If the Snoodles Wrote a Children’s Bible

I love bedtime for the Little People and not for the reasons some of you are thinking. My husband usually does the bedtime routine and he has since FirstBorn was a baby. Usually he hasn’t had an opportunity to be with the kids all day and some days I’ve had more opportunities to be with them than I really feel like I needed at the time. It’s a win-win for both of us. After pajamas are donned and teeth are brushed, Dad settles the Little People together and reads a book and a Bible story and they all pray together before he tucks them into their beds. Sometimes I like to sneak in and listen to the discussions that sometimes ensue during Bible story and prayers. I think the Little People are their truest selves in these moments at the end of the day. Sometimes they  utter truths that are wise beyond their young years. Sometimes they spout out the funniest things I’ve ever heard.

I was telling my mom something the Princess Diva said the other night before bedtime and she jokingly said, “They need to write their own version of a Bible story book.” Yeah, that’s not going to happen, but I did think it would be fun to share with you a few gems I’ve collected along the way. 

When FirstBorn was barely three, story/Bible time was his one-on-one time with his dad. One night, Mr. Snoodle (I really need to settle on pseudonyms for these people!) came in the room after tucking in the FirstBorn and he looked like he’d been through the wringer.

“What happened to you?” I asked.

“I was totally unprepared! One minute we were talking about how God created everything. ‘Did God create all the animals?’ he asks. ‘Yes,’ I say. ‘Did God make all the bugs?’ he wants to know. ‘He did,’ I tell him. Then he pauses and asks, ‘So did God create evil?’ ”

I asked him how he responded and I honestly think he had no idea what was said for the rest of that conversation. FirstBorn’s questions aren’t any easier five years later, by the way.

I was with them the night my husband told FirstBorn the story of  Adam and Eve. After he heard about the snake and the fruit and the consequences of their actions, FirstBorn gave a sideways glance at me before he looked his dad in the eye and said, “I hate to say this, but Eve should’ve sat down and shut up.” He wasn’t sure if he’d get away with that one because we don’t say “shut up” in our house, but his father and I were too busy picking ourselves off the floor to fuss.

A couple of nights ago, we were talking about heaven. The Little People have a vested interest because their daddy’s daddy already lives there. The younger two never met him and FirstBorn wasn’t even a year old when he died, but they’re very interested in knowing all there is to know about Pap and what he’s doing these days. BabyBoy was saying that Pap can’t ever get sick in heaven because there’s no sickness. I agreed and said that no one ever was sad or mad or afraid in heaven. FirstBorn said something about the devil not being in heaven and I affirmed that we wouldn’t even sin in heaven.

At this PrincessDiva sat straight up in bed and said, “You can’t sin in heaven?! But I want to sin!”

“What do you think ‘sin’ is?” I asked her.

“You know,” she said, “like when we send Papa cards and Ruby Jane pictures. I really love to send.” And she truly does.

So I tried to explain the difference between “send” and “sin” and we pondered whether or not heaven has mailboxes. BabyBoy is pretty sure no one can actually mail letters from there to here but he’s not sure if people who are already there can mail stuff to each other.

Just tonight we had one of those special moments that I’m so glad I didn’t miss. Since my husband’s out of town, I’m in charge of the bedtime routine this week. Tonight we read the story of the women coming to the tomb after Jesus died and was buried.  

I read from the book, ” ‘A voice said, “He’s not here. He is alive. He came back to life just as he said he would.” “He’s alive! He’s alive!” the woman shouted to her friends….’ ”

PrincessDiva sighed and whispered, “I love that part.”

Oh, little PrincessDiva, me, too. And I love these precious little Snoodles He’s entrusted to my care.

9 Comments

Filed under Kids, Uncategorized

9 responses to “If the Snoodles Wrote a Children’s Bible

  1. Amy

    This is our routine, too, and sometimes the sweetest part of the day. The children went through a phase where they yelled, “Let my people GOOOOOOOO!” to us all the time. That’s probably their favorite story.

  2. *sniff *laugh *sniff *awww

    My responses to the post, of course! Oh, how I love their insight. Their thought process. It’s so innocent, raw and yet perfectly curious.

    We have the “Jesus Storybook Bible” that we read everyday and I usually end up crying because the stories are soooo beautifully written, unlike any other children’s Bible I’ve seen….

    One of my newest faves was from Connor. He is going on 9 and getting so “big boy” w/ everything including how he talks. Well, I had just talked to my friend on the phone w/ a praise about her sick father in law and was teary…I explained to Connor how “they thought it was cancer and it’s NOT…” and looked at me and said “that is SOOO God!”…

  3. Love these sweet moments. Makes all the wiping of boogers and cleaning up their bathrooms worth every second.

  4. carpoolqueen

    There are days that I ask the impossible questions such as “What was God thinking to give me three boys”, but when I hear them say “Will you please read me a Bible story?”, then I am reminded of exactly what He was thinking. Where else but in the Word can you find lessons about being nice to your brother because you may have to bow to him one day, or being a leader when everyone else wants to do something different?

    Thanks for the reminder to welcome that last, most important task of the day.

  5. This is delicious in so many ways.

    Firstborn is my kinda truth teller. ‘Course Adam should’ve cowboyed up, too, but that’s another story.

    “I love that part.” How precious is that? I was feeling the same way in choir practice last night. Of course we’re working on our PS and ES service numbers. And one of them goes through the story of the life-death-and resurrection of Christ (surprising, huh?). Anyhoo…when I’m practicing the CD in my car, I often get tears in my eyes at the “no he will not stay (buried)” and “Jesus is rising”… Last night was no different. I love that part, too.

  6. I’m telling you- that Princess Diva has some special gifting. Wow. She really gets it.

    Love, love, love these stories!!!!

  7. Mmmm…love this.

    Having become a Christian as an adult I learned many bible stories, for the first time, through reading to my (then) toddlers from the kid Bible.

    I looked forward to reading of God’s real love, and adventure, and strength, and passion, and beauty, and sweet, sweet salvation, and sharing those with the kids.

    Thanks for sharing your moments, so I could be reminded…

  8. That is just so sweet.

    Have you ever heard of the Jesus Storybook Bible? I saw that Tif mentioned it in her comment. Amy, it is hands-down THE BEST children’s Bible I’ve ever seen…the stories are beautifully written and the art is great too. John edited all the stories for The Children’s Message Bible, and I like it okay, but I LOVE the Jesus Storybook Bible. Seriously…take a peek on Amazon or next time you’re at B&N.

  9. This is really just so precious. I love the way children talk about the Bible and how they see God and all of their questions . . . so pure, so innocent and, yes, so funny sometimes. I love the story about “sin” and “send.” It just made me giggle. What a blessed woman you are indeed!

Leave a Reply

