No Matter the Question, the Answer Is Always Jesus

One of my favorite church jokes is the one about the Sunday School teacher who was teaching a lesson about being prepared and working diligently. She wanted to use squirrels as an example of  prepared workers. She started the lesson by saying, “I’m going to describe something, and I want you to raise your hand when you know what it is.”  The children were excited to show her what they knew and leaned forward eagerly.

“I’m thinking of something that lives in trees (pause) and eats nuts (pause)…” No hands went up. “It can be gray or brown (pause) and  it has a long bushy tail (pause)…” The children looked around the room at each other, but still no one raised a hand. “It chatters (pause) and somtimes it flips its tail when it’s excited (pause)…”

Finally one little boy shyly raised his hand. The teacher breathed a sigh of relief and said, “Okay, Michael. What do you think it is?”

“Well,” said the boy, “it sure sounds like a squirrel, but I guess the answer’s supposed to be Jesus.”

The Littles (my kids) reminded me of that joke today. Why? Because I’ve noticed a trend in our conversations of late. Listen in on this one:

Princess Diva: I love you, Mom.

Me: I love you, too.

Princess: I don’t love anyone more than you.

                   (PAUSE)

           Except for Jesus.

Or how about this one:

Baby Boy: Can you jump higher than that plant?

Firstborn: Yeah.

Baby Boy: Can you jump higher than that pile of leaves?

Firstborn: Sure.

Baby Boy: Can you jump higher than that tree?

Firstborn: No one can.

Baby Boy: Jesus can.

Last night we were wondering which took longer to grow, a seed into a plant or a grown up tooth into your mouth.

Princess Diva: It might be as long as a flower but not as long as a tree. It takes a really long time for a tree to grow.

Baby Boy: Unless Jesus grew it. He could grow it automatically.

Princess Diva: I know what automatically means. It means you snap your fingers, and then TA DA, it happens!

Now I have to stifle a laugh every  time they answer Jesus as the superlative answer because they do it so many times a day it’s a little bit funny. It’s also reassuring as a mom to know that they truly believe that Jesus is the best answer to every question that they have. I never want their knowledge of Who Jesus is to become trite or too familiar, but I do always want Jesus to be the first place they turn when they need an answer to a question. They remind me that He needs to be my first and best answer, too.

 

18 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

18 responses to “No Matter the Question, the Answer Is Always Jesus

  1. How true is that!! Their convos were just too cute!

    I love it too when my kids want to immediately ask to pray when they skin a knee, see an ambulance, hear something on TV or when one of them is sick…it just moves me!

  2. This is so adorable, I could eat it with a spoon. It’s both awesome and convicting when I’m in an argument with J, and she’ll be the first one to say thru her tears, “Mom, can we pray?”.

    yeah. wish I had thought of that.

    If we’ve done nothing else as mothers, I’m so thrilled that we’ve done this–an introduction to the right answer to everything.

  3. carpoolqueen

    Love this. Of course, I have the one that would ask “Can Jesus make a rock he can’t lift?”

  4. Funny, funny. My kids do the same thing … sometimes. We’ve been pushing them to think through their answers a little more. Now the standard answers are “Jesus” or “Moses.” Occassionally Joseph gets a mention, too, but not often.

    I appreciate your application. It’s so true! He needs to be our first answer, not our last resort.

  5. Amen!!!!

    Childlike faith…oh if I could always have that attitude in EVERY situation in my life instead of thinking that sometimes I know best…

    It warmed my heart the day my 1st grader came home from school and told us that he was sad because he was talking about Jesus and that He’s bigger and stronger than ANYTHING and this one little boy would not believe.:( I said, “Keep preachin’ it Son!” (not quite like that, but you get the idea:))

  6. I just love the title of this post. It’s very telling of where your heart is, and you are teaching your kids the same. What a mommy you are!

  7. This post made my heart smile. Thanks!

  8. That is a funny story!

    Corey actually uses the “Jesus” answer frequently at our small group meeting for church if a question is thrown out that stumps everyone!

    And like you said, although it is funny on one hand, Jesus really should be the first place that we turn for guidance in all of life’s questions!

  9. Deena

    Very sweet! I love to see that beautiful faith in our children. May it grow and continue for their entire lives!

  10. You’ve created a culture of Jesus and you’ve obviously taught about Him well. Way to go, mom!!!

  11. So cute.

    I love listenin’ in on kids’ conversations…

  12. as a children’s ministry trainer, I am beyond happy to have a new joke to tell. (oh no, did I make it all about me again? rats)

    I mean, great application 🙂

  13. Alex

    “…and what shall we name the Baby Boy, Blake?”
    “Jesus”

  14. Very sweet post, Whimzie.

  15. I love this 🙂

    Great you have taught them so well. It reminds me of the children’s talk we have as part or our weekly church service. When our minister asks a question and my wee son shoots up his hand, no matter what the question was, and I hold my breath, hoping he at least answers “Jesus”!

  16. Precious! Precious! Precious! I love it!

  17. Pingback: Hello world! « Ideas for Youth Ministry in New Zealand

  18. One day Moses and Jesus were playing golf. They were at the tee of a beautiful par 3, with a lake right in the middle of the fairway. Moses selects a 5 iron, tees-up his ball and swings. His ball sails very high and lands in the middle of the lake. He mutters to himself and tees-up a second ball, this time selecting a 4 iron. This shot was perfect; landing right in the middle of the green.

    Jesus pauses for a moment to ponder his club selection. “Hmmmm….. Arnold Palmer would use this,” he says as he picks up a 5 iron.

    “But, Jesus. My 5 iron shot ended up in the lake. You should use a 4 iron!”

    “Nope. Arnie would use a 5,” insisted Jesus.

    So, Jesus swings hard and alas his shot ends up in the middle of the lake too. Jesus strolls over to the lake and walks out on the water to retrieve his ball. As Jesus is walking on the water trying to locate his ball a foursome comes up to the tee, sees a man walking on the water and one of them exclaims, “Who does he think he is? Jesus Christ?”

    “No,” explains Moses, “He IS Jesus Christ. He THINKS he’s Arnold Palmer.”

Leave a Reply

