Not quite the Christmas I had imagined….

Who was it that said that life is what happens when you’re making other plans?  A few weeks ago we had plans to come home  and to go see the Christmas lights in Marshall, to make gingerbread cookies and houses, to drink hot chocolate by the fire and watch Elf, to hang out in our pajamas all day, and just enjoy being together.  Instead, my dad’s spending Christmas Eve in a hospital recovering from brain surgery and we’re waiting and praying for a final pathology report to see where this road will lead us next.

My heart and head are full but mostly I’m just tired. It’s not the kind of tired that a good night’s sleep will fix. It’s just a tired that seems to go all the way down past the very marrow of my bones to my very soul. I guess that’s what happens when life as you knew it gets turned upside down over a weekend. It’s a good thing that when we don’t know what to pray, the Holy Spirit intercedes for us in a way that words can’t express, because quite frankly, I’ve got nothing right now. I am holding fast to what I know for sure: God is good all the time and He’s so much bigger than our circumstances. I am holding on to that and I am bolstered by the sweet emails, calls, and comments on dad’s CaringBridge site.

I may need this outlet to process my thoughts in the days to come. Right now, what I need most is your prayers for my dad.

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Not quite the Christmas I had imagined….

  1. carpoolqueen

    I know that dazed, unbelievable “what just happened” feeling, and my heart is with you. Just “be” in front of Jesus. That’s all you can do. He IS. He is GOOD. He is not surprised. And He has you in the palm of His hand.

  2. I can relate, Amy. On SO many levels. I’m praying for you and your family.

  3. Oh girl! I know the feeling all too well. We are praying for you and KNOW that He will hold you in the times that hurt! There is no magic formula for the heartache. There is just Jesus and He is enough!

  4. "me"

    I am so thankful for you and the beautiful gift God has given me through you- I think it; you write it. I am so thankful God is in control of the calendar. Lets give Him some things He can write on His to make Him smile. I love you more- “me”

  5. I’m praying that the God of all comfort would strengthen you and sustain you through it all. For healing for your dad. For the peace that passes all understanding…

Leave a Reply

