This Snoodle’s Gift….

Part 3 of the longest story ever told on a blog:

Not long after the mom watched “A Snoodle’s Tale” she was checking her email and received a cryptic message from her photographer friend  that led the mom to the photographer’s blog.  (Actually the email just had the word blog written 49 times with the instructions “Sing to the tune of Jingle Bells” written at the top. The mom used her intuitive mom skills to figure out she was supposed to check the blog.) Just a couple of weeks before, the photographer had photographed the little people and the mom thought maybe she had posted some of the proofs from that session on her website’s blog. The mom wasn’t the least bit surprised. After all, her children were the fairest in all the land.  So the mom typed in her friend’s web address and this is what she saw:

1344020470_l

She is their blanket to warm them on a cold winter night. She is the food that satisfies their hungry spirit. She is their shelter from the storm, their nursemaid to heal all hurts. She is the wind that lifts them up when they have fallen. She is encouragement that guides them forward. She is the love that brought them here. She is the heart DAILY PRAYING them through.  She is their mother… and lucky me… she is also my friend.        

The mom heard The Stranger’s voice whisper to her spirit, “This is how I see you.”

The mom was so full of emotion she could barely breathe.  She didn’t understand how this picture could have come from that photo session. The little people had been wild that day. When they were supposed to stand, they would lie down. When they were supposed to sit, they’d run around. In the middle of the chaos, the photographer friend told the mom she wanted to take a picture of her with the little people. The mom enjoyed having her picture taken about as much as she enjoyed having her license renewed at the DMV, or ironing, or having the flu, or smelling a dead skunk on the side of the road. She would really have rather taken a math test. She had protested that she didn’t match the kids and she’d barely had time to put on any makeup that morning and she hadn’t even touched her hair. But the photographer friend can be a little bossy when she’s on the job ;), and the mom was a little afraid of her. So she plunked herself down and the little people piled on top of her as if she were their own personal jungle gym. They wallowed and wiggled and climbed and fidgeted. The mom tried to smile, but found it difficult while saying, “Stop that” through clenched teeth. Finally she just quit fighting and decided to just let her photographer friend click away. She was probably only seated with the little people for a minute at the most and she was sure nothing good would come of it. She relished the opportunity she would have to say, “I told you so,” to the bossy photographer friend.

But then what was this? She looked at the three precious children in the picture. Each one of them looked happy, content, peaceful, safe, loved. God hadn’t been wrong to let her be their mom. They were going to be okay. She looked at herself. She looked happy, content, peaceful, safe, loved. And she was going to be okay. For the first time she looked at a picture of herself and saw beyond her physical imperfections. Instead of trying to measure up to an unrealistic expectation of beauty, she saw the beauty that comes from a heart that loves. And she realized that as stressful as her job was, she would rather be a mom than anything else in the world. For the first time in a long time, she was okay with who she was because she knew that her God was okay with who she was. Not because she was perfect, not by any stretch of the imagination, but because when He looked at her, He saw the girl he had created AND the girl He was making her to be.  Later that year, for her birthday, the photographer friend gave the mom a pendant with the picture on it. The mom wears it almost every single day to remind herself of who she is and who she’s becoming. I wish I could tell you that she never carried any other pictures in her backpack except the true one, but she has to remind herself daily that what others think of her is none of her business.  Her king is enthralled with her beauty (Psalm 45:11), and isn’t that enough?
8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “This Snoodle’s Gift….

  1. carpoolqueen

    I hope that through this experience you got a glimpse of what I’ve known to be true about you since we first became friends. Maybe it won’t take another 20 years for you to believe me.

  2. Rebecca

    What a lovely person you are. Thank you for being so open and honest.

  3. Sami

    I’m crying, Amy. Crying. Wow. Beautiful.

  4. Alex

    Oh to be so honest about our insecurities and in return to be blessed with such loving friends.

  5. Cam

    this is a really wonderful set of stories about your discovery. if you’re up for it we’d love to have you come to our site: ahamoment.com. it was created by mutual of omaha for people to come and tell their stories of moments of insight or inspiration. your story sounds like one that others would find helpful to them.

    hope to see you there.

    thanks,

    Cam
    cam@ahamoment.com

  6. Sandy M.

    I just read “your story” & was SO blessed by it! CPQ is my friend, so I came to your blog through hers, & I’m so glad I found you. I absolutely love the picture of you with your precious little ones! I pray that your move goes smoothly.

  7. I don’t have many words to say, Amy. Other than this is THE BEST (series of)posts that I’ve read in a long time….and I read alot of blogs.:)

    I was choked up the entire time, not only because of your discovery for you, but because I have been there and actually still feel like I am there…and I haven’t caught a glimpse of the truth picture. I KNOW that the truth is right in front of me, written in His Word to me, but I daily forget it. Thank you for this. For your honesty, your sweet and beautiful spirit (that I can see, and I don’t even really know you!), and your encouragement to me.

    …and I’m so glad I finally know the reason behind your title. I will not read it the same, now.

  8. Brandy

    What a beautiful photo and a beautiful set of posts. I was so blessed this afternoon reding them.

    Thanks.

Leave a Reply

