The day God healed the minivan…

God healed my minivan today. I kid you not.

Last week, or last month, or last year, it’s hard to say because time isn’t behaving properly of late and I can’t exactly remember when things happened, but some time since we’ve been home, the left-side passenger door of the minivan quit working. It’s one of those motorized doors that you aren’t supposed to force open because that can damage the motor. I pulled the owner’s manual out of the glove compartment, found the fuses that controlled the door, and hoped with all my hope that one of the fuses was blown so I could replace it and get on with my life. No such luck.

So, I figured, this is just one more thing on my list. Just one more little irritating snippet of life to heap on my pile. To be perfectly honest, I inwardly pitched a fit. Do you know how to do that? It involves a lot of teeth gritting and fist clinching. I threw myself a little pity party and fussed at God. My inner monologue went something like, “Seriously, God? Seriously? Don’t we get a bye on the day-to-day stuff? You are aware that my dad had a tumor, right? Is there no one else you can give car worries to for awhile? While you’re at it, I’d like a pass on kids whining, spouse miscommunications, and laundry, please. My plate is full.”

And then I realized I seem to do better with the big stuff than the little stuff. I’m leaning not on my own understanding when it comes to the plan God has for my dad and my family. But I can lose my religion in a heartbeat over not being able to find a pair of school uniform pants in Firstborn’s size. Do I somehow think that the “trust” and “rest” verses only apply to life-altering events?

So I acknowledged and moved on. I put the van on my list of Things to Take Care of When I Got a Chance and just daily reminded the kids not to try to open the door on that side of the van. It was inconvenient to reach over to the other side of the van to buckle kids in, but we’ve survived and no one’s died as a result of not being able to open that door.

So today, for some reason I can’t explain, I decided to try to open the sick door. And it opened. And closed. And opened and closed and opened and closed….God healed my van door!! You may know some mechanical explanation for why the door works now when it hasn’t before. I’m not interested. Even if you’re right, I think God had something everything (first time I’ve had a chance to use the delete feature! Fun!) with it. And I believe with all my heart that God wanted to use that door to show me that even the little stuff matters to him.

So what if my door doesn’t work tomorrow? Does that mean my door was never healed? Does it mean God’s not God? Nope. I’ll still be thankful that it worked today. And I’ll be grateful for a God who looks for ways to be on my side and who cares about the things that matter to me.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “The day God healed the minivan…

  1. Oh, Amy. What a great story, and proof that God sees you and cares about the smallest of details.

  2. You are right…even if there is a “mechanical” explanation, it doesn’t matter. God used something small to teach something big…and you listened! 🙂

  3. carpoolqueen

    Can I tell you how much I love that you spent time on Snoodlings today?

Leave a Reply

