me to tell you if anyone’s already guessed it or come close?

Nope.  I don’t want to and it’s my blog.

I will tell you my favorite guess thus far.

From my friend Mims: ” Your acceptance letter for…’The Real Housewives of Boston…or Louisiana…or DC’?”

I think that one even made me snort laugh. Maybe the envelope only contains air and I just needed a cheap laugh. 

No. I’m just kidding. The envelope wasn’t empty. I’ll tell you what was in the envelope some time this week. 

Maybe. 😉

 

13 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

13 responses to “Doin’ My Thang, Dawg

  1. I’m so glad that made you laugh! The poem you shared…..just what I needed to read. Good stuff!

  2. Love that poem. Wow. Perfect timing, too.

    Just keep swimming. Just keep swimming.

    Heart ya, Whimz. All the way to the bottom of the ocean and back again.

  3. Beautiful poem. I needed it this week. thanks for sharing it.

  4. carpoolqueen

    Seriously? The poem? Have loved it BEFORE WE WERE FRIENDS. How’s that for weird “see, I knew we were meant to be”?

  5. Lovely poem! (& I love Dorey, too. My kids think I’m weird because I’m supposed to love Nemo. Go figure.)

  6. mom

    How that poem brought back so many memories! Thank you for causing me to stop! breathe! and think of it again. And you know Dory always makes me laugh! Thank you so much for being you and letting God use you in so many lives, especially mine. I’m breathing, smiling, swimming, and pedalin’! How could I possibly love you more!

  7. And do you speak Whale, too?

    That poem is a printer-outer and keeper for life…r.

    And you’re a keeper, too. God has blessed me with one dandy, new, amazing, incredible friend on my bike ride, and we haven’t even met. But we will. One day, we will, and I’ll be so thankful.

    Pedaling on…

  8. Your Mama commented?! How sweet is that…if Aunt Darlene pops on here I may be in tears!!

    GREAT poem, friend.

    How I heart Dory and Mr. Grumpy Gills too!

    I’ll keep pedaling..it’s easier w/ friends like you pedaling along too!

  9. Deena

    I’d forgotten about the poem. I love it!

    Hope you have a blessed day!

  10. You do know what’s in the envelope, don’tcha, Whimz? You’re not just baiting us and having a big ol’ guffaw, right? 😉

  11. Oh..I loved reading that!!! So awesome! I’m glad you shared it here!!!!!

    And to answer your question on my blog, my son put them on a wall with TACKS!! LOL..I need to buy frames! 🙂

  12. You kind of remind me of Dory. I see your face on hers…how’s that for a picture? I’m praying for you. I know it’s tough right now. I’ve been there. And even though I’m so busy right now I can hardly see straight, know I’m reminding the Lord (as if He needs me too) to keep you in the middle of his hand…fully supported and loved.

  13. Okay, my head is about to explode from all the wisdom and smiling…

    from both Dory AND the poem. Gonna pass that one on for sure!

Leave a Reply

