To blog, or not to blog….

That has been my question for awhile now. It seems like EVERYONE has a blog these days, and I have to admit, I enjoy reading a good blog. This summer I spent several hours of my life reading the whole life story of a complete stranger whose blog came up in a Google search for a childhood friend.  Does that make me some sort of a voyeur or just a girl who really enjoys hearing people’s stories?

What do blogs say about us as a culture? Does the world really need to know what we think about everything? Why do we feel it’s necessary to put ourselves “out there” for the whole world to see?  Are all bloggers frustrated writers looking for a creative outlet?  Are blogs helping us to be more honest about who we really are or do they giving us a false sense of camraderie and friendship with people we don’t really know? Self-serving or serving? Self-centered or higher-purposed? Food for thought or junk food for the brain?

So should I “let my words be few” or have I found a new way to “encourage and build up”?

I honestly don’t know. What do you think?

5 Comments

Filed under Blogging

5 responses to “To blog, or not to blog….

  1. Carpoolqueen

    Well, since you know me, there’s no false sense of camaraderie. I, for one, think that the creative outlet is worth the price of admission….

  2. I just read your note about Decking the Halls, and went to your page to tell you…you NEED a blog. Lo and behold, you already have one!

    Can I just say YAY!???

    I have some thoughts on blogging and honesty and all that…but they’re way too many to leave in the comments section. More on that later…I promise.

  3. Don’t know if I know you or not… but hey, thanks for the linkage!!! 😉

  4. Chris

    i’m glad you are blogging. i like to hear your take on things. been listening for a long time now and i have to say, i’ve heard some good stuff.

    i know what you mean about putting your stuff out there. i have gone back and forth on the blog issue. i wouldn’t say i’ve lost sleep on the subject but sometimes i feel it’s self serving and narcisstic whereas other times i feel that it’s a form of expression and therefore it should be used as an outlet. i think that it is in the purpose of the blogger.
    as one who loves to hear the sound or read the lines of his own words and as one who likes to express his thoughts openly, hey- i give you the thumbs up!

  5. Pingback: And yet… « Snoodlings

Leave a Reply

