My sweet daddy…

A friend I haven’t met (yet) emailed me today with a link to a song download. She had visited my home church and heard my dad sing “At the Cross.” The song touched her and she has a copy that she listens to almost every day. I think she met my dad  but she doesn’t really know us well, yet she prays for my dad every day. If I stopped to recount the many times during this challenge that we have benefitted from the kindness of strangers, much less the support of our friends, I would be a blubbery mess for the rest of the weekend. From a buddy flight on Southwest for my husband from a friend I haven’t talked to since high school, to a “Garden Fairy” who comes and secretly leaves secret surprises for my mom every week, to a friend who (guess I’m going to blubber anyway) bought and mailed my children Easter surprises from my parents…..so many have stood in the gap for us. My friend knew Mom had enough on her plate and wanted to do something to bless my mom and my family so she asked if she could send Easter goodies from my mom. She even threw in a Barnes & Noble gift card for me because she likes to feed my addiction. Who has friends like that? I do. Who is blessed beyond what she deserves? I am. Who will spend the rest of her life trying to be even half  the friend to others that they  have been to her? I will. If God allows me to live even one more day, I promise, I will.

Dad and I were talking last night about how this Easter is so different  because of what we’re experiencing as a family. I think of the feeling we had sitting in my dad’s hospital room waiting for the doctor to bring us the result of the pathology report. I think of days that it felt like the hurt was so hard to bear that I didn’t think I could take my next breath. I can easily call to mind the apprehension of what may lie ahead as we face more treatments. And then I think of my Jesus in the Garden of Gethsemane, thinking of what was getting ready to happen. I certainly don’t know how he felt that night, but I think I have a better idea now than I did six months ago.

I read this blog by Beth Moore yesterday and it spoke to my heart. Shortly after, I read another blog and the author included a reference to Hebrews 2:14-17. When I read those verses in light of what Beth had said? Wow. Just wow. So on this Resurrection Day Eve, I hope you have had a chance in the midst of the buying and cooking and cleaning and practicing and whatever other busyness this time brings to stop and truly reflect and meditate on what all of this means. I hope that God will help you look at a familiar story with fresh eyes and you will experience this Easter as if it were the first one you’ve ever known. May he speak to our hearts as we proclaim with grateful hearts, “He is not here! He is risen!”

So, you can click on the link below to hear my sweet daddy sing a song that is perfect for this Easter season. It will only be available for download for a week, so if you’re reading this on April 19, 2009, you’re one day too late, I guess.

At the Cross

11 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

11 responses to “My sweet daddy…

  1. Thanks for sharing this with us.

    And I read the Beth Moore blog, too….so good.

    Hope you have an amazing He Rose Day!

  2. God didn’t skimp on talent, did he? Thank you for sharing, Alice. xxxooo

  3. Amy,

    I have loved his voice for over 20 years and it still brings tears to my eyes to hear his sweet voice! Thanks for sharing on this beautiful Easter weekend. Hope you, yours, and the littles enjoy the weekend.

    Love,
    Melody

  4. Your sweet daddy has a seriously sweet voice! I was really moved by his singing and that song. I loved when the pastor asked for it to be sung again and he wanted everyone to join along. I had to hold back tears…….thinking of your dad and all he is going through, thinking of what this weekend means. I will be keeping him in my prayers!!

  5. Wow! What a powerful reminder this Easter weekend that we can lay all our burdens down at the feet of our loving Lord and Savior. Thank you for sharing.

  6. Beautiful…
    Dads are such a blessing from the Lord.
    Thanks for sharing, I will keep your family in my prayers…
    Thanks you for the sweet comments you left for me earlier.

  7. I was so so happy to be “with” you when you got this today…

    It is with great joy that I pray for your sweet Daddy and you and your Mom–all of you.

    I am planning on reading Beth and the verses (Hebrews is one of my top 3 books of the Bible) for my QT tomorrow…

    Praise Him…in all things.

  8. carpoolqueen

    GAHHHH! What a perfect present for your own personal Easter basket! Thanks for letting us all in on the treat.

    Happy Easter to you!

  9. This is such a bummer. It says that the download has reached its limit and I can’t get it to work. Boo.

    But I hope your Resurrection Day is a beautiful and fresh word from God to your heart.

    He is risen indeed!

    Much love!!!!
    Candace

  10. So sorry that you and your family are having to walk this road…but so glad that you are clinging to God in the face of all these things!

    Loved hearing about how God has used his people to lift you up when the time was right! I just LOVE it when He shows himself through the love of others.

  11. Evidently tears are contagious because everything about this post has me weepy.

    It blesses me to see and hear your family being ministered to. It’s special when the minister’s family is on the receiving end. Such a blessing.

    You know, even with that blog break I took, I just wasn’t feeling connected to Easter this year. It felt like I was trying to make myself feel what I knew I should be feeling. The heaviness of my dad’s stuff was weighing on me as well (heavy is the only way I know to describe it) and I was frustrated with myself for feeling so calloused. I was thankful for some moments in church on Sunday…moments of joy and gratitude. That connectedness came when I wasn’t trying to manipulate it.

    Thankful.

Leave a Reply

