Just for today…..I’ll listen

So many times I set lofty, long-term goals for myself and then I’m frustrated when I’m not successful in what I sought to accomplish. I wonder what would happen if I just tried to change one thing for one day.  What could happen in just one day?

What if just for today, I was an active listener in every conversation? Even the ones that are all about Disney Princesses and Legos and Webkinz?

What if just for today, I listened to the person on the other end of the phone instead of multitasking while we talked? Would my friend benefit from my undivided attention today?

What if just for today, I tried to completely understand what every speaker was saying in the moment instead of thinking of what I’m going to say next in response?

What if just for today, I spent more time using my ears than my mouth?

What if just for today, I stopped what I was doing when people talked to me and looked straight into their eyes, even if it mean bending down to get on their level?

What if just for today, I was an active participant in every conversation without being the one doing the most talking?

What if just for today, I blessed another with my silence rather than my unsolicited advice?

What if just for today, I demonstrated to the people in my life that they are important to me and deserving of my total attention?

What if just for today, instead of telling God what I think, what I want, and what I wonder, I spent an extra few minutes in silence? What would I hear in the quiet?

I wonder what would happen….

 Do not be quick with your mouth, 
       do not be hasty in your heart 
       to utter anything before God. 
       God is in heaven 
       and you are on earth, 
       so let your words be few….Ecclesiastes 5:12

23 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

23 responses to “Just for today…..I’ll listen

  1. I know I need to shut my mouth and listen more. Thanks for posting this….a good reminder!

  2. Ouch! I have been trying to work on this more myself….less talk more listening. Even in my writing…trying to use less words and say what I am saying more efficiently…more effectively.

    Of course I haven’t quite gotten to this in the “comments” section of my life!

  3. Rob

    Sorry Amy, I zoned out… can you repeat that? 🙂

  4. carpoolqueen

    I appreciate you listening to me and helping me get my video uploaded. And for the record, you listen well. You hear the stuff that’s not said.

  5. Really good food for thought. I could use some more focus in that area for sure!

  6. A good reminder of what we all probably need to do more… especially me!!!
    Great post!

  7. What is that quote…”you show more wisdom with silence than a quantity of words” ? If it’s not a quote….it just became mine;)

    Great reminder! I know my boys appreciate this post!

  8. What a good word for me today. I have a few situations where this could really shift some things in a more positive direction.

    Thanks for sharing, friend.

  9. Laura Beth (Sus's roommate her Jr year, my Sr year at OBU)

    needed to hear (read) that today…

  10. What a good goal. I don’t mean specifically for you…but for me! I’m going to try it. I’ll let you know how it goes!

  11. Oh wow…my conviction runneth over…

    Thanks for the refocus, SnoodleLove…I needed it. terribly.badly.mucho.

  12. Wonderful and challenging (very!) post 🙂

    It reminded me of the saying that God gave us 2 ears but just one mouth for a reason!

    Thanks for visiting, and saying such lovely things about my photos.

  13. …visiting from Meredith’s and Susan’s blogs:)

    …and I could not have “said” it better myself. Great reminder for this Mama of 3 young children who probably, unfortunately, get the least amount of my undivided attention than anyone. Sad, I know. I need to show them love in this way as well.

    …and now I have a song in my head that has that line “you are God in heaven….so let my words be few…”

    and maybe I’ll just have to stop by more often…cause “they” certainly talk about you enough!:)

  14. Rebecca Marchbanks

    hmmm..good word…I needed that.

  15. Isn’t it kind of funny to comment on a post like this? But anyway… thanks.

  16. This was one of my New Year’s Resolutions. It is a TOUGH one! My Papa always tells me everytime I see him, “Shugah, God gave you 2 ears and 1 mouth b/c you should do twice as much listening as you do talking.” Thank you for sharing!

  17. Michelle

    Amy your post today was right on target. Thank you for that reminder.

  18. What a good reminder! Thank you.

    And, thank you for your comment on my blog and question about the recipes! I’ll get them set to post tomorrow for you – hope you enjoy them. 🙂

  19. Oh, shut up.

    Oh, I kid, I kid.

    Skulking back to my room to turn on my listening ears.

    You are more than spot-on with this my friend. My dtr and I were essentially seeing and trying to do that verse’s twin in James about being quick to listen, slow to anger, etc.

    I’m in so much need of a daily scoop of God because I tend to fall right off these listening bandwagons the second I don’t get my way about something or am in a rush.

    BTW, listen to this…you’re awesome.

  20. Great post. What a challenge! It shouldn’t be so hard, but it is. Thanks for the encouragement.

  21. AWESOME POST! I love LB, I’ll start lurking around your blog as well. Thanks for the comment.

  22. I wonder these same things, especially when I know I’m not doing them well! I am so easily distracted and not really all that good at multi-tasking, yet I try anyway and probably miss out on so much good stuff around me.

  23. Good challenge!

    I’m going to take it… though the day is half over, I think it’s just the right amount of time to practice… small doses and all that, you know!

Leave a Reply

