I ‘Kid’ You Not, That’s What They Said

I agree. That’s probably the corniest blog post title ever written. The good and most logical ones for this post were already taken.

I’ve seen this interview several places lately: on Facebook, La Vida Dulce’s blog, Life@7000Feet’s blog, this little light of mine’s blog.  Oh, and CarpoolQueen just posted her interview with her kids. I thought it might be fun to do at our house. I interviewed each child separately because they’re at the age where their answers are heavily influenced by what the others would say and I wanted to know what each one really thought. I think their answers give me a lot of insight into what’s important to them, their love language, and they also make realize that I really need to find a better moisturizer. 

I also wonder how many of their answers are what they want from me rather  than who I really am. If anything, this gave me a better understanding of what they would like our home to look like and it makes me want to be more like the mom they described.

For those of you who haven’t met them, AHL is the youngest (by one minute) and the only daughter. She is five years old. BJL is the youngest boy. He’s also five years old. CBL is the oldest. He’s eight years old. Here are their unedited answers (the parenthetical additions are my thoughts):

1. What is something your mom always says to you?

AHL: “I love you.”

BJL: “Give me a hug.” (Guess I’m demanding that way.)

CBL: “Maybe.”  (This was funny to me because it’s so true and he hates it when I answer ‘maybe’ to his questions.)

2. What makes your mom happy?

AHL: Hugging and kissing.

BJL: Being nice.

CBL: A hug.

3. What makes your mom sad?

AHL:  When I don’t try new food.

BJL: When I hurt other people.

CBL: When we don’t obey her.

4. How does your mom make you laugh?

AHL: Tickles me.

BJL: Tickles me.

CBL: Tickles my armpit. (I wonder why I dislike the word “armpit.”)

5. What was your mom like as a child?

AHL: Me.

BJL: She was little.

CBL: I don’t know. Like me. (I thought this was interesting because AHL & CBL really aren’t very much alike.)

6. How old is your mom?

AHL: I don’t know. 75  (ouch!)

BJL: 41. 

CBL: 38.

(And the answer is….none of the above!)

7. How tall is your mom?

AHL: This tall. (put hand on top of my head)

BJL: Really tall.

CBL:  Tall.

8. What is her favorite thing to do?

AHL: Play with me.

BJL: Play with me.

CBL: Play with us.

9. What does your mom do when you’re not around?

AHL: Do laundry.

BJL: Work.

CBL: I don’t know. Laundry and stuff.

10. If your mom becomes famous, what will it be for?

AHL: I don’t know. Playing games. (“Pretty Pretty Princess,” anyone?)

BJL: Kissing. (Wow. Not sure how this would play out.)

CBL: Cooking.

11. What is your mom really good at?

AHL: Doing laundry.

BJL:  Kissing.

CBL: Cooking.

12. What is your mom not very good at?

AHL: Being sad. Because I don’t want you to be good at sadness. (Aw!)

BJL: I don’t know.

CBL: She’s good at everything.

13. What does your mom do for a job?

AHL:  Play with me.

BJL: Work.

CBL: She doesn’t have a job. (pause) She takes care of us.

14. What is your mom’s favorite food?

AHL: Chinese food (I like it, but favorite?)

BJL:  Tomatoes (I like them, but favorite?)

CBL: Paula Deen food (Hmmm. Maybe.)

15. What makes you proud of your mom?

AHL: When you’re with me.

BJL: Kissing me.

CBL: When she plays with us.

16. If your mom were a cartoon character, who would she be?

BJL: Baby Looney Tunes Granny  (Anyone have any skincare tips for me?)

AHL: Cinderella

CBL: Lola (Baby Looney Tunes)

17. What do you and your mom do together?

AHL: Play family.

BJL: Play cars.

CBL: Play with each other.

18. How are you and your mom the same?

AHL: We’re in “the family.”

BJL: We kiss a lot.

CBL: We both like to play and cook cookies.

19. How are you and your mom different?

AHL: God made us different. He’s our Lord. (And that’s not her Sunday School answer. She really talks like that!)

BJL: She’s taller than me.

CBL: She’s a girl.

20. How do you know your mom loves you?

AHL: Because you’re my mom.

BJL: She kisses me. (Do you think this child’s love language is “touch”?

CBL: She says it.

21. What does your mom like most about your dad?

AHL: That he’s with her.

BJL:  Him playing with me.

CBL: How do I know? I think she likes him because he’s just him.

22. Where is your mom’s favorite place to go?

AHL: Chinese restaurant (??)

BJL: Burlington Mall (??)

CBL: Burlington Mall (??)

That was fun!

Cooking came up a time or two. I wonder if CBL would change any of his answers if he knew what his scatterbrained mom did a couple of nights ago. Remember when I told you I had precooked chicken this weekend? Well, a couple of days ago, I took some precooked chicken out of the freezer to make Meredith’s Chicken Spaghetti. It was a multitasking kind of day (which ones aren’t?). We finally sat down to dinner. It was delicious, but I had a little tickle in the back of my brain that said something wasn’t quite right. After supper, I was cleaning the kitchen and when I opened the microwave door to wipe out the microwave, I found this:

img_00641

 

Yep, that’s the chicken that goes in the Chicken Spaghetti. So I made Vegetarian Chicken Spaghetti. And no one even noticed. This recipe is just that good! At least I don’t put my dishwashing liquid in the refrigerator or carry my house phone in my purse like some people I know! 😉


8 Comments

Filed under Kids

8 responses to “I ‘Kid’ You Not, That’s What They Said

  1. carpoolqueen

    BWAAAHAAAHAAAA on the leaving out the chicken in the chicken and spaghetti.

    And keep an eye on Ben.

  2. Amy

    One of mine is a huggy, kissy, touch love language kid. Nice answers! The chicken in the microwave is totally something I would do, too!

  3. Hi!! Thanks for visiting me! I love these answers. Makes me wish I’d surveyed my kids when they were younger. I’m sure their answers would have been much sweeter! lol

    AHL is cracking me up! Especially love those answers to #12 and #19!

    I’ll be adding you to my Google Reader!

  4. Yeah, you’re SO much better than me Amy because you *never* do stupid stuff. HAHAHAHA…I was reading along and started laughing out loud when you outed me as forgetful. I am. I own it.

    Your kids are so sweet. I loved their answers. And yes, it sounds like your middle child’s love language is most definitely touch!

  5. I’m with Jenster… adding you to my reader AND wondering what my kids would have answered when they were small.

    that kissing thing… so so so cute!

  6. This was SO much fun to do! I have enjoyed reading these. Art Linkletter was right when he said, “Kids say the darndest things.” Thank you for visiting my blog. I interviewed my kids separately to b/c I knew their answers would influence one another. Don’t you just love life being a mom of 3? Some days its tough, but I wouldn’t trade it for ANYTHING in the world.

  7. Oh, how I love an affectionate child!! 😉

    I have one who is a lovey dove and the other whose love language is food…well, snacks.

    This is such a fun post!

    I look forward to reading more over here and getting to know you!

  8. Ah…the kissing. I’ve had to give it up on David. He’ll be 13 in July. I mean, there’s the rogue peck on the cheek–heavens NEVER on the mouth since I might have lipgloss on. eew. And a quick kiss goodnight, but that’s about it. Can’t pat him on the butt anymore…sigh. Maybe I should just fly out and kiss your kids. Or not. That could traumatize them. And they’re probably traumatized enough with the missing chicken from chicken spaghetti incident.

Leave a Reply

