I’m Really Ever So Not Well…

cl002

Only moms will recognize the title of today’s post. I love Charlie and Lola. More than my kids do, even. I think it’s the accents. I don’t know that I’d ever be able to discipline my children if they had British accents. 

But I didn’t come here to talk about Charlie and Lola. I really AM really ever so not well. I think I caught FirstBorn’s cold. I’m not sick enough to go back to bed but I feel too sick to want to do anything. Too bad for me. First of all, I can’t leave the Little People unsupervised. I’m trying ever so hard (I’ll be channeling Lola for the rest of the day, I’m sure) to finish a few projects around here before my husband gets back to town. The Little People could undo everything I’ve done before I could even find a Kleenex to blow my nose.

I think one of the dumbest ideas I have ever had was when we’d had a week of sickness at the Snoodle house. We don’t have many weeks like that. Apparently the theory that exposure to dirt builds kids’ immunity is true. Anyway, all the children had passed around the same germs to one another  and I was worn out from the wiping…whatever you’re imagining I was wiping, I wiped that week. By Friday, I was “wiped out.” I thought to myself, “I wish I could catch this next just so I could lie down for a minute.” Oh, you’d better believe I caught it. But there was no lying down. That week I realized the sad and cruel truth of motherhood that isn’t in the What to Expect books. “Sick mamas” get to do all the same things “well mamas” do, they just feel lousy doing it. 

So don’t get too close to your computer screen. I’d hate for you to catch my cold. Don’t worry about me. I’ll make it…somehow. Seriously, maybe I’ll push myself to finish my list today so I can collapse in a heap on the couch this afternoon….after we finish school. And swim lessons. And I figure out what we’re going to have for supper. And work on my continuing education credits for my nursing certification that expires in five days. Right after that, I’ll lie down.

kleenex

10 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

10 responses to “I’m Really Ever So Not Well…

  1. Feel better soon. Colds are ever not so fun.

  2. Whimzie…I have I said how much I heart you??

    “Ohh, Lola!” I say that when I’m frustrated and my other fave “I won’t eat peas or carrots or fish fingers” (of course, the accent doesn’t quite come through when typing)…

    You said it SPOT on when you said: “Sick mamas” get to do all the same things “well mamas” do, they just feel lousy doing it. Amen and amen.

    I do hope you can squeeze in some rest time today…hang in there and feel better!

  3. That’s right, my friend…it doesn’t martyr to you. 🙂

    Seriously…feel better soon. I so know what you mean about sick moms never getting a break.

    Quantum leap: Big and I were in London on the Tube a million years ago when it was just Big and me. Anyhooo…all power went out on The Tube we were riding in. Completely b.l.a.c.k. in the underground of London. I hear this little girl say, “Mummy, why are we stop-ped in the dark?”. And because it was said with such a charming British accent, I thought it was cute. Even the 300th time I heard it. So I know what you mean about the accent thing. is all I’m sayin.

  4. Bless your heart! I hope you feel better soon! Hugs from Arkansas! 😉

  5. OH No! I hope you are feeling better this afternoon, and that you DO actually get the chance to rest, if even for an hour!

  6. Rebecca Marchbanks

    I love Charlie and Lola…

  7. Oh, my. Sounds so very painful. Get well soon, friend.

  8. carpoolqueen

    Hope you’re better. I’d say more but we’ve spoken today. I didn’t get the plates. Chickened out.

  9. I hope you’re feeling better soon (if not now!)

  10. So sorry you’ve been under the weather. I hope you are better now. Yep, there are no vacation or sick days for moms!! I hope you got plenty of rest and got all of your continuing ed credits in.

Leave a Reply

